We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The resort is located in an ideal spot for walking around Carlsbad. You have the beach right out your door, and multiple restaurants all within walking distance.
The staff was excellent and very attentive to all my questions and requests.
It's obvious that the owners takes pride in their property; everything looks new and the rooms are excellent.
I stayed in a 1 bedroom/1 bath time share with a view - just perfect.
I highly suggest this resort and wish you all a wonderful stay!
Thanks,
Ryk

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Our staff is delighted that you had such an
enjoyable vacation. We look forward to seeing you in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
54
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We are staying here (still here) for a week with RCI exchange. The one thing I like the most about this place is the simple check in process and nobody bugs us about the timeshare sales. It took us about 5 minutes to check in and the staff were very friendly. We have a one-bedroom unit with a partial ocean view. There's a nice size balcony with a nice table and comfortable chairs. The unit is very spacious and you can have a party in the bathroom. The kitchen has everything we need. Though it would be nicer if there were a few more containers. The unit also comes with washer and dryer, with laundry soap.

Another thing I like about this place is that all activities provided are free and clean towls and linens are exchanged any time when we leave the laundry hamper with dirty towls and linens outside the door in the morning. Trash is picked up outside of the door in the morning. There's no need to call anybody for anything. We left a note in the hamper asking for more dishwasher soap and it came with the clean linens and towls the same morning.

There are two jacuzzis (one for adult only) and a heated pool, which is very nice. The only thing that I have to complain about this place is that the echo is very loud because the units are built around the pool and all the noises go up to the 3rd floor. Luckily we have not had any problems after 9 pm.

The resort is right across the street from the ocean and we took many wonderful walks during our stay. The sunset is breathtaking from the viewing deck on the third floor. While there are many restaurants here, there's a Amenian's Cafe only about 100 feet from the resort and the food is excellent. They also serve Mimosa, which is delicious.

It is too bad that our vacation has to end tomorrow and we will hit back home. However, we definitely will come back again whenever we have a chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are so pleased that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Because getting in here on an exchange can be difficult sometimes, I wanted to inform you that we also offer wonderful accommodations in our hotel portion of our resort which is located on the first floor. We would love to see you again and look forward to assisting you with any of your future reservation needs. Until then, the sandy beaches and ocean air will await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are looking for the view and a convenient location, this is it!
We had ocean front accommodations with 2 bedrooms/laundry/full kitchen. The view from the balcony is phenomenal and you are just a short walk away from all sorts of restaurants.
The front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. Any requests for extra paper towels, detergent, or servicing of the unit were fulfilled immediately.
The resort felt somewhat run down. We usually wouldn't care a whole lot that it was old, as long as it felt clean. But that wasn't really the case, but this too might be attributed to the resort being old. The dishes were filthy and that was due to the dishwasher not functioning properly. The dishes came out partially dirty. But naturally the cleaning staff should have noticed that when they were putting the dishes away.
At some point the mattress cover slid off and revealed stains. That was a bit unsettling. BUT... the mattress was super comfortable and we had very restful sleep.
We had toilet flushing issues on several occasions, one requiring service, which was lightning fast and friendly.
The fan above the stove was not functioning properly. At one point I was pan-frying fish and several minutes into it noticed that the room was filling with smoke. Turns out the fan was sucking the smoke in from the pan and pushing it right back out toward the ceiling.
There were a few issues with the showers as well. The knob regulating water temperature was spinning right through. This got fixed immediately. The temperature, however, never got above a comfortable warm, and believe me, I'm no fan of burning hot water. But I was cold.
We then attempted the shower in the guest bath. It must have been designed for very short people (although I am 5 ft 2 in). My husband, obviously, had to lean to get his hair wet under the shower. There was, however, one day when the water temperature was wonderfully hot.
I feel terrible complaining, because the overall experience was pretty good and we did have a good stay. But it would have been a lot better without these several annoyances. I will keep watching the reviews in hopes that some improvements would be made because we would love to visit this resort again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the downstairs restaurant. It can get very loud in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Tamarack third floor #332. No worries about finding a place to park when going to the beach. Just walk across the street from your condo and your at the beach. Watch a beautiful sunset every nite from your own balcony or just sit there and watch the ocean. Location is great and the condo's are set up where you can cook every day and save money. They even have BBQ grills to use by the pool. The washer and dryer are small stacked but better than not having one at all. We will be back. Had a great time and the staff was wonderful. Wi-fi worked great so no negitive reviews here. Everyone should have a five star stay.

Room Tip: best are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The glorious sunsets and refreshing ocean air awaits your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Started with the check in. Two resevationist looking bored and treated us like we were bothering them. One was dishoveled with a wrinkled shirt. I'm surprised Management allows they behind the front desk. They only had one reservation for me and it was in a handicap room. They had to "find" my other reservation that was double partial ocean view room for my kids. The handicap room is 114 and is so small that it is uncomfortable. My husband and I kept walking into one another and no space to move around. No closet to hang my clothes and the bathroom has no counter space. It was annoying to live out of my suitcase all weekend. Since they didn't tell me I was in a handicap room when I made the reservation I asked them to change me to a different room but they said they were sold out. I later learned they had a room "on hold" for a guest that may come in. The second room was huge. Only the room smelled like dirty socks. The screen to the balcony didn't slide. We had to lift it if we wanted to go out on balcony. For the smell we just kept the doors open for fresh air but it didn't cure it all the way. I did call the General Manager to let them know that I should have been told about the handicap room when I made the reservation. She "Shelly" said there is nothing she can do for me and told me to call the Resort Manager on Monday since he was out for the weekend. How convenient huh. I'll see what they do for me but honestly, it isn't about the money. I would have liked to stay and a comfortable room, not a matchbox. Then I learned this is the only handicap room at the resort. They should turn a regular room into handicap! Don't make them stay in a subpar room, they deserve better. You can hear everything from your room as they walls are so thin. Even footsteps. Elevators are scary, take forever and the underground parking is a joke. You can't get in or out unless the front desk pushes a button. So, you are stuck unless they see you! On the other side the location is great. They offer a continental breakfast which is nice. Lobby has coffee in the morning, also a nice touch. When in that area again, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved staying at the Tamarack Beach Resort by the sea... We had a view of the ocean and it was wonderful walking on the beach . The Beach walk was great for walking or biking ..We loved being able to walk everywhere and loved trying out new restraunts...and the pool was nice also..
Very relaxing ! We are looking forward in our next stay there....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for posting such a great review! I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great time walking along the beautiful beaches in Carlsbad. We greatly look forward to seeing you again and assiting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this resort for three days in late September and had an ocean front room with a balcony looking directly out at the ocean. The view was awesome and made up for some of the less atractive features of this hotel. The room(s), although clean, are in serious need of updating. I also had trouble using their wi-fi in my room and the continental breakfast was average at best. However, the location was perfect for walking to the beach and village of Carlsbad. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area to enjoy. For an ocean front room the price was not unreasonable and I would stay there again in the future. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your response as we welcome and appreciate any and all feedback as we strive to improve upon any and all areas we can based on guest feedback and our own research into how we can improve the guests experience at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.