We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria

Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria
2508 El Camino Real, Carlsbad CA, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760 720 1132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 294 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The thin crust pizza was excellent, not too salty. They offered fresh bread to start and it was excellent. We sat outside on the patio, they had heaters on low... just right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

very friendly staff. old school italian, heavy sauces and pastas. Manicotti filling was plain, alfredo was good, salad was ok, couldn't find prices for drinks, just grab and charge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza, period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have been eating at Spiritos for more than 20 years. The pizza is the best I have tasted in Southern California. It is New York/New Jersey thin crust which is like the pizza I ate growing up. The rest of the menu is also excellent. Prices are more than reasonable. There is little ambiance in this small location but people come here for the food. I strongly recommend.
The restaurant is located on El Camino across from the Carlsbad Mall in the Von's shopping center. The Carlsbad Village address is the former location frfom 5 years ago.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree National Park, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was looking for Spiritos but instead found Gregorios....ends up the name has changed but the food is still the same (i.e. EXCELLENT). The pizza (for the kids) was great and my eggplant parm was to die for. I had the choice of plain pasta or ravioli to go w/the eggplant.... it was my good fortune to choose ravioli because it was OUTRAGEOUSLY fabulous ... and when I go again that's what I'm going to get. (It was huge, filled with fab cheese, and obviously homemade.) Service was iffy ... seems as if we got stuck at a table that wasn't being waited on by any particular waiter/waitress .... but it did seem as if everyone else was getting great service. Nevertheless, SO GOOD and I'll definitely go again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best pizza in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am an east coast guy born and raised, and Spirito's is the best NY style pizza in San Diego -- better than Bronx, URBN, Knockout, Basic, Leucadia, etc., and I have had them all! Spirito's excellent sauce extends to exactly the right place on the delicious dough, there is the perfect amount of mozzarella, not-too-salty and correct amount of pepperoni -- I go there for pizza weekly. In fact, I want to go there right now! Really, everything here is good -- pastas, sauces, meats, cannoli, etc. It is hard to find though -- in the Von's shopping center on El Camino Real across from the Carlsbad Mall. I wish they had a better foot-traffic location, but I guess it's a blessing because the place would be packed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.