We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Bird
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
glendale, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

a friend of mine had some groupons for this hotel. we decided to go to legoland, and this hotel is four miles away. i was blown away by the modern look of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff, and the proximity to restaurants and the beach. the common areas look like something out of a design magazine. the fire pit and pool are amazing. the hotel loans out boogie boards to use at the beach. the only thing i would change is the location of the check-in desk at the foot of the stairs. they're right next to each other, and people coming and going up and down the stairs have to walk around the guests checking in. i will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    138
    48
    19
    14
See reviews for
317
235
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We exchanged a week through RCI. I wanted to be near San Diego but not be IN San Diego. Overall, this was a good choice. It's near the beach but not right on the beach. Depending on where you book your room, you could get a beach view but it's still a walk across a street and down some steps to actually feel the sand and the ocean mist. If it's important for you to actually smell the ocean and hear those waves lapping at your door, then this isn't the place for you.

We just got back from our week there. Overall, there were more positives than negatives.

The resort is U-shaped with condos running down the sides (namely, the Elm Condos and the Oak condos) and at the base of the "U" are the hotel rooms. The pool, jacuzzi and courtyard are inside the U so if you have rooms facing the inside, they can get pretty noisy. We were in the Elm Condos, 3rd floor facing the small street and we had no noise. The only complaint I have is people slamming their doors in the morning but that didn't happen often and it didn't keep us from sleeping in. We didn't hear screaming kids running up and down the hallways on the 3rd floor but they were all over the ground floor near the pool area. Lots of families come to Carlsbad Inn so if you find kids annoying, think twice before booking there.

On our first day, we were told that if your check-in is on a Saturday, you're in the Oak Condos. If your check-in is on a Sunday, you're in the Elm Condos. I guess if you check in on any other day, it's a coin toss.

We had a one-bedroom condo. It had plenty of towels, enough dishes, utensils and pots and pans for me to cook breakfast and a couple of dinners, and a big comfortable bed. I had to ask the front desk for a non-stick frying pan to cook eggs because the condo had only stainless steel pans and those are cr@p for making eggs. I don't know why they keep non-stick pans in a secret place at the front desk when the one we got from them was in worse shape than some of the really cheap pans I bought when I first lived on my own.

Wi-fi was pretty good and we didn't have any connection problems. There was always plenty of hot water and the A/C was really efficient. Coming from AZ where the humidity is non-existent, we ran the A/C continuously very cold to keep the humidity down.

On the down side, the condo was dated and needed to be upgraded. The fixtures looked old and the overall feel of the place was tired and used. The carpet was just plain ugly although it didn't look worn. But the furniture was in dark wood and looked modern and upgraded and we had two flat screen tvs so our unit had some upgraded furniture at least.

Our check-in was fast but as we later discovered, they forgot to give us some necessary information. We weren't given our welcome packet until we went down to ask for it (remember, you're supposed to get a welcome packet at check-in). We weren't told about the resort fee and had to ask about that after I discovered a $90+ charge on my credit card. Also, it took us asking the front desk twice to replace the light above our door before someone finally put a new bulb in.

On the plus side, we got our mid-week cleaning and housekeeping did ask us twice if we wanted new towels.

The elevators are slow so hubby and I used the stairs a lot to get up and down from the third floor. Frankly they need more elevators especially when you're trying to schlep all your bags and stuff for a week's stay up to your room and need one of those carts to haul everything but the elevator is just big enough for one cart and maybe two medium size people.

We used the laundromat once, which is located in the parking garage near the Oak Condo elevator. It's small but they have soap for purchase and the washers and dryers are cheap.

I know this is called a "resort" but I believe that a resort should have AT THE VERY LEAST a restaurant on site specifically for the guests, particularly the hotel guests. There's a restaurant on the grounds called Norte but it isn't specifically for the guests - it doesn't have room service or have breakfast available for guests or provide room service to the hotel guests or the units. Although we had a kitchen in our unit, if I'm staying at a "resort" I want the amenity of an onsite restaurant that caters to resort guests, whether you're in the hotel rooms or the timeshare units.

We spent much of our time outside the unit so we missed the calls for timeshare presentations. We did get messages about it (which we ignored). No one pushed us to attend anything although we did get some printed material about units for sale (which we tossed).

We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi - too many kids, too noisy, too crowded - and opted instead to hang out at the beach which was less crowded and the ocean sounds drowned out the screaming children. The unit had beach towels and beach chairs already so we just had to schlep those down to the beach.

The resort is in a good location and our stay had only a few glitches so for our first time in Carlsbad, this was a good choice. But we don't intend to come back and stay here again. Our unit was dated and needs to be upgraded and there are plenty of other nicer places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Highly recommended for anyone staying around San Diego. Steps away from the ocean; cannot beat the location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the premises will leave you feeling relaxed and recharged. Only complaint is that my room (in the main building) did little to muffle the sound from the hallway. Overall it was a great stay and will be coming back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We traded our timeshare fort a week here, but it is also a hotel. It is located in Carlsbad Village and only steps from the ocean.

The building and grounds are most welcoming. Flowers, plants and trees adorn the grounds and the building is perfect for the location.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit with full kitchen and living room. Everything was clean and up-to-date. They even provided two beach chairs.

The resort features a large lawn courtyard with a pool at one end and large hot tub at the other. The hot tub overlooks the Pacific and it is a perfect place to watch the sun set. In between the pool and hot tub are tables and chairs with umbrellas and cushioned lounge chairs. There are also two big fire pits with comfortable chairs that make a nice place to have a drink and meeting other vacationers.

On site is a very good Mexican Restaurant and breakfast/lunch restaurant. The Mexican restaurant has happy hour every evening.

We hope we can return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathedral city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

if you have a pack of kids and let them run wild and scream,this is the place for you.I seriously don't understand how this place got so many positive reviews. It is not on the beach,we had an "ocean view " room, even if 40 kids went't screaming at the pool, I don't think I could have heard the ocean. The service is terrible,no one to help if you need help with your bags. Oh yeah, they have free coffee in the morning, it's great if you like your coffee in a Dixie cup. Full of entity OC mommies who are allowed to let their children run around like wild animals.The 4 pm check in is strictly enforced. This place was so bad I check out forfitted my second night and checked into another hotel....no room service,ice machines are only on floor 1....this place is no more than a 2 star motel

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Excited to see we were getting an end unit but VERY disappointed to see that the first floor (all units) is set below the ground level. Even more irritated that check in is 4pm. It just gets later and later. Our room had the view of a bush, roof tops of the houses on the beach, and the adult Jacuzzi. If you looked far enough out you could see water but wouldn’t know that’s what is was if you didn't know the beach was across the way.

Our "balcony" on the beach side was about four feet wide. If you sat in the bar style stools you could have your coffee looking at bars three feet away and the bush. On the opposite side was a "patio" which was tiny and your view was of the adults in the Jacuzzi. Next to us were older foursomes that were so loud they we had to close the door.

We felt like we were in a cave. The room was so dark because it was situated below ground. We were hoping to sit out on the porch and enjoy hanging out together (even didn't have an issue with the kids or the cackling neighbors) but it was just so claustrophobic. We felt forced to go out only to find out that many of the restaurant didn't have the specials promised on their sites and some were not even open. ..And yes, the walls are thin but wasn’t the issue.

Just an FYI as I am not much of a pool person but the pool is VERY small and IS pretty much the place the kids hang out. No second adult pool, though there is the adult Jacuzzi which was way too hot to be in until late.

If you are a family out all day visiting sites this would probably be a good option. Just know you are not right on the beach and do have to drag stuff across the street and down a couple flights of stairs. Don't bother with the condo unless you can confirm a beach view (which the site specifically refuses to do). In the end I would opt for a confirmed view at a more resort like place for more cash in another town. First and last time for Carlsbad

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

For our 6-year-old daughter's Legoland trip during spring break this year, my husband and I picked Carlsbad Inn nearby and it was perfect! Our room was extremely clean and had a view of the ocean. We got a room with a king size bed and three of us slept comfortably. There is a medium size pool with a jacuzzi next to it. Given that it was a spring break, lots of kids were playing in the pool. If I had visited this hotel before my daughter was born, I would probably be a bit annoyed by the kids. But now that I'm a mother, I could sit by the swimming pool and there are automatic play dates for my girl. She didn't want to leave the pool! Beyond the pool is a large patch of grass for kids to run around. And if you feel like hitting the beach, all you have to do is cross this little alley behind the hotel and voila, a beach is in front of you. This hotel is situated in downtown Carlsbad so there are convenient stores and all types of restaurants for your needs. Parking is free. The staffs were helpful when we needed them but didn't bother us when we wanted to be left alone - just a perfect balance for a great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.