We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Motel 6 dressed prom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Motel 6 dressed prom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The initial architecture of this facility suggests nothing fabulous, but the owners have exceeded every reasonable expectation to make it as nice as possible. The rooms are richly appointed for a hotel of this level: designer carpet, comfortable bedding, tan-painted walls with framed artwork, and even crown moulding. I would have appreciated a pillow top mattress, but it was still supportive. I was also pleased by the wall-mounted flat screen TV and generously-sized, in-room fridge. Even the outdoor walkways have been appointed with tile, while the seemingly outdated block exterior has been renewed with some type of resurfacing or coating.

The service of the employees I encountered was friendly and welcoming. Plus, the general upkeep of the hotel is rather meticulous. This carries over to the breakfast room, which is relatively small but nicely organized. Also, I appreciated the expanded continental breakfast, which included diy waffles, a choice of four cereals, hard-boiled eggs, toast, and an assortment of cold and hot drinks from two beverage machines (the tropical juice was delicious). However, I do wish they offered peanut butter as a condiment. Nevertheless, this marked a noticeable improvement over the neighboring Rodeway Inn's continental breakfast offering of only pastries and instant drink packets, where I once stayed with my family.

The only misgiving of this Econo Lodge is its location along the freeway. Highway noise is audible within the room (although I slept well since I wear earplugs when with the kids anyhow). Also, there are few choices to dine within walking distance. However, without even having to use the freeway, we drove five minutes north, where we found an Olive Garden and Souplantation.

Overall, this hotel is an excellent choice if you are looking for an affordable stay near Legoland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
The very positive feedback you gave following your recent stay is heartwarming.Thank you foe commending us on great service we have given you & for appreciating our rooms & for particular enjoying the location in total.
It is our goal to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to offer a comfortable place to stay in while giving them the best value for their money. Thank you for being such great inspiration to drive us to succeed. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    82
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
167
32
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our trip to Legoland which was only a few minutes away. Good location, clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff & the free breakfast with the waffle maker wasn't bad either :) would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank You for staying at "Econo Lodge". We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to Legoland, comfortable rooms, friendly staff & the free breakfast with the waffle maker. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The owners of the one hundred dollar plus per night Comfort Inns in Orem and Green River Utah need to spend some time at this Econo Lodge . To see how they should run their businesses . Clean rooms . Friendly service . Absolutely no nasty surprises . Clean , clean , clean . Quiet . No disconcerting , nasty , Neanderthal looking carpet . No nasty stains (the source of which is , at the very least , highly questionable) on the furniture . No disturbing hairballs and missing tile in the bathroom . No malfunctioning air conditioner right out of 'The Exorcist' . All for around seventy dollars a night .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Your glowing review is greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in Orem & Green River Utah. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, that we may ensure their comfort at all times. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in the 2 bedroom suite that resides over the lobby. The room was immaculately clean with tiled floors instead of carpet which I liked. The main door opens to a room that holds a queen size bed, a square table and 2 chairs, dresser with a flat-screen TV. There is also a nice-sized closet and a tiny alcove which holds a mini-fridge and microwave. Another door leads to a much smaller bedroom area with a queen bed, little bathroom and walk-in closet. There is also a flat-screen TV in this room. Bed linen were in good shape and there is some slight wear/tear on the furniture but really not a big deal. Front desk was friendly and housekeeping was great. I walked in on the housekeeper one day and she was sweeping the floor which I didn't expect but a nice surprise. The only issue I can see some might have with this room is that the larger bedroom/suite door and windows faces the highway which can get very noisy. I live near a freeway so I had no trouble at all sleeping. The smaller bedroom window faces the parking lot and is much quieter. Overall a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Your thoughtful review is much appreciated & we are happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed the layout of the suite you stayed in on your recent 4 nights visit to Carlsbad. Yes, our front desk & housekeeping staff really are the best, I am lucky to be working with such great team members. We are pleased to hear that the freeway noise did not affect your good night sleep. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne Valley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read good reviews, but this motel was still a pleasant surprise. It has been remodeled recently. Everything was clean and attractive. The room was large and all the lighting was recessed with each light on its own switch with plenty of light to read. Free Wi-Fi. The bedding was good. Lady at check in was very nice. Breakfast just typical, but good enough to get a start on the day. The hotel is easy for find, it is next to the freeway, so I needed my ear plugs to sleep, but I do in most hotels. There is a nice restaurant within walking distance. The hotel is a very good deal for the money and I felt safe, so will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your friendly review. We are glad that you liked our large room with recessed lights with its own switch. We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location to nice resturants & freway access. Its great to know that the breakfast was good enough to start the day. We hope to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a night here before going to Legoland. The property is very clean and well maintained. The pool area is small though.
The room was very large (at least 6 ft between the end of the bed and the dresser), and recently renovated with granite countertops, flat panel TV, and nice duvets.
The complimentary breakfast was nice and included fruit, cereal, toast, do-it-yourself waffles, and juice. Not much room to eat breakfast though.
Very close to the freeway (on the same road as Days Inn and Rodeway Inn) so I could hear the cars as I was falling asleep.
Overall this motel does not disappoint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to share your experience with others. We are glad to hear that you liked our very clean and well mainted property, large rooms and that you were able to enjoy all our breakfast has to offer.
We are sorry to know that the pool was small to your liking and you could hear the traffic noise from the freeway while you were trying to sleep.
We are looking forward to welcome you again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This Econo Lodge was better than most Quality Inns we've stayed in. It was very well maintained and very clean. The family who operated it were very nice. Everything looked good and everything was operational - a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us & writing a review of your stay. We are happy to hear that you found our property clean, well maintained & everthing was operational. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & are hoping to see you again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.