We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice location"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carlsbad by the Sea Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
New York City, New York
1 review
“"Nice location"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our stay was very relaxing with the outlet right across the street. The housekeeping did a good job. The breakfast was good, but I would suggest hot chocolate for the children. The wifi was poor in my room. The free shuttle service to Legoland was very convenient and quick. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    159
    87
    25
    23
See reviews for
220
49
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is perfect for legoland, shopping, dining etc.... The staff was helpful, free ride to legoland, free breakfast etc.... People who have anything bad to say about their stay may just be looking for something to complain about. Sure it isn't fancy, but for the price what are you expecting. We had a wonderful 2 night stay. we would stay again

Room Tip: Floor pool view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the outside, this hotel is not appealing at all. You see a door with two very small windows (bathroom windows) and it does not look good. Inside, the rooms are pretty nice and clean. There is a microwave, fridge, and coffeepot. All the units have a balcony, so that really helps once you walk inside the unit. There is free continental breakfast, free WiFi, etc.. Located across the street from outlet shops with plenty of restaurants close by, but it is a 10 minute drive to the ocean. Beds were comfortable, pretty quiet for sleeping (appears to be well built), and the shower had great pressure. It is a bit pricey (average $200/night in the summer). The front desk was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for Legoland and is also right near outlet stores. Quiet rooms. Outside of the hotel looks older but the rooms are nice inside. Would stay there again. They also provide a free shuttle to Legoland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great staff, room was a little dated but comfortable.
Breakfast wasn't great, but it was edible.
This hotel is not located in walking distance to anything but an outlet mall and some fast food joints which makes the service was very handy, drivers were most obliging.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier to access, especially if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family and I just stayed here for 3 nights. We would absolutely stay here again when we go back to LEGOLAND next summer. The rooms, were great, the food was decent. The shuttles to and from LEGOLAND were easy and great. No need to park when you have the shuttles. The rooms were just fine for us and very clean and neat. No problems, whatsoever. We asked for a later checkout and they did that at no charge. My kids loved the pool and we met some nice people. See you next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at this place because it was close to legoland, restaurants and the outlet stores. It's clean and they serve a complimentary breakfast. I would stay again because I enjoyed my stay. The pool is nice & relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND® California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a complimentary shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a complimentary full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo’s Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, there is a T.G.I. Friday’s on site with dine-in or in-room service options and more than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad by the Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;