We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a Great Time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We had a Great Time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn, the weather was only in the 70's during our week long stay so we weren't able to spend every day at the beach like we wanted however the location can't be beat!! The Inn was super clean and cozy for my husband and 3 kids. I loved that the kids could stay in the heated pool, had their own tv, had a chance to hang out on the patio and watch the bands, could check out toys and beach gear whenever they wanted. We truly enjoyed every aspect. The village was right outside our door and there are tons of eateries, shops and things to do to keep you busy in the area.

Room Tip: We had three kids and they all shared the pull out sofa in the living room while we had the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    144
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
331
251
43
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just spent a week at Carlsbad Inn. We had a very busy week filled with lots of activities! Very family oriented resort. Karoke,family movie on the lawn (Frozen) Kids sack races,Hulahoop contest., Live music,a clown,snacks and lots more! The rooms were very nice! Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful,even the security staff! We had a blast! The computers need updating but no big deal. We will definitly return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Chuck S,
Thank you for providing us with your review. It is great to hear that you and your family were able to partake in some of the family oriented activities here and that you enjoyed them. We hope you chose to come back during your next visit to California!
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have stayed at the "Inn" many times in the past due to business in Carlsbad and this time I returned with my wife after 5 years of absence. Since I retired meanwhile, my wife and I wanted to have a great time over the Easter Holidays - and we got what we wanted. Most of the public areas at the Inn have been nicely renovated but kept the "Old World" flair, which actually creates all the charm of the Inn and of its vicinity - a feeling of easy-going 19th Century European Carlsbad.
Amenities & WiFi connections were good. Alas, we would have liked to have at least a (real) breakfast room. There are no food & beverages on offer (except for vending machines) - one has to make use of the restaurants and vendors, which are close-by and plentiful. Nevertheless, a lot of fond memories were refreshed and the dolphins' play in the ocean right in front of the Inn allowed for a bonus experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea - great view and you can hear the waves. The rooms facing the Carl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Exceptional - if all guests would only follow those practices....
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Peter S,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy the atmosphere and style found throughout our facilities as well as the guest amenities. We are also delighted to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful experience. We can’t wait to have you back with us!
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at the Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort for two days due to fire evacuation. The staff was very friendly and helpful, front desk, bellman and valets where great. We stayed in a King Suite and the room was excellent, the view was perfect.

Room Tip: West facing corner suite is very nice - 2nd or 3rd floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello dcwhiddon54,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We’re thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy a comfortable stay with us after the fire evacuation. We pride ourselves in being able to create a friendly atmosphere for all our guests. It is also wonderful to hear that you had the opportunity to stay in the king suite that offers such a wonderful view. We hope you come back to stay with us soon under better circumstances!
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been on vacation for weeks and this is our last stop before heading home. We got a sweet with ocean view. I can hear the waves. Large enough room for a gathering. Heading down to beach in a couple hours. This the perfect spot, easy walking to shops and food and waves close by. We wil return

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for one night here in early May and really liked it. We got in late as we had to drive from Orange County airport, so didn't really see how lovely the facilities were til the morning. The grounds are well-maintained and gorgeous with an abundance of flowers everywhere. The staff were friendly and helpful, and check-in and check-out was a breeze. Our room was in the hotel portion of the facility, and was quite nice. The beds were extremely comfortable, the bathroom clean, not too small, and had great bath products. It was also very quiet at night. In the morning, my five-year-old and I took a leisurely stroll into Carlsbad Village. It's a great town for walking, and there were many restaurants to choose from including two breakfast spots on either side of the hotel. We even found a delicious doughnut store not too far which made the morning for my little guy. The pool is not large, but perfect for a quick dip, and the hotel has a lovely outdoor sitting area that faces the ocean with chairs which would be perfect for relaxing. The beach access is from the front of the hotel, or you can walk to the sidewalk and that leads to the beach as well. It's a gorgeous beach. We wished we could have stayed here longer. The hotel is a bit older, but well-maintained, and is a fabulous location. The Coaster train station is near by. On our next trip to San Diego we would definitely stay here. It's a great spot for couples, or if you have a family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Walk across the road you are in Carlsbad, walk down the access stairs and you are on the beach. Rooms are pleasant and the staff more so. Downtown is a village with great shops, atmosphere and restaurants. Short walk to the train station to catch the "The Coaster" to San Diego. Quick drive to Lego Land. Gym has good equipment and you can get beach towels there for the beach. Plenty of activities for the kids. Has live music during an afternoon at least once a week. Time share units have full kitchen, plenty of room and resort is Gold Crown rated. Check-in is busy on weekends but effective none the less. Maintenance is Johnny on the spot if there is a problem. Gotta love the care they take of the resort.

Room Tip: Kids spa is right next to swimming pool - adult spa at the other end of the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.