We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubio's New Improved Menu IS improved!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubio's

Rubio's
2604 El Camino Real, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-434-6298
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 267 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
San Diego Area
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rubio's New Improved Menu IS improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Rubio's has revised the way they prepare their food, and it is a great improvement! The fish tacos are delightful and crisp, unlike recent times when they were not always so. New menu items pop up every time I go, so it's fun to try the new offerings. Taco Tuesday, after 230pm, is an especially good value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wish we had this in Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime I come to California, I HAVE to make a rubio's visit. The first time I tried Rubio's was a few years ago and tried fish and shrimp tacos and I absolutely loved it! It's never a successful California trip without making a rubio's round.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good if you like fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Fish chicken and steak. Good chips and salsa. Good nachos which is what I had. Myself, I am not a fish person, but my husband loves it here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Are you hungry for fish?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A place to sink your teeth into fish tacos. They also have other items of the fish sort, and beef and chicken for those who don't eat seafood. Beer is always fresh and cold and the salsa is good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Their street tacos are exceptional. Their tortilla soup is very good too. My husband and I go here when we are in a hurry, but we do not want to sacrifice taste or quality. They are like McDonalds. No matter what Rubio's you go to, you get consistent, excellent fast food for a good price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.