We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with colleagues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Fish House

King's Fish House
5625 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4434
760-431-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Meal with colleagues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

5x tables of 10, they coped really well, chicken and prawns to start and gorgeous fish for main meal we did get a choice which was lovely as usually with big parties you don't. We all sat outside under the canopy and some of us who were travelling where nipping over the carlsbad mall for a shop it that's close.
Would definatley return, it seems like the only place they offered a low fat option too !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    97
    37
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A friend and I had lunch here for the first time a couple of days ago. It was almost noon and already getting busy but we were seated right away. We ate inside because it was a cold, rainy day. The patio looked very large and quite nice. We'll have our meal there next time.

The menu is quite extensive, with a lot of variety, printed daily. They even indicate the origin of the seafood they are offering. But somewhat pricey and there was no nutrition information. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our server, James was efficient and available as well as being personable. We ordered our usual Bloody Mary and he explained their "special" way of making them. We were very explicit that we wanted a no frills, regular well vodka drink (like we always get). And that's what we got - without the price of the frills! Unlike some other restaurants. It was good but not one of the best. We like to enjoy our drink a while before ordering. James brought hot sourdough bread and butter. Very good. He checked on us periodically to see if we were ready to order.

We asked if the calimari was a steak and he said it was tenticles and rings - which was disappointing. Surprised they didn't have it on such an extensive menu. I ordered skewered shrimps and scallops. Sides all look really good and an unusually nice selection. I had garlic mashed potatoes and sauted spinach. Ample servings of everything and very good. In fact I took some home since I'm a very light eater. My friend ordered the grilled catfish with cole slaw and grilled zucchini. The catfish was very tasty (I tried it). She said the zucchini and cole slaw were good too. Slaw was not too much mayonnaise but she prefers it chopped a little more fine. But all were very small portions. Zucchini was only 4 pieces of vertical slices. Fish was only 2 very skimpy pieces.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable meal and we will return. But I don't expect it to replace my favorite seafood restaurant in Oceanside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fish was very good. We read the menu and found many options for wild, not farm raised fish.. The seasonal options were excellent. Not pricey.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

King's is one our all time favs. Oysters are to die for. Have never had a bad dish and the assortment of beer is awesome. Try the Orion from Okinawa...its the Beer of Beers

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I don't eat fish that often when dining out (or at home, for that matter), but when I do, this is a pretty good place to go. Love their Clam Chowder and Mahi Mahi. Serving sometimes take a bit long, so make sure you have good company. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to King's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.