We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, that we extended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good, that we extended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in July 2014. Our original plan was for only 4 nights and moving
to San Diego for the rest of other 4 nights but due to its high accessability to I-5 ramp
and the super hospitality including the owner and family, we finally stayed there for
8 nights. So reasonable rate for our big room, the kept clean swimming pool and the room
, high class bed , everything was so satisfied.
It is highly recommended hotel for San Diego area staying.

Room Tip: Tell your requests and talk with them well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review . We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and our property. We are committed to provide best customer service that our guests expect .Thank you again ,and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    75
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
158
31
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Will definitely stay here again!! Ended up taking an unplanned visit to Legoland so I was trying to find a safe hotel at a great price. Was having trouble on Priceline so I decided to drive around and just find a room. It was already 10pm and after driving in from AZ, spending time at Legoland, just wanted something close, clean, safe and affordable! Although it cost a little more than I wanted to pay it was SOOO worth it!!!
Got a room with 2 queen beds. WE walked in and the first thing my 6 year old grandson said was "Look how much room I got to play!" And he wasn't joking! There was plenty of space in between the 2 beds and PLENTY of room at the foot of the beds. Before we knew it he had his backpack emptied and was playing away.
The carpeting was CLEAN!! He was able to play and not get all nasty dirty from the carpet. The room smelled nice, the AC worked very well. The bathroom and tub were sparkling!! No mold no stains. There was a refrigerator and microwave. The cable selection was great: even for the little one. The beds were VERY comfortable and once again CLEAN!! The sheets were clean and in great shape. No stains or holes.
The breakfast area is a little small but they quickly pick up and refill and rotate the food. Waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit. bread and pastries. Of course coffee,juice and milk. Also, another table outside to sit at would be nice. The weather is so beautiful and the grounds are so clean!
They do request no food be taken to room and I can see that this would help keep costs down and help with bug control. A little inconvenient if you have a late sleeper.
We had gotten in so late and that little one stayed up later playing and did not want to get up in am. Check out time is at 10am but I asked if we could checkout at 10:30 and it wasn't a problem. ( I think it was 10 it may have been 11 and if so then we checked out at 1130)
I can't say enough good about it! It's a smaller place but the grounds are surrounded by a fence.Somehow, I just felt safe there. It is near the freeway and in the am we did hear the traffic some.
Location is GREAT!! Easy freeway access; close to Legoland. Would be convenient to leave Legoland, go to room for a break and go back; close to shopping outlet and close to beach.
Pride of ownership is what I think best describes it!! I'm sure if I had had any problems they would have handled it right away!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review . We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and our property. We are committed to provide best customer service that our guests expect . Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a second time we stayed here. My family likes this place. Close to Legoland, Beach and Stores. The property is well kept. Our room is clean. The property is quiet. The hotel staff are very helpful. Breakfast is basic. I would stay here again if ever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and our property.WE are committed to provide best customer service that our guests expect. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Family trip to LEGOLAND. Clean rooms, great price, super close to LEGOLAND. We were happy. Area immediately surrounding hotel was a little scary, but once we pulled into parking lot it was nice Well kept grounds. Little breakfast area to start your day. Waffles, cereal, juice coffee. Not a ton, but enough to start your day and save some money. If the price is right, we'd stay again . Plenty of other families staying here so nice & quiet and my son had some pool time and met some friends. Also really close drive to the beach.

Room Tip: We were on first floor closer to the entrance, meaning closer to highway and we slept fine. Didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time for your recent review.We are glad that you like our property and our breakfast menu. We are happy that your son had pool time and met friends. We are looking forward to serving you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My son and I stayed here for three nights when visiting Legoland- and loved it! The staff/owners are so helpful and sent us to an amazing restaurant for dinner.

I stayed by myself with my son, and always felt safe even though it was right off of the road. The rooms were large, and when we complained of noise above us, they moved us right away. Pool was cute, but too cold to use.


Cons: breakfast room was too cold. Everything else was wonderful!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your valuable review. We greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to see you soon again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our room was in the back on the second floor, just above the pool. We were a bit worried that there would be too much noise from the pool, but since this hotel is not the type to appeal to the "wild single crowd," the noise was not bad at all. A few families with children took advantage of the pool, but they were not loud or obnoxious. My husband enjoyed the breakfast, but since I am on a strict diet due to allergies, I ate in our room. (It was much easier than smelling the delicious smells that I can no longer eat!) The breakfast fare is pretty standard for this price hotel: sweet rolls, fresh fruit, juices, cereals, boiled eggs, and those delicious make-the-yourself Belgian waffles. The room was clean, looked to have been remodeled recently with granite countertops and nice crown molding, which gave it a higher end appearance. It is within walking distance of the beach and the "Coaster" train, which we rode to San Diego to visit Old Town. The Coaster price is just $11 round trip, less for senior citizens! The staff is very cordial and helpful. I absolutely love the beautiful palm trees and other tropical plants in the landscaping. To me, I would much rather stay here and pay less money than staying at a high end hotel. I'd rather have my money to spend on excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Guests can decide when they want towels and bed linens changed rather than having them done daily. It is cool enough that most of the time we didn't even need the A/C!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for valuable feed back ! its wonderfl to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued patronage . We look forward to seeing you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We just spent 3 nights and everything worked out great -- no glitches, no problems, no complaints! The property is right next to the freeway, but we were a few rooms in on the top level and it wasn't too much of a distraction. The staff was very helpful and friendly - much appreciated. The breakfast was a nice convenience traveling with kids. Kids were quite happy with Fruit Loops and hot waffles & the tropical juice! The room was clean, nicely decorated. Von's and Rite Aid are close by, almost walking distance. The wifi worked well for us and was another appreciated convenience that was included in the rate.

Room Tip: We were happy having a top floor -- stairs were short climb and close to parking lot for easy unload...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
It gives us great joy to hear that we were able to give gret service to our valued guest. Thank you for commending our reliable staff, for the apprecition you gave for the breakfast served , It is our goal to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to offer comfortable place to stay in while giving with the best value for therir money, and see you soon for legoland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.