We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside good for extended stay in Carlsbad CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Brigantine, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beachside good for extended stay in Carlsbad CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Tamarack Beach Resort is across the street from the ocean in Carlsbad CA. Available as a hotel or timeshare option with the suite layout and kitchen it is great for an extended stay where you can spread out as a group and save on some meals in and have the ocean views you love on vacation.

The units are very well maintained and the town of Carlsbad has several excellent dining choices nearby. We stayed a week and it was a great starting point for short trips into San Diego, LaJolla, and more.

I see others have commented on 'noise.' We did not experience any issues with that but of course each vacationing group has the potential to be respectful of other guests or not. Since we didn't have an issue I cannot comment on how quickly or not the onsite management would have responded to a call.

Even if you are not interested in the kitchens the open layout, cleanliness, and location also make this a good choice for a shorter stay. I would recommend this to any of my friends looking for something like this close to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments and we hope to see you and your family next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
54
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place is absolutely brilliant if you have children. The beach is literally across the street. We had trouble with the free wireless internet during our first two days, but it cleared up completely for the second two days. The place has a moderately sized pool which they cover during the night and clean each morning. The free breakfast did not contain any protein, so I had to go off premise for breakfast quite frequently ... it's all carbs. The game room is fantastic for kids because they have fooseball (sp.?), billiards, and ping pong. They have a second billiards table that they do not let children use. Near the pool, there is are two hot tubs. One allows kids (cooler) and one does not (hotter). The place is set up for you to borrow films to watch in your room ... and the kids will love this nuance. The parking is passcode-protected and underground. The walk to terrific little restaurants is MINIMAL, meaning that the location is fantastic. You never have to drive anywhere. We did drive to the laundry and the market. The place is great and carlsbad village itself is excellent. I'm so happy I selected this place for my children. They never even mentioned legoland. Think about THAT.

Room Tip: the place is a timeshare along with a hotel ... try to avoid the courtyard room in favor of partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the very nice compliments and we hope to see you and your family again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our big family have been staying in this resort for our family gathering togehter for years. It is a good location although I have to say it is loud at night.

Yes, we are on vacation. But we need to use internet for work or for other things sometimes. The internet is so slow that it drives us crazy sometimes and wastes of us lots of time trying to get things done. The same problem has been there for years. It surprises me that the hotel have not been doing anything to improve it. Not sure if we will come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments and we do get some noise more so at this time of the year compared to other times. Unfortunately the internet is slow and it is ironic that you are here now when we are currently dealing with an internet problem which surfaced as of last week. Prior to this we had no issues to speak of in the past year related to the internet. We are working on a solution with a new provider which will not only have us up and running as we have been, but will provide us even greater speed. Unfortunately, this will likely not be complete for about another week.
Thank you again and we do hope to see you and your Family again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great rooms; beautiful ocean and sunset views; cool sea breezes; beach across street; sidewalk along coast favorite for strolling, running, bicycling; pool, hot tubs, gym and rec room clean and well staffed; front desk people friendly and helpful; twenty consecutive years award winning resort; walk to beach, restaurants, shops, Starbucks.
Our family and friends have enjoyed Tamarack and Carlsbad for 25 years, summer and winter.
We look forward to many more.

Room Tip: Every room facing the ocean is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed on the first floor facing the ocean (awesome view!). I was a little concerned about the noise after reading the other reviews but it was not that bad; in fact we barely noticed it when the sliding glass door was closed and we were not bothered by it when sitting on the balcony. The accomodations and staff were excellent. The room was spacious and having the mini fridge was a bonus. The beds were very comfortable and the third flood viewing deck made a great place to watch the sunset. The courtyard area was beautiful and very well done. The only challenge was the air conditioner; it was a little noisy (maybe that's way we didn't notice the traffic sounds) and blew directly on the beds. I just wish I had a reason to return regularly. I would definitely recommend the Tamarack Resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have been staying at this resort for over 5 years and its great for kids the activities were so fun and they even had wine and cheese for the adults. It's great for spring break. We always stay in the same room which is a courtyard room nice and quite and great access to the pool and recreational room. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. It's nice too because you can walk right across the street and there is the ocean and restaurants. You really don't even have to get into your car until its over. I will never stop going to Tamarack.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in room 117 its a corner and it's quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for the Nice Compliments please let us know if we can be of service to you and your Family in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My family and I stayed on the first floor (hotel portion). The room was a good size and very clean with a mini refrigerator. The staff was nothing but pleasant and always helpful. My kids loved the recreation room and pool area (I think they preferred that to the actual ocean). Everyday offers a different activity like a puzzle contest or coloring contest. On Wednesday night, we all played in a Bingo tournament which was so much fun. We walked away with some great prizes. The hotel has excellent beach access. There is a light and crosswalk right there that we took our wagon across. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for the Nice Compliments, please let us know if we can be of service to you and your Family in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.