We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean and well-appointed room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Conroe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, clean and well-appointed room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay. We got to the hotel just after check-in time and the very nice lady at the desk allowed us to choose which room we had since we were staying for five nights. We always take a small air purifier to help with my allergies and this is the first place we ever stayed that there were outlets convenient to plug into by the bedside table. We usually have to move furniture to plug it in. Everything in the room had been recently redone. It was very clean, which is a priority for me! Yes, there was some freeway noise, but it isn't all that bad, and most motels tend to be located either by freeways or by airports. If you run the a/c or heater you really can't notice the freeway notice. We will definitely stay here next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msbuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is the first time I've been disappointed by a hotel that's well reviewed on TripAdvisor. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean, and it was just minutes away from Legoland which was our destination. But the dresser drawers were loose on their tracks and kept rolling open on their own and hitting my toddler in the head. The toilet seat didn't fit properly and the bathroom fan was loud and rattly. And there were no reading lights over the beds - a definite drawback when travelling with little kids. The continental breakfast was served in an overheated motel room: three tables with plastic chairs on worn carpet - not the most appetizing experience.
All in all it met our needs for a brief one night stay but I'm not sure I'd be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsintheBackseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at this facility several years ago and it was a PIT! This facility is NOW BEAUTIFUL!! The room was large, with multiple electrical outlets, everything was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful.

I look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Our group took 3 of the rooms here. Everyone was pleased with the rooms, all saying how large,clean and comfortable they were. The only downside was it is next to the freeway and picks up the noise. One can quickly get use to the noise just think of it as the sound of waves against the shore.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mans265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hanna was so friendly and very welcoming! The location is perfect to everything you could probably need or want and also very close to Legoland. I will make sure to come back and stay here again and also recommend to friends and family if traveling thru Carlsbad.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dottee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hotel was great......Location......a couple minutes to everywhere!
Room was clean, tv was great and bed very comfortable.
Freeway noise disappears when you close windows and door.
Waffles, pastries and juice were all tasty in the am.
Will stay again soon......not just because of how it "DOESNT" cost!
Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is the first time I've been disappointed by a well reviewed property on trip advisor. The good was that the owners were very pleasant and really take pride of ownership in this place. They are making the most of what it is. But really it's an old motel right next to the freeway and some low end houses.

Pros are friendly staff, waffles, and certainly the price.

Cons are bare minimum amenities, freeway and barking dog noise, no coffee maker, no lamps, strange layout, lack of counter space in suite bathroom.

I'm not sure we would stay here again, but to be fair we are used to paying more for something nicer. This might be ok if you were at Legoland all day and needed a one night stay that night. Not a place where we wanted to hang out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeckoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.6 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
LEGOLAND California Hotel
#16 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 37 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Address: 3666 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing