We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at an affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Near Legoland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Near Legoland to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3570 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Lancaster, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my family's second stay here. We stayed here on a previous Legoland trip and had a good experience so we tried them again.The room we had was nice.
Pros- location to Legoland is just a quick 5 minute drive down the freeway.
Price is very affordable when compared to other hotels in the area.
Check in was quick and easy and the guy at the front desk was nice.
King bed was comfortable and spacious.
Room was clean.
Shower had adequate pressure.
Toilet was crazy powerful when flushing.
Free wi-fi.
Mini fridge and microwave was useful.
Lots of road noise from the I-5 freeway when in the parking lot, but when we were in our room we couldn't hear a thing.
Cons- on day 2 my wife went to the front desk to ask for more towels and the guy at the front desk was extremely rude and gave her only one towel.
The room was stuffy and needed to be aired out when we arrived.
The continental breakfast was nothing spectacular but I can't argue if it's free. I wouldn't rely on it to fill you up for breakfast.
Overall we had a good stay. If going to Legoland I would recommend this place. We would probably stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
36
18
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on
a trip to San Diego and Legoland. This was my family's second stay here, and overall it was another pleasant stay.
I chose the hotel for it's proximity to legoland which was only one exit over from the freeway. Another main factor was the extremely affordable price when compared to other hotels in the area. The bed was comfortable and the the hotel offers free wi-fi. The mini fridge and microwave was also a plus for the leftovers we had from going out to eat. When outside there is a lot of road noise from the I-5 freeway, but when you are in your room we couldn't hear a thing. The flatscreen TV was nice. The toilet was crazy powerful when flushing. The shower pressure was adequate.
We did have a few cons. The room at first was a little musty. Now sure if it was from being enclosed combined with the warm weather outside. So we had to air it out by opening up the door and running the AC. My wife went to the front desk to ask for more towels (early in the morning after our first night) and the man working the front desk was really rude to her. This was a total opposite to the gentleman I talked to when i checked in, who was very friendly. The guy barked at her, "what room are you in?!" before giving her only one towel.
So overall we had a good stay for the price. We would most likely stay here again if we have another Legoland trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont,CO
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Hotel Room was nice and clean. had a Micro Oven and small refrigerator. Attitude and helpfulness of the owner/manager was good. And breakfast was not as bad as we expected and surprisingly better that than the most of the Roadway Inn. Very closed to Lego Land. Took us about 10 minutes via I5.

Room Tip: Always choose the 2nd floor in a two story Motels like this because you never know what type of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The best thing here is the large parking lot. The rooms are small and crowded, the manager is not in the office and doesn't answer the phone, and they run out of breakfast items, even milk, long before the time is up. Not impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thinking of taking a trip in the Carlsbad area near Legoland in California, Stoppppp!!!!
Make your reservation at the Roadway Inn Near Legoland. Ask for "TITUS". His Team goes to the limit to make your stay feel like home.
I have stayed over 25 times. I love the atmosphere, grounds are well kept, pool clean and all the amenities wonderful. I have stayed in several rooms and they all are great. Clean, safe and
ohhhhhhhhhhhhh, the coffee. Machines in each room and the extra steps taken to fold the towels on the tub and the way the linen smells and the bed is made make you forget you are not at home.
I always look for a reason to comeback.
Breakfast is simple and great. Clean and the juice is wonderful.

Come and join the "Home Away from Home" experience and you too will say....OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

Room Tip: I love room 105, 106 for me....near the office. All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is within 5 minutes of Legoland and therefore a good option when visiting the theme park. Our room had a king bed, fridge, table and chairs. There was also free wi-fi. The property is adjacent to the freeway and there is some freeway noise. Amenities include a pool and coin laundry. Continental breakfast was quite basic and served in the small lobby. As it was very crowded, we passed and went to a French bakery down the street. I do think the property was overpriced ($220) for what we got. Unfortunately, ComicCon was going on in San Diego the same weekend we chose to go to Legoland. Inasmuch as most of San Diego was sold out, we had few hotel options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is on a. Frontage road right off hwy 5, is absolutely quiet, and immaculately clean. Im crazy neurotic about clean, and this place met my standards. Nice nice family run business. I recommend without reservation

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Near Legoland

Address: 3570 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Rodeway Inn Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.