We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay a block from the beach in Carlsbad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Pasadena, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay a block from the beach in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I purchased a one-bedroom condo for a one-night stay. I was very pleased with the entire experience. The very large living room/kitchen area was lovely, and the balcony view (# 336) with the partial ocean view, was just perfect; the room was in perfect condition, and the kitchen stocked with everything you could need. The grounds are well laid out, and there is a laundromat just for visitors if you want to do your own washing, and a small gym. Loved the towels done as animals! The beds were fantastic, especially the pillows (5 on a king-sized bed). As another reviewer said, it is the attention to detail that was evident through the entire visit. The staff was extremely courteous, and I was pleased to receive a coupon book for discounts on local restaurants. There is a pool and family jacuzzi area with a safety fence, and another separate jacuzzi just for adults with views of the ocean; fire pits with chairs and beautiful grounds immaculately planted and all in bloom. Whether you are looking for a family vacation, a couples retreat or a place to get away for yourself, I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for one on the opposite side from the Mexican restaurant (Norte), on a Friday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi lisainpasadena,
It's so wonderful to learn how much you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our staff does a great job making sure our guests are comfortable and having a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We hope that your next visit consists of longer than one night, as there is plenty in Carlsbad to experience. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to a future return!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    137
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
312
229
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've stayed at the Carlsbad Inn previously, and swore we would return as soon as we could. We returned on my wife's birthday, and had another amazing time. From the wonderfully large condo to the free bike rentals included with the stay, we just can't say enough good about the property. The added bonus is the staff, very friendly, professional and very helpful. Even their onsite security is amazing. Grey is a wealth of information and a joy to speak with. The concert on the green on Sunday was the icing on the cake as they say. If we could spend every weekend there, we would be happy people. I want to thank the entire staff and owners for a birthday weekend she will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Jambasco,
We’d like to wish your wife a very happy birthday! We're so thrilled you both had such a wonderful time. Our staff will go above and beyond to make sure that our guests are comfortable and have a smile on their face. We wish you could spend every weekend here as well! Come back to visit us again soon!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort was situated perfectly for our vacation. We had a one- bedroom condo. At check-in they gave us a newsletter with all the week's activities, like two hot dog BBQs with drinks, snacks and live entertainment, a casino night with prizes, etc. We also received a coupon book and discount card for some of the nearby shops and restaurants, In our condo was a welcome package with coffee, tea, popcorn, hot chocolate, etc. The WiFi was appreciated for our laptop computers and smart phones. We used the activities center to exercise in the morning and took daily walks on the uncrowded beach. The towel sculptures were over-the-top. Roxi Esposito found out it was my husband's birthday and had a birthday cake towel sculpture delivered to our room. It is that attention to detail that shows at this resort. Their beds are very comfortable and the towels fluffy and of high quality. There are also bikes (men's & women's) to take for a ride. We had a view of the sea from our balcony. The staff was always friendly and smiling. I asked someone why everyone is so happy and they said it was because they worked at the Inn. I would be happy too if I worked there! What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Go2thec2live,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We do our best to fill the resort's calendar with plenty of fun activities for our guests to enjoy. We hope you had a great time participating in some. Our staff is always sure to have a smile on their face as well. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Carlsbad Inn is in the heart of downtown Carlsbad, CA. It is a nice resort a few steps away from the beach. The resort is surrounded by many nice restaurants, bars & local shops. Everything you need is walking distance. It has been recently renovated so the rooms are nice and trendy! If you are looking for a resort right near the beach, this is the one! Perfect for any occasion!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi aforester,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so thrilled you had a great time visiting the heart of the town and checking out some of the local restaurants, bars, and local shops. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Randal C. Chapin
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This resort is fantastic...quiet, overlooks the ocean, flowers and well kept grounds year round. There are so many helpful, wonderful, friendly employees, etc. Randy Chapin, Mgr. and his team do an excellent job keeping this resort so attractive and well run. Carlsbad Inn is a big asset to the GPX resorts and destination choices.
One of our favorite places to visit in California.

Room Tip: No review was done on room service or spa as this resort does not have a restaurant or formal spa st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Leserer,
It's great to hear how fantastic your stay with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort was. Our staff does a great job at making sure our guests feel welcomed and are on the right track for a successful stay. We look forward to a future return!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were excited to visit Carlsbad Inn again this year. As usual, we were warmly greeted at the front desk, this time by Sabrina. She assured us that our Special Needs had been arranged for and told us about the activities at the Inn. Once again, the overall appearance makes you feel right at home. Beautiful chandeliers, fireplace, comfortable reading areas, computers, TV, and refreshments. Our rooms were spacious yet cozy with warm colors and accents. Thanks to housekeeping staff like Lorenza and Juana, we had everything we needed from immaculate restrooms to large fluffy towels. That would be enough to warrant a return trip but there's more. Every inch of the grounds is landscaped to give you a tropical and relaxing visit. This Inn is not only a great location in itself, it's located near the beach and lovely running/biking paths. The city of Carlsbad also has lots to offer in the way of services and restaurants. Well, at last our relaxing time was up. We were graciously check out by Karen with a lovely smile and an invitation to return soon. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall away from the main and central entrances. Very quiet. We have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi SoCalAce,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're always so happy to hear from our returning guests and aim to make sure your vacation was better than the last. There's plenty to do around Carlsbad, and we hope you had a chance to check it out. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is great if you want a romantic get away. Make sure you get a room overlooking water because if not you will be on the street. Alot of things to do pools,bike,ping pong, music. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are cleaned. Could use some updating. Would stay again and wish I could be back there laying by the pool and spa

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Amysz15,
We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're happy you had fun hanging out by the pool and listening to music. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.