We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubio's has come back after a stumble” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubio's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rubio's
2604 El Camino Real, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-434-6298
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 284 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Californian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
California City, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Rubio's has come back after a stumble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been going to Rubio's in Carlsbad for years. A few months ago, we made our usual trip and the food was just not the same. Something had changed and the taste was just not there. We stopped going for a while and then stopped in last week when friends were visiting from out of town and they wanted some of those "great Rubio's fish tacos". We warned them about how the food had "slipped" a bit but went anyway. Well, Rubio's is back now - a great menu, fish tacos are tasting great again. Yay! Now we can continue to enjoy the service and food just as we always have. Thanks Rubio's for recognizing that you were slipping....Although, you might rethink the removing of the senior and military discounts....With all the military around, I think our businesses owe them at least a bit of a discount.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego Area
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Rubio's New Improved Menu IS improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Rubio's has revised the way they prepare their food, and it is a great improvement! The fish tacos are delightful and crisp, unlike recent times when they were not always so. New menu items pop up every time I go, so it's fun to try the new offerings. Taco Tuesday, after 230pm, is an especially good value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wish we had this in Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime I come to California, I HAVE to make a rubio's visit. The first time I tried Rubio's was a few years ago and tried fish and shrimp tacos and I absolutely loved it! It's never a successful California trip without making a rubio's round.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good if you like fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Fish chicken and steak. Good chips and salsa. Good nachos which is what I had. Myself, I am not a fish person, but my husband loves it here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Are you hungry for fish?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A place to sink your teeth into fish tacos. They also have other items of the fish sort, and beef and chicken for those who don't eat seafood. Beer is always fresh and cold and the salsa is good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.