We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubio's New Improved Menu IS improved!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubio's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rubio's
2604 El Camino Real, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-434-6298
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Californian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
San Diego Area
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Rubio's New Improved Menu IS improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Rubio's has revised the way they prepare their food, and it is a great improvement! The fish tacos are delightful and crisp, unlike recent times when they were not always so. New menu items pop up every time I go, so it's fun to try the new offerings. Taco Tuesday, after 230pm, is an especially good value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wish we had this in Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime I come to California, I HAVE to make a rubio's visit. The first time I tried Rubio's was a few years ago and tried fish and shrimp tacos and I absolutely loved it! It's never a successful California trip without making a rubio's round.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good if you like fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Fish chicken and steak. Good chips and salsa. Good nachos which is what I had. Myself, I am not a fish person, but my husband loves it here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Are you hungry for fish?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A place to sink your teeth into fish tacos. They also have other items of the fish sort, and beef and chicken for those who don't eat seafood. Beer is always fresh and cold and the salsa is good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Their street tacos are exceptional. Their tortilla soup is very good too. My husband and I go here when we are in a hurry, but we do not want to sacrifice taste or quality. They are like McDonalds. No matter what Rubio's you go to, you get consistent, excellent fast food for a good price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.