We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous get a way!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance booking sale
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous get a way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This inn is adorable and has the full package!! It's newly remodeled and done so well. The atmosphere is fabulous and the view is incredible! We loved walking the beach, borrowing the beach cruisers and riding around town, the farmers market and the pool area!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    134
    46
    18
    14
See reviews for
303
225
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A classic beach side resort, although it is across the street and down some steps from the actual beach. Its perch above the road gives the illusion of beachfront. We arrived late in the evening, but were welcomed warmly by the staff.The suite we were given was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The pillows cases did have the industrial chlorine bleach smell, so we knew they were clean. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but is just steps from the Daily News Cafe and Norte mexican restaurant. Parking is underground the adjoining condos, but accessible to the hotel. The loss of the 5th star is because 2 items were left in the room after we checked out and only 1 was turned in to Lost&Found. We notified the front office staff within five hours after we left and were assured the items were in Lost&Found. Apparently not. Sadly, I have not received any response to my emails from the front desk manager. Oh well, stay at the Carlsbad Inn, but be sure to check the closet before you check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved staying here. Sparkling clean, lovely well-maintained grounds, 2 outdoor gas-powered firepits, lovely outdoor pool and jacuzzi open late. You can hear the ocean waves from your window and it is just steps across the street to the Carlsbad beach. We stayed in a newly remodeled condo and it was well-stocked with dishes and appliances, beach towels, beach chairs. Also, they offered free DVD rental, boogie boards, beach cruisers, games, etc. Lovely and hopefully will be back soon! NOTE: There is an additional $14 resort fee per night that was charged to us when we checked in.

Room Tip: Pick a remodeled one, nearest to ocean (for best view). Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This truly is a great place to stay. It is a beautiful and well maintained property. You are within walking distance to everything you need. A most beautiful beach is right across the street and restaurants and nightlife are mere steps away. The rooms are nice and very comfortable and the staff will do all they can to make sure you have a great time. I can hardly wait to go back and highly recommend this resort. If you are making any plans to be in the Carlsbad/San Diego area , this is the place you want to stay.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second or third story and for a great view ask for the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Carlsbad Beach Resort Inn. We loved it because it was so close to the beach, the property was specular and everything was walking distance. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great bed. It included a coffee maker and fridge. Perfect since there was a deli and convenience store immediately across the street. We also loved the hot tub and the pool was lovely... I think it was a salt water pool. My only complaint if there was one.... I wish they served a continental breakfast. Another con is there is no on-site restaurant, bar or room service. Also, the street side rooms can be somewhat noisy. I would pay extra to have a room face the courtyard/ocean.

Room Tip: Some standard rooms have a balcony, some do not--- ask for your preference. Room 258 was somewhat no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been doing beach trips every summer for the last 14 yrs. Our 1st visit to Carlsbad Inn last year was by far the best we ever had. The staff is always so helpful and pleasant. It is such a beautiful place. My personal experience with the manager Roxie was extremely pleasant. She is so professional and kind. It is definitely a place we will continue to go to and highly recommend to all of our friends. We just got home today and Roxie has no idea all that my husband and I have been thru the 8 mo. When I contacted her about getting a room she went above and beyond to help us out. Carlsbad Inn and the staff (especially Roxie) gave us a very pleasant relaxing 3 dys. We will look forward to going back again. To the owner you are very lucky to have such a terrific staff that keeps your guest coming back. Thank you to you all. The Pennington's. Again a special thank you to Roxie.

Room Tip: I think any room is a good one, but I do love the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is not a budget hotel property, unless you consider the fact that it is a mere block from the beach and that it is within walking distance of dozens of fascinating shops as well as restaurants. I am quite sure it would be possible to find fault as it is an older property but we instead chose to savor the delightful ambiance, take advantage of the ideal location, and let the courteous and professional staff do their job.
To say we enjoyed our anniversary weekend getaway would be an understatement. Rest assured, we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. To savor a glass of wine while enjoying the views and a fresh ocean b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.