We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad by the Sea Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, not great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, as stated by other reviewers. It is across the street from the outlet mall with several food options and there is a TGI Friday's basically attached. The breakfast they serve is limited and looks prepackaged. The day we went to look at it they only served something like a Spanish omelet, sausage, and cereal. The omelets were not freshly made, more like a frozen item heated up. The juice from the juice machine was hot. We went across the street to Ruby's or to McDonalds across the highway all three mornings.

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. They provided a roll away for my son, which was nice. However, the service from the front desk was anything but great. Knowing that we had a late arrival, I called the hotel 2 days ahead and told them that we would be arriving late, between 11 and midnight, and could they have a roll away already in our requested king room (RA's not allowed in room with 2 doubles). When we arrived at 11:30, we were told that they gave our room away and that we had two doubles. No apologies, but we could talk to the manager in the morning and switch and to have our bags packed so they could be moved while we were at LEGOLAND. The next morning we were told that we could move, but to bring our bags down ourselves. We were already outside to catch the shuttle. That night, we had to pick our bags up ourselves as they wouldn't even move them for us. Our second morning we received a 6:00 AM wake-up call that we did not request, and when my husband went to the front to make sure it didn't happen again, the front desk said something to the effect of "Oh no. I wonder who didn't get a wakeup call?" Again, no apology.

Overall, it is a decent, clean hotel, but I think it is way overpriced. This is definitely not a resort as stated in the name. Take your chance with the front desk service. The young guy driving the shuttle to LEGOLAND was super friendly and helpful. We will return to LEGOLAND, but probably will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    172
    90
    26
    24
See reviews for
232
51
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crescenta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location is awesome. Outlet mall in directly across the street and food places close by. Shuttle service to Lego Land Awesome. Breakfast in the morning ...ehhh Pool area is great but it is not heated as advertised. No wi-fi as advertised. Customer services was good. A little overpriced for a hotel that looks nothing like its advertised pictures.

Room Tip: This hotel has no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights and loved it! The breakfast is generous and delicious, and the location near the outlets, Legoland and the beach is perfect for a family. We especially felt that the pool and jacuzzi were exceptional. We appreciated that the pools are salt water and not all chlorine, which meant fewer sore eyes and dried-out skin post-swimming. We can't wait to stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location is great - near large shopping outlet, numerous restaurants, Legoland, and Field of Flowers.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Let me check in a little early because I had been traveling all day and was very tired. My room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a wonderful shower and was very clean.
The breakfast was fair-good. The omlets (cheese and denver) were not very hot and were rubbery
with little taste. Coffee was very good. Good fruit selection. Lots of yogart but with very limited flavor selections.
Fruits and bagels/toast were good. I would definetly stay there again. Only suggestions would be for
soap in the tub. Definetly got a great place for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: I had an upstairs room that overlooked the pool. It had a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor! We got our reservation through Travelocity. We had a big group staying at the hotel for a wedding near by. Called the hotel direct to ask for a room away from the highway & on the second floor (I'm a light sleeper).We ended up in building B. Directly across from the outlet mall. Loved that it was close to Legoland, the beach, shopping & food. Room was clean. Good size refrigerator. Bathroom was a decent size w/ a good size sink outside (which we like). Beds were comfortable. Had a little balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Overlooked a grassy area with a gazebo. Pool area was good. Liked that they give you pool towels. Breakfast was actually good! Had a bunch of options... like eggs, sausage, cereal & milk, toast/bagels, coffee, juices & fruit. Its one of the best breakfast spreads Ive seen for FREE! Asked for a later check out time of noon since we were using the pool. Only complaint we had was that you can feel the building shake when peoples hotel room doors slam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a motel, not a "resort". Our room had a funny old smell but it was clean.
It was near the outlet mall and a quick drive to Lego Land which made it really convenient. The "shuttle" to the park was a 6 max passenger car ride - yikes!
The breakfast was ok but really not very good.
Unless the price is dropped, I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We got this hotel on Priceline for a one night stay. We were very pleasantly surprised. The location was excellent and the breakfast was very nice. Room was spacious. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND® California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a complimentary shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a complimentary full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo’s Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, there is a T.G.I. Friday’s on site with dine-in or in-room service options and more than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad by the Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.