We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Resort in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We traded our timeshare fort a week here, but it is also a hotel. It is located in Carlsbad Village and only steps from the ocean.

The building and grounds are most welcoming. Flowers, plants and trees adorn the grounds and the building is perfect for the location.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit with full kitchen and living room. Everything was clean and up-to-date. They even provided two beach chairs.

The resort features a large lawn courtyard with a pool at one end and large hot tub at the other. The hot tub overlooks the Pacific and it is a perfect place to watch the sun set. In between the pool and hot tub are tables and chairs with umbrellas and cushioned lounge chairs. There are also two big fire pits with comfortable chairs that make a nice place to have a drink and meeting other vacationers.

On site is a very good Mexican Restaurant and breakfast/lunch restaurant. The Mexican restaurant has happy hour every evening.

We hope we can return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    159
    53
    22
    15
See reviews for
366
280
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cathedral city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

if you have a pack of kids and let them run wild and scream,this is the place for you.I seriously don't understand how this place got so many positive reviews. It is not on the beach,we had an "ocean view " room, even if 40 kids went't screaming at the pool, I don't think I could have heard the ocean. The service is terrible,no one to help if you need help with your bags. Oh yeah, they have free coffee in the morning, it's great if you like your coffee in a Dixie cup. Full of entity OC mommies who are allowed to let their children run around like wild animals.The 4 pm check in is strictly enforced. This place was so bad I check out forfitted my second night and checked into another hotel....no room service,ice machines are only on floor 1....this place is no more than a 2 star motel

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, Ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Excited to see we were getting an end unit but VERY disappointed to see that the first floor (all units) is set below the ground level. Even more irritated that check in is 4pm. It just gets later and later. Our room had the view of a bush, roof tops of the houses on the beach, and the adult Jacuzzi. If you looked far enough out you could see water but wouldn’t know that’s what is was if you didn't know the beach was across the way.

Our "balcony" on the beach side was about four feet wide. If you sat in the bar style stools you could have your coffee looking at bars three feet away and the bush. On the opposite side was a "patio" which was tiny and your view was of the adults in the Jacuzzi. Next to us were older foursomes that were so loud they we had to close the door.

We felt like we were in a cave. The room was so dark because it was situated below ground. We were hoping to sit out on the porch and enjoy hanging out together (even didn't have an issue with the kids or the cackling neighbors) but it was just so claustrophobic. We felt forced to go out only to find out that many of the restaurant didn't have the specials promised on their sites and some were not even open. ..And yes, the walls are thin but wasn’t the issue.

Just an FYI as I am not much of a pool person but the pool is VERY small and IS pretty much the place the kids hang out. No second adult pool, though there is the adult Jacuzzi which was way too hot to be in until late.

If you are a family out all day visiting sites this would probably be a good option. Just know you are not right on the beach and do have to drag stuff across the street and down a couple flights of stairs. Don't bother with the condo unless you can confirm a beach view (which the site specifically refuses to do). In the end I would opt for a confirmed view at a more resort like place for more cash in another town. First and last time for Carlsbad

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

For our 6-year-old daughter's Legoland trip during spring break this year, my husband and I picked Carlsbad Inn nearby and it was perfect! Our room was extremely clean and had a view of the ocean. We got a room with a king size bed and three of us slept comfortably. There is a medium size pool with a jacuzzi next to it. Given that it was a spring break, lots of kids were playing in the pool. If I had visited this hotel before my daughter was born, I would probably be a bit annoyed by the kids. But now that I'm a mother, I could sit by the swimming pool and there are automatic play dates for my girl. She didn't want to leave the pool! Beyond the pool is a large patch of grass for kids to run around. And if you feel like hitting the beach, all you have to do is cross this little alley behind the hotel and voila, a beach is in front of you. This hotel is situated in downtown Carlsbad so there are convenient stores and all types of restaurants for your needs. Parking is free. The staffs were helpful when we needed them but didn't bother us when we wanted to be left alone - just a perfect balance for a great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having never been here, did not know what to expect. What a great surprise! Came here thru HGVC and RCI. Stayed in An Oak condo which was beautifully appointed, having everything we needed including backpack beach chairs, beach towels plus it was clean, clean, clean. All parts of the property so clean and well maintained. Every single staff member was pleasant and so helpful. Enjoyed the hot tub and wonderful evenings out by the cozy fire pit. Ocean only steps away and the hotel is located in the heart of Carlsbad Village making everything from groceries and liquor to wonderful restaurants a mere short walk away. Would go back there in a heartbeat and will definitely plan a trip there in the future. Daily activities available on site but we spent our week wine tasting in temecula and at zoo and San Diego. Try it. You'll love it!

Room Tip: We had ocean view. Would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Sharon M,

Thank you for sharing feedback with us on your recent stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We are pleased to hear that your expectations were exceeded, as it is our priority to provide our guests with excellent customer service and a clean and relaxing atmosphere. Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort is the perfect location to partake in activities around the resort as well, we're glad to see that you and your guests enjoyed wine tasting and the zoo in San Diego. We hope that you will be visiting us again sometime soon!

Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recommend the inn, but with caveats. The 'foot print' of the complex is a U shape. There are both timeshare properties and a hotel at the resort but the timeshares are by far better as they are are closer to the ocean with better views and away from the noisy, busy areas. The hotel section is at the bottom part of the "U." We sprung for a larger, more expensive room but were very disappointed to find that the room was situated on the second floor right above a very noisy pool. It was too noisy to enjoy the balcony due to the noise and because we were much farther away from the ocean that I had hoped. I had hoped the stay would provide a quiet, ocean-side, meditative retreat. It was not 'spot-on' for this goal. On the other hand, if my visit had been a multi-generational reunion or if I had been traveling with children under 10 this would be a lovely spot with activities for all ages.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor rooms right over the pool if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Dsgnr,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us, however we understand there were some disappointments that accompanied your stay as well. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great customer service and a relaxing getaway. We apologize if we fell short of that throughout the duration of your stay. Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort serves groups and guests of all ages. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, and please feel free to ask for a room change should you run into these problems again.
Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A beautiful resort located by the beach. A well-maintained property. The staff, management team & security staff are excellent. The weather is always great. It's close to everything - you can walk to the beach, restaurants, shops...etc. Great activities calendar. Water, coffee & tea are available in the library all day. We enjoy returning here every year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.