We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Tropical Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Krabi Tropical Beach Resort to your Saves list
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   194/13 Moo 5, Fossil Shell Road, Ao Namao Beach, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sai Thai
4.0 of 5 stars 104 Reviews
adelaide, australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Being new to tripadvisor, you read many of the reviews and realise that everyone has differing opinions. My wife and I (and 5 teenage children) travelled to Ao Nang recently. We booked into a Resort on the main strip and decided it wasn't for us- a bit too touristy. I happened to find an advertisment for Krabi Tropical Beach Resort. Well Buddha was smiling on me this day and the Resort was just what we wanted. It was away from the hustle and bustle of tourist strips (about 8 kms) yet cheap enough to return when we wanted (20 baht by regular taxi). It is a small boutique resort with great spacious rooms but the pool and dining location was fantastic. It is right on the beach front with views out to the islands which you also enjoy whilst relaxing in the pool. There is lots of local activity on the waterfront with longtail boats travelling to the islands, the tide moving in and out and the crabs busy about their daily chores. Do you think I was relaxed? The staff are so helpful and the food was fantastic. The chef made me a dish one night which was a red curry chicken dish - well I was hooked. I ordered that dish every night of our stay. The chef even let me watch her cook the dish and Phad Thai. The resort truly catered for our family better than I could have hoped for. The owner Stefan was a great host and we enjoyed the late night drinks including the cocktails. The best part was that I thought the bill would destroy me financially - how wrong was I. Make your own mind up but we have travelled to several Asian countries and this would be up there as one of our favourite accommodation sites. You don't have to alway spend top dollar to find a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

My wife & I stayed at the Krabi Tropical Beach Resort for Xmas 2008 & New Year 2009.

We had a large room on the first floor overlooking the pool & the sea. The hotel is about 15 minutes by car outside of Krabi, but plenty of local transport stopping at the "door" ensured this was not a problem.

This is a "family" run hotel & we enjoyed the peace & quite, the children & the family dog.

And great value!!! Very clean. And friendly & helpful staff. Fully recommend. Note this is not a luxury hotel. But a very high standard budget accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

This was an okay hotel. Rooms are really nice-- comfortable beds, very clean and large. Nice balconies. It is not a great location. 10 minute walk to nice beach. Beach near the hotel is polluted and smelly at times. Food at restaurant is overpriced and terrible. Breakfast buffet is extensive but not fabulous. Not sure I love Railay either... It is quite crowded and generally polluted. Tip-- cheap food is just a walk down the beach, half price of food at hotel. Pool is small with very limited chairs. Staff was nice enough, but not very accommodating when we didn't have hot water for two days. They apologized, but they should have discounted our room! Internet is also VERY expensive.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

On the surface it looks like the Krabi Tropical Beach Resort has everything going for it but scratch the surface and you find that it is really superficial and chaos. The pool was a god-send for my 4-year old son and I was relieved that it was the sort of place people wouldn't mind noisey children but everything about the place is so haphazard and relaxed to the point of being unprofessional. I had to answer the telephone at reception because there was either no one there and after 9 days they still couldn't figure out how to transfer calls to my room. The rooms are small and the "superior mountain view" I had required binoculars to see the mountains! It was on the main road and all you could see was dust. You have to like dogs, there is a very big one mooching around and kids as the owners children treat the place like their private playground. Its a hike to Ao Nang and taxis, tuk-tuks and other transport are so random tat it can be very frustrating getting there and you have to go to twon because there is NOTHING around this place. Luckily the cook is AMAZING, had it not been for her we would have left. There is a long-tail boat pier nearby but you have to walk past piles of rubbish along the beach. You can't sit or swim by the beach either because it is a mangrove swap, pretty at high tide but thats about it. Its it had been a third or even half the price I wouldn't have complained but for Bt3,600 ++ its just not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We managed to negotiate the price of a superior room down to 1,150 Baht from 1,600 which was in the high season. However when we got to the hotel we were upgraded to a deluxe sea-view room for free which was a bonus as the rooms are worth 3,200 Baht. So bear this in mind when reading the review!

Truth be told, the correct price for one of these rooms was around what we paid. The main entrance was more suited to a hostel rather than a hotel. The deluxe room was a reasonable size (the superior rooms are quite tiny in comparison) and was reasonably clean. The rooms come with air con and cable TV, however there are only 2 English channels. The rooms are rather sterile and the bed linen although clean, looked really old with lots of stains. The towels that you are provided with are pretty threadbare, lots of stains and holes. You'd think that at 3,200 Baht you'd get a stainfree, hole-less towel and linen! Also included in the price is breakfast, internet and a daily one way transfer to Ao Nang. When we were there, the owner constantly hogged the internet and pumped out cheesy German pop - come on, that machine is for your guests!

The location is not that great. It's pretty distant from everything; with no other restaurants in the neighbourhood. You can get to Railay beach by boat but would need a taxi to get anywhere else and they are pretty pricey. The beach at the hotel is really dirty and unsuitable for swimming in or sun bathing at. Watch out for the glass bottles! The pool is pretty small and could accommodate two swimmers at a time. There's a tiny jacuzzi that seats four as well. There were 6 sun beds between 15 rooms!

The staff at the hotel were fantastic and that's probably why this hotel is still surviving. Hope the owner realises this! Happy to arrange tours, bus transfers, etc. The restaurant was amazing. They really have a talented chef and the food, whether european or asian was delicious. Even though there were no restaurants around, we didn't mind eating here every night of our stay. Breakfasts in the morning are buffet and there's a decent spread...crawling with ants. Two things we did not like at the restaurant were - there are hard plastic tables and chairs to sit at (and you're paying how much?) and the dog will try and jump on to your food. Oh, one more thing, the owner's kid likes to run around screaming his head off and attacking everything in sight with his toys...not very peaceful!

Had it not been for the great food, great service and the price that we had paid; we would have checked out the next day! We'd recommend this place only if you can get a really good price for it i.e. 1150 or less!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

This was a beautiful hotel, very clean, and wonderful staff. Loved having the view of the water while dining. Breakfast was your typical eggs and bacon but was good! They have an extensive dinner menu which we discovered later that was delicious! I really liked the quiet and remoteness of this beach location because it wasn't packed with loud tourists, however it was a tad annoying getting anywhere when we did decide to leave and explore. Tuk Tuks and taxis don't really flourish here so we would have to take the hotel's car service which was about 400 baht to get to Krabi Town. (It only cost us 150-200 baht to get back with a tuk tuk or taxi) They did have a complimentary shuttle that went to the touristy area of Ao Nang but it only ran once a day. You could rent the scooters I guess, but personally, they scare the crap out of me. :) Regardless of the transportation issue, I still LOVED this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Oh and this is going to sound super dorky but if you like to poke around in tide pools, they have a good one off to the left of the hotel's beach where the trees are in the water, but its kinda rocky. We brought water shoes/aqua sock thingies and had a blast taking full advantage of the super low tide in the afternoons. hehe

And if you are in the area, make sure to stop by the night market in Krabi Town to eat. All the vendors are set up there and make everything fresh and the food is fantastic! It generally starts around 4 and goes into the night.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Of the six different resorts/hotels we stayed at during our 2.5 weeks in Thailand, this was the only one we weren't thrilled with. The main problem was the chemical-ly smell in the room -- the room always smelled of too much room deodorizer and gave us headaches each day.

Otherwise, the room was very clean and we were happy to have an HBO channel to fall asleep to each night. The staff was also very helpful and courteous -- very nice people. And the breakfast was standard, but good.

Regarding the location, it's fairly far from the main nightlife and shopping areas, so you'll likely need to rent a scooter if you want to get around town (which is cheap and easy enough to do, just something to keep in mind).

  • Liked — Staff, Internet access in lobby, HBO
  • Disliked — Chemical room smell, location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krabi Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tropical Beach Resort

Address: 194/13 Moo 5, Fossil Shell Road, Ao Namao Beach, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Sai Thai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sai Thai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Quiet and secluded -for those who like to stay away from the hustle and bustle , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort offers the perfect time for relaxation. "Opened in 2006 , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort is one of the few resorts with direct BEACH ACCESS and Sea View in the area around Ao Nang and Ao Namao. It offers the perfect location to relax and to spend a memorable time in Krabi. Our resort is located in a private and quiet surrounding, sharing this beach with just a handful of small resort. We only offer fifteen rooms, ensuring privacy for those who like it quiet and far away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang. Hence our small resort suits young families as well as couples and friends of nature. Entertainment and shopping are available at the touristy Ao Nang Beach (4 km by shuttle bus or taxi). Ao Namao Beach is just at our doorstep, providing a breathtaking view over the surrounding islands and famous rock formations.CHICKEN ISLAND, PODA, the SANDBANKS and RAILAY are reachable within minutes by boats. As this is NOT A TYPICAL SWIMMING BEACH, you can relax in our swimming pool and beach front Jacuzzi during low tide and watch your children play in the playground, kids pool or at the beach. Furthermore, enjoy our FREE of CHARGE facilities and services, such as kayaks, mountain bikes, Wifi access and shuttle service to Ao Nang. Local busses depart every fifteen minutes. Easily book tours and trips at reasonable rate at our tour desk. There is a lot to do here, from horseback and elephant riding, rock climbing, island hopping, diving, adventurous ATV rides and rafting to pampering massages and cooking courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Krabi Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Tropical Beach Hotel Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Tropical Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.