We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family beach resort in Southern CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good family beach resort in Southern CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Been there twice, a good beach resort in southern CA, though you have to cross a busy street to get to the beach. Still a good resort if you would like to wake up to the noise of the waves. Some of their rooms have a nice Ocean view and it is treat to watch the sun go down from the bed. Their room sizes are ok, not very big. You still hear traffic noise if youare in the lower level. They do have a small pool; stay away if you want to swim, just ok to soak yourself after a hot summer day. Free breakfast in the morning is good, a decent choice of warm food, bread, cereal’s, fruits and Juices. They get pricey during peak seasons and are ok during off seasons.

Room Tip: Chose ocean view rooms from second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We went there for a women's retreat and also stayed an extra day. We really enjoyed the location (right across from the beachfront) and our balcony revealed a georgous sunset. The staff were so curteous and the facility offers alot of amenities such as barbeque grills by the pool, game room. They have current movies that you can check out for free and play on your DVD player in your room for free. The continental breakfast was okay, but would be nice if they would include some waffles :) We asked for a roll a way bed and was given one free of charge, I thought that was awesome!!!! what we liked least were the beds. They were not as soft as I had hoped.

Room Tip: Room #119 facing Pine Avenue has an excellent ocean view, but was a little noisy being on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments and look forward to having you stay here with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LV
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Looked into several hotels in Carlsbad area for a women's retreat with close proximity to the beach. Price was a factor and though we got a good room rate, we truly got more than our money's worth. Literally right across the street from the Pacific Ocean and two blocks from downtown, the Tamarack Resort offered spacious rooms, gorgeous property, helpful staff, a nice continental breakfast and a recreation room with two pool tables, ping pong, DVDs to check out and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating poolside. Even four gas BBQ grills if you want to do your own grilling! The meeting room on the third floor was well maintained with a stunning view of the ocean from its wall of windows. This will be my hotel of choice when I return to Carlsbad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange County, Ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in one of the 2 bedroom condos the last 2 years. It has everything! Location, amenities, view and ocean sounds! Beware Friday nights if you stay over the bar and restaurant as it gets noisy. Great place and we are going back this year too!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for the Nice Comments and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort in Carlsbad. Our room had a view of the ocean (across the street from the hotel) and we enjoyed watching the sunset from our balcony. The hotel had very helpful front desk staff. It also offered a free continental breakfast, a game room, plus free DVDs to borrow. I took a swim in the heated pool and soaked sore muscles in the heated Jacuzzi. We walked to the nearby downtown area for dinner and exploring.
We were there for a friend’s anniversary party, but it would be fun to come back in the summer and play in the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for the nice comments and we also hope to see you this Summer. If you need any assistance please let us know. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We spent three nights at the Tamarack. Having read the negative reviews AFTER making my reservation I was nervous. But it was fine. Was it worth $150 maybe no. The location is great being right next to the Village. The sunset view is perfect right across the beach. The room, #107, is large with a great ocean view. OK now the negatives. For the price I expected the room to have been recently been remodeled, it wasn't. maybe 10+ years ago. It is mainly a Timeshare property with some hotel rooms. In the summer and breaks it is probably very noisy and crowed. The continental breakfast is pretty simple, even in winter the street noise was high when sitting on the balcony. To summarize the room, breakfast, street noise was more like a Super 8 but the view and location was 5 star. If you can't get an ocean view room then forget it.

Room Tip: MUST be street side even though noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
I wanted to say thank you for some of the nice compliments that you did give us. We also wanted to clarify that the Hotel Rooms where Remolded in 2006. We hope that you do come back for another visit and Have a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Carlsbad is a pleasant beach community just about half and hour north of San Diego. The Tamarack is a pleasant facility on the beach, close to restaurants and shops. We were attending a surprise anniversary party for friends who live nearby, and many of the guests stayed here. Staff is pleasant, accomodating, and the premises are well-kept. We had a poolside room (101) which was quiet and large for two people. The continental breakfast is above average, and there is secure underground parking on the premises. Nice pool, hot tub and the beach is just across the street.

Room Tip: For two people, unless you want an ocean view, we found the poolside room to be a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Director of Sales at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for the Nice Comments and Have a Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.