We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Utah
1 review
“Just as good as possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room was clean and spacious, breakfast was adequate and staff was pleasant. I would reccommend to anyone. Very close to a grocery store, gas station, expressway and the ocean (just a few blocks straight out.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    87
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
171
35
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As soon as i arrived i was impressed with the maintenance of the property. I was not impressed with the structure but just the way they maintained it. The building structure still looks like a motel 6 from outside. The paint is new and building is updated and kept nice and clean. The room "interiors" are excellent and match upscale hotels.hotel has all the "basic" amenities.If i were to compare it to budget hotels ..like motel6, super8, dayinn ..etc, this motel ranks high. There is no way you can compare it to hotels like holiday inn, ramada...etc since the hotel built is quite different. if i do that, the ranking of this hotel would fall sharply. Given that the price of the hotel is at the higher end , i am not convinced that the hotel is a "value". I would rather pay 10 to 20 dollars more and get into the higher end hotels with better buildings rather than settle for a two story hotel with rooms facing into the parking lot and a railing.
I came during the very busy long weekend. The breakfast room is a 100 to 150 sq room which is very small to serve breakfast for a 40 rooms hotel. people were bumping into each other during breakfast time. 10 people can barely sit in the room and 6 people can sit outside.

The toilet in my room got clogged during my stay.I told the hotel manager about it. He replied back saying that i need a plunger.He gave me a plunger and asked me to unclog the toilet myself. This toilet problem has happened for the first time during my hotel stay anywhere so i don't know if its standard procedure to unclog the toilet by yourself. maybe other veteran travelers can comment.
overall, i would recommend the hotel only if you get this at a price which matches similar budget hotels ( like motels6, days inn..etc).if the price is higher, i would pass this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our stay coincided with a visit to Legoland. For our purposes the Econo Lodge was perfect.

For the price the accomodations were more than we could have expected and the staff (especially Jay) was helpful and proactive in providing us with a nice experience.

The breakfast layout was easy to negotiate and there was ample food and seating.

There was also conveniently located cafes and dining establishments and Legoland is less than 5 minutes away.

Overall a fine experience.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Best Econo Lodge that I ever visited on my life. I was on Oct. 27 weekend and rooms are clean, modern, safe big and with an excellent staff. Bed was awesome and check in and out was very quickly. Definitelly best option near Legoland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is simply adorable from the outside! We were so excited when we drove up. The staff is beyond helpful...they really went over and beyond to make sure our needs were addressed. Our room was quite large and had everything we needed. Very clean! This was at the end of our long trip and we had a lot of dirty clothes and were so excited that they had a laundry room. The area is next to a highway, and is very loud, but not bad when the doors were closed. Breakfast was adequate. We were going to Legoland and it is super close. We were there two nights and had no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Easy access to all of the area's attractions and good size rooms. The staff was very helpful and the laundry facility was useful for extended stays. The breakfast selection could be more varied, but overall it is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliente, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights (Wed, Thurs, Fri and Sat)at this Econo Lodge. We were very pleased with how nice it was. The room was nice, the grounds were nice and kept up. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was OK as I would add bananas to the offering. Since we visit Carlsbad quite often because of family in the area there is no doubt that we will stay here again. If I had to list one complaint, it would be the kids in the room over us. On Saturday and Sunday mornings it seemed like they were using the bed to bounce on then land on the floor. Quite annoying when trying to sleep. But kids will be kids. Other than that the stay at this Econo Lodge was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA, US, 92008, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.