We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently spent a night at this hotel and really enjoyed myself. I picked the hotel because of the low price, and got more than I expected.

The rooms are large, clean, and nicely furnished. There is a flat screen TV in the room and fast Wi-Fi. In addition, there is plenty of parking and a nice, clean pool.

Both employees that I encountered were very friendly and eager to help.

The weakest aspect of this hotel is definitely the breakfast. Of the hotels I stayed at on this trip, this had the least options by far. Also, the waffle maker seems to have an issue as all the waffles were well-done on the outside and still gooey on the inside. However, I did find some cereal to eat and filled up on that.

Having said that, I definitely would return to this hotel in the future. You can't expect a gourmet breakfast at this price and I am willing to overlook this because everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: If a little noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the pool. I had a room right next to it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, & taking the time to share your experince with others. We certainely took note of your comment regarding the breakfast. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    82
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
167
32
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here September 14,15 just 1 night after spending the day at Legoland. Very nice spacious and clean room. 2 queen beds table 2 chairs dresser and still plenty of floor space for a very active 5 year old to run around and run off excess energy. Check in staff very friendly and accomodating, needed a 1st floor room because can't do stairs and had one available for us.Tasty and adequate breakfast in the morning although the breakfast room was quite small.All in All an excellent value. Will definetly stay her again.

Room Tip: Others have said freeway noise, but we had air conditioning on and windows closed had no problem sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for this wonderful review! We are glad that you liked our large room & enjoyed the tasty & adequate brakefast in the morning. We are super excited that you were happy with our hospitality & are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here to visit Legoland and was very happy. Large rooms, comfortable beds and good water pressure in the bathrooms. The rooms were cleaned very well and beds made up perfectly
There is plenty of parking in the resurfaced car park!
The breakfast was good and the food fresh.
Wifi was fast!
There is a small amount of freeway noise, but as it is a constant sound, you adjust to it easily.
The management are very friendly and always smiling, what more can you ask for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank You for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed, large rooms, comfortable beds & good water pressure in the bathrooms. Our Room Service staff was overjoyed to hear your compliments regarding perfectly made-up beds & cleanliness of the room.
It's great to hear that the breakfast was good & fresh and WiFi was fast!
We are pleased to know that the freeway noise did not bother you.
Our friendly & smiling management is hoping to see you again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We needed a place to stay the night before visiting Legoland and this fit the bill. Chose a room at the rear of the property and didn't notice the freeway noise. Good food choices not too far away. The included breakfast was fine. WiFi was fast enough. Caught two ants in the bathroom, but that was the worst of it. Perfectly fine for what you pay. Close to the freeway and Legoland, clean, no problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at “Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Legoland”. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the free WiFi & breakfast & our convenient location to Legoland, beach, & many resturants & shops in the area. We sincerely apologize for the ants in the bathroom. We are pleased to hear that the freeway noise did not affect your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I just recently relocated back to the San Diego area and while looking for a permanent place had the pleasure of staying here. The management is AWESOME and the place was very comfortable, quiet, clean and well kept. I have read some reviews where there were concerns about the freeway noise, I had a room facing North about 6 rooms from the end and I had NO issues with noise of ANY kind and I am a light sleeper. There is lots of restaurants, shopping, legoland and the beach is very close, also Interstate 5. I HIGHLY recommend this, especially if you are a family coming to the area or a business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Your glowing review is greatly appreciated. It sounds like you enjoyed our convenient location. We are glad that there was no freeway noise in your room. We hope the relocation to our beautiful San Diego was smooth, all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just off the I5 so a short drive / longish walk to Carlsbad itself, but ideal if you're just looking for a place to stop in the area. We were using it to access LEGOLAND and it suited us perfectly. Free fast wifi, pretty good range of breakfast items included in the price, even a pool although we didn't use this. Quiet considering how close it is to the I5.
Good clean basic accommodation, good sized comfortable beds, good sized rooms, good bathroom facilities. For the price we were perfectly happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks you for this wonderful review! It's great to know that the location suited you perfectly. We are glad that you enjoyed free fast WiFi, breakfast & the pool. We are super excited that you were happy with our hospitality & are looking forward to seeing again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this property for a family wedding in Carlsbad. The location was very convenient to where we needed to be and very easy to reach off I-5. It's close enough to walk to the beach (not if you're lugging beach gear, but if you want to take a walk, you can do a nice mile-plus loop to the beach and back). Our room was super clean but towels were a bit dingy. The continental breakfast is below average: cereal, milk, waffle maker, hard-boiled eggs, wheat bread or English muffins for toasting with only butter and jam (no peanut butter, etc.). If you arrive late at night you likely will find the parking lot to be full, but I believe you can park on the street. Traffic noise from nearby I-5 isn't fully muffled but running the AC/fan helped. Front office staff were polite. No fitness center, but seems to be a safe area for walking/running. Beds were pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Owner at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank You for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.