We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained bathrooms in the Elm Condos” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained bathrooms in the Elm Condos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Elm condos Dec 24-30. I traded my gold crown timeshare for this gold crown timeshare via RCI. I have a gold crown timeshare and expected the same type of elegance. I did not get gold crown quality.

I was assigned to Elm condo 206. As shown in the pictures, the bathroom was poorly maintained. I was shocked at the level of nastiness, so I asked the front desk to change my room. They assured me that all the condos were the same quality and let me look at units on the 1st and 3rd floor. They were correct! All the bathrooms were disgusting!

I was really upset and checked the rci.com website, which touted "newly renovated condos." Rci.com had 28 pictures of a beautiful resort but none of the pictures were of the bathroom. So rci.com lied by omission, the bathrooms were not part of the renovation.

If you want a nice bathroom don't stay in the Elm Condos. Based on the pictures that I saw of the hotel, the bathrooms in the hotel were renovated.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Elm condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi chicagofran2,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are deeply sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your stay.
You are correct that our condo bathrooms were not part of the recent renovation, but will be included in a 2nd round of renovation later this year.
We will certainly pass along your feedback to our respective teams, especially housekeeping, and hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    134
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
310
227
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My parents are RCI platinum members, but did not get an upgrade due to availability during the Christmas holidays...this is a very nice place to stay and a great location no doubt. A few quirks: parking limited to one car per unit (I drove on my own to meet family), and as stated, only got a 1 bedroom when our status could've got us a 2, the elevator was inoperative for the first two days of my stay. This place had a swarm of activities on site, but then we were here to see the city no less during our Christmas vacation. If you want to stay in, the TV has most of the good channels, especially the sports ones that I always want to watch.

However, this place has awesome wi-fi coverage (unlike other hotels), though i did a Speedtest and it is nowhere near what I get with my Charter at home, but it will do fine for your computer/smartphone.They do have lounge computers that actually will print without charge, though the computers in the lobby are just "stations", so they are damn restrictive of course, but good enough to print your boarding pass or a voucher/coupon to the outlet/tourist attraction, etc.

For the most part, this place has LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, by the beach no less (too bad it wasn't summer, would've ran to the beach for sure). If you can book this place, timeshare or not, can't go wrong at all.

Room Tip: Hope you are able to get a good room with a view of the lawn with the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi got-rice,
Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to learn of your most recent stay, and are so glad you had a wonderful time this holiday. Our resort is in a prime location of Carlsbad and allows our guests to venture off site should they wish to explore what our surrounding area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and the rest of your family back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were making a business/family trip and made reservations through the Disney Vacaation Club's arrangement wth RCI. We felt that the accomodations (1 bedroom unit) were very nice. The resort is across a quiet street from the ocean but access to the beach is very good. The resort is located in downtown Carlsbad Village which offers a plethora of stores and restaurants all within a several blocks radius. Commuter train access to San Diego is also excellent and would offer a good one day excursion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi WmNess,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We hope you and your family had a wonderful trip and that you didn't work too hard! We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Spending 3-4 days here with family during Xmas week. The property is nice and well kept. The location is really nice. Easy and quick access to the beach. It is located in a very good spot with so many nice restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Also very easy and quick access to I-5 off the highway to be able to do day trips to SD or other sightseeing activities. Access to parking is in an underground and very easy to get to.

The only downside for our family is that they only do maid service twice a week. if your family is used to more frequent or daily service, that is not going to occur.

Room Tip: I would choose rooms on the 3rd floor and AWAY from the stairwells and elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi BoroBandit,
Thank you for sharing your review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so glad you enjoyed the convenient location of our property and hope you had a wonderful time visiting the surrounding shops and restaurants. Come back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night here to just get away while family watched our toddler. Great location near several restaurants and small shops. Walking distance to main downtown area and almost immediate access to the beach. Some rooms have ocean views. There is a large pool that appears to be heated year round and hot tub guarded by glass paneling to keep the chilled night air out. Staff was friendly and hotel appears to cater to small corporate events as there were many folks walking about that were attending some type of conference. We heard that the 3rd floor was renovated so we asked to stay up on top......Room was clean and simple. Bathroom large with marble shower and floors. Our room had a small refrigerator and microwave as well as a coffee machine. Quiet and clean.....that was worth the stay.

Room Tip: I heard the 3rd floor was renovated....can't confirm it though......the best upgrade they have i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
HI Lorenzo95023,
Thank you for sharing your review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're thrilled you were able to visit us, even for just one night. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite and relaxing during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the hotel section of the beach resort and found it to be very comfortable. It was a little noisy the first night due to kids playing in the pool but this didn't last past 8pm. We loved the easy access to the beach and Carlsbad Village. The Daily News is a must for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi coloradotravel000,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so glad we could accommodate you and your husband and look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

it's these reviews I use to determine where I stay. This place is definitely one of the best for your money. I would like to keep it a secret! Talk about clean, accommodating, friendly, relaxing, secure,and location! It really is a beautiful property. The third floor is your best bet, but we stayed in room 123 and it was accessible to everything. There's even a BBQ right outside to cook yourself or restaurants galore in walking distance. These are condo's not just a hotel, so you have a full kitchenette as well as bedroom, sitting room, balcony or patio. Underground parking, very family oriented, updated.
I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for the last 3 Thanksgivings and loved it. (they have 24hr shuttle service to the outlets for Black Friday shopping :) )
The Carlsbad Inn doesn't have the shuttle or room service, but so much more in all other accomodations. Did I mention the beach is just down the steps? I will always book here now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.