We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at an affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Near Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Near Legoland to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3570 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay at an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on
a trip to San Diego and Legoland. This was my family's second stay here, and overall it was another pleasant stay.
I chose the hotel for it's proximity to legoland which was only one exit over from the freeway. Another main factor was the extremely affordable price when compared to other hotels in the area. The bed was comfortable and the the hotel offers free wi-fi. The mini fridge and microwave was also a plus for the leftovers we had from going out to eat. When outside there is a lot of road noise from the I-5 freeway, but when you are in your room we couldn't hear a thing. The flatscreen TV was nice. The toilet was crazy powerful when flushing. The shower pressure was adequate.
We did have a few cons. The room at first was a little musty. Now sure if it was from being enclosed combined with the warm weather outside. So we had to air it out by opening up the door and running the AC. My wife went to the front desk to ask for more towels (early in the morning after our first night) and the man working the front desk was really rude to her. This was a total opposite to the gentleman I talked to when i checked in, who was very friendly. The guy barked at her, "what room are you in?!" before giving her only one towel.
So overall we had a good stay for the price. We would most likely stay here again if we have another Legoland trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
17
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longmont,CO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Hotel Room was nice and clean. had a Micro Oven and small refrigerator. Attitude and helpfulness of the owner/manager was good. And breakfast was not as bad as we expected and surprisingly better that than the most of the Roadway Inn. Very closed to Lego Land. Took us about 10 minutes via I5.

Room Tip: Always choose the 2nd floor in a two story Motels like this because you never know what type of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The best thing here is the large parking lot. The rooms are small and crowded, the manager is not in the office and doesn't answer the phone, and they run out of breakfast items, even milk, long before the time is up. Not impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thinking of taking a trip in the Carlsbad area near Legoland in California, Stoppppp!!!!
Make your reservation at the Roadway Inn Near Legoland. Ask for "TITUS". His Team goes to the limit to make your stay feel like home.
I have stayed over 25 times. I love the atmosphere, grounds are well kept, pool clean and all the amenities wonderful. I have stayed in several rooms and they all are great. Clean, safe and
ohhhhhhhhhhhhh, the coffee. Machines in each room and the extra steps taken to fold the towels on the tub and the way the linen smells and the bed is made make you forget you are not at home.
I always look for a reason to comeback.
Breakfast is simple and great. Clean and the juice is wonderful.

Come and join the "Home Away from Home" experience and you too will say....OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

Room Tip: I love room 105, 106 for me....near the office. All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is within 5 minutes of Legoland and therefore a good option when visiting the theme park. Our room had a king bed, fridge, table and chairs. There was also free wi-fi. The property is adjacent to the freeway and there is some freeway noise. Amenities include a pool and coin laundry. Continental breakfast was quite basic and served in the small lobby. As it was very crowded, we passed and went to a French bakery down the street. I do think the property was overpriced ($220) for what we got. Unfortunately, ComicCon was going on in San Diego the same weekend we chose to go to Legoland. Inasmuch as most of San Diego was sold out, we had few hotel options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is on a. Frontage road right off hwy 5, is absolutely quiet, and immaculately clean. Im crazy neurotic about clean, and this place met my standards. Nice nice family run business. I recommend without reservation

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is clean and up to date inside. Maid service was fine. Toilet stopped working and we had to call for repair at 9:00 pm at night. There was only one person in the office who said, "give me a little time". Thirty minutes later I called again and saw two people drive up to man the front office so the clerk could come repair the toilet. Kids could not go to bed until repair was made. Front desk clerk/repair guy brought his little daughter with him (no babysitter?) although it seemed as though he had a discussion with someone in the rooms behind the office before he came. Toilet did get fixed however, and kids were able to go to sleep.

We were put on the second story and told that it was because we were staying four nights and not many rooms available for that long(?) Really? Longer term people don't get preference?

Hotel is 50 feet from I-5 and extremely noisy.
Wi-fi is free and worked okay on Monday night but when the hotel got full there must have been 75 people on one router. None of my emails sent. Very very came in. Internet loaded very, very slow and I eventually gave up on day 3.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Near Legoland

Address: 3570 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Rodeway Inn Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.