We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lovely end unit with views of the ocean. Unit was clean and big, with a full kitchen. Close to Legoland.

Pool are was OK. Hot tub was broken so used as a kiddie pool - the weather was a bit chilly in November, so a hot tub for the family would be nice. There was a private, adults only hot tub across the grass which was nice.

There was a BBQ available for our use, but we didn't try it.

Lovely big grass area for walking, playing and enjoying fire pits at night - very nice!

After we checked out and were fully paid (we booked through hotels.com), we got another charge on our card. We had to argue a little bit to get this additional charge credited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Sandbergen,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We hope you had a great time throughout your stay. I apologize for the additional charge made to your card upon departure. I am hopeful that the issue was resolved to your satisfaction, but if there is any remaining concern, I invite you to contact me directly for assistance. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    171
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
393
291
46
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the timeshare portion on the Oak side during Christmas week, 2012. These units were remodeled last year except for the bathrooms which are scheduled for 2013. We have been staying at this location for four years and love it. It is difficult to trade into Southern California beachfront property so we purchased a week in 2011. We have not been disappointed.

There are currently foreclosures available for purchase for very attractive rates. We purchased a one bedroom for Week 51 in 2011 for $7,000.

The people at the resort are very friendly. We also like the evening activities especially karaoke by a staff member, Terry.

The town is beautiful and peaceful with ample restaurants. In the timeshare, we can also cook in the room. There is a great local theater company in town with superb performances at a reasonable cost. The sunsets over the Pacific are breathtaking. Wish I had not purchased my first timeshare in Mexico since S. Cal. is our most favorite. Carlsbad Inn is wonderful!

Room Tip: The timeshare rooms facing the courtyard are most preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi ThomasZook,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We are so thrilled you had an amazing time and enjoyed exploring the town of Carlsbad. There's always so much to do. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed in the condos at Carlsbad Inn. The room was a one bedroom apt size with a full kitchen. The property had easy access to the beach, but also had a pool on site that was popular with the kids. There was also a hot tub for adults only. It was an easy walk into downtown Carlsbad where there were lots of shops and restaurants. We walked into town (2-3 blocks) during the day and at night. There were bike paths nearby and bikes available at the resort. Hot coffee was available in the room or in the library off the lobby every morning.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed pretty good. Sound does carry in the area near all the front doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Janice V,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We’re thrilled to learn that you greatly enjoyed your suite and hope you had a fun riding bikes around Carlsbad. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been visiting the Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort for the past 8 years. We love the resort - located right on the Pacific Beach and in the middle of the lovely village of Carlsbad, Ca.
The staff, many of whom have been there 15+ years, go out of their way to make guests feel
confortable and welcome. The general manager, Randy, takes a personal interest in guest
satisfaction and it follows down through all staff. There is hot coffee each morning, several
newspapers and a friendly hello from everyone. Staff offers many activities, but we just choose
to relax by the pool or beach and read, relax and enjoy the wonderful southern California weather.

Room Tip: You might want a rom with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi biffie322,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so thrilled that we could welcome you back year after year, and continue to make sure you and your family are having an amazing time. We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and will be sure to pass them along to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for another 8 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This resort is part hotel, part Time-Share Condo rentals. The nice part is that you have the ability to rent a time share condo for what you would typically pay for a hotel, most of the year. We found the condo in great shape. I wasn't expecting a time-share to be kept up in this good of condition so we were very pleased. The best part is that next door is a slightly overpriced but good Mexican restaurant. Also wonderful is the beach is steps out of the property, with shops and other restaurants a 3 minute walk into downtown Carlsbad. We will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Jambasco,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. It’s so great to hear of your most recent experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days on our California trip & were not disappointed. It is within walking distance of all that Carlsbad has to offer (great relaxing large village feel) & is just accross a small road from the beach. Staff were very helpful in advising restaurants & where to go in San Diego.........A must to visit & very easy to get to from here. We would have loved to stay longer & would recommend it to anyone wanting a few relaxing days, especially if you are touring

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi jeanieEssex,
We’re delighted to hear of your most recent visit to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort and hope you had an amazing time exploring the surrounding area of Carlsbad! San Diego is always a great place to visit when staying with us. We hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Elm condos Dec 24-30. I traded my gold crown timeshare for this gold crown timeshare via RCI. I have a gold crown timeshare and expected the same type of elegance. I did not get gold crown quality.

I was assigned to Elm condo 206. As shown in the pictures, the bathroom was poorly maintained. I was shocked at the level of nastiness, so I asked the front desk to change my room. They assured me that all the condos were the same quality and let me look at units on the 1st and 3rd floor. They were correct! All the bathrooms were disgusting!

I was really upset and checked the rci.com website, which touted "newly renovated condos." Rci.com had 28 pictures of a beautiful resort but none of the pictures were of the bathroom. So rci.com lied by omission, the bathrooms were not part of the renovation.

If you want a nice bathroom don't stay in the Elm Condos. Based on the pictures that I saw of the hotel, the bathrooms in the hotel were renovated.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Elm condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi chicagofran2,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are deeply sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your stay.
You are correct that our condo bathrooms were not part of the recent renovation, but will be included in a 2nd round of renovation later this year.
We will certainly pass along your feedback to our respective teams, especially housekeeping, and hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.