We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pretty, lovely breakfast spot but "lost" our last nigh's reservation.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Tropical Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Krabi Tropical Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   194/13 Moo 5, Fossil Shell Road, Ao Namao Beach, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sai Thai
Cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet, pretty, lovely breakfast spot but "lost" our last nigh's reservation.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Good hotel for privacy and quiet. Beautiful view from the central terrace where we lounged and took our breakfast. Room and food was decent. Pool was attractive. But what soured things for us is that they managed to "loose" the last day of our reservation and we had to move to another place which was not nearly as nice. The beach is not swimmable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful hotel great staff, had a great time and would recommend this hotel if u want privacy,,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and booked and prepaid for the stay on Expedia. We had stayed there before, about 3 years ago, and stayed there off and on over the course of several weeks, so we were repeat customers. However, when we were checking in, they demanded an additional 30% deposit from us, for mini bar and other possible expenses, even though we had prepaid the entire stay. We have been traveling in Thailand for 1 month, not to mention many travels all over the world, and we have never been asked for such a deposit! Especially since our entire stay had been prepaid. But they insisted, and told us that the card would not be charged, they just need to swipe the card. Even though we were really offended, we complied, just to stop the argument. The day before we checked out, I looked at our online banking, and saw that the charge did go thru, so when were were checking out, we demanded a refund. They refused to give us a refund, claiming that they did not put the charge thru. I went online to our bank account, and showed them the amount that showed up as a debit on my computer, they could see that it was clearly a charge from that hotel on the check in date. Still, they argued with us and refused to grant a refund. We wasted an hour over this, and finally, I just made a call to our bank, and the bank removed the charge as a fraudulent charge. As a result of this experience, we will NEVER return there again. We are appalled at the shabby treatment that we got from them, especially since we were repeat customers. There are so many hotel options, we would definitely go elsewhere in the future. Also, you should be aware that the beach is really disgusting -- the tide goes out and it is all rocks and mud. Also, the hotel is very far from anything -- it is located by itself in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in december. The name of place is misleading as not a beach resort as can't use beach and accommodation is like a normal hotel block rather than traditional Thai villas/houses. Room basic but clean but overlooked road so worth booking sea view room. Thai food Was excellent- some of best we had.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a small family run hotel and is lovely. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and will sort out trips and transfers for you. The rooms are large and lovely and MOST have wifi. I say this because we booked specifically to use the wifi connection as I needed to take a skype call for business purposes. The connection in our room was not good enough but the staff did find me an office I could take the call in. The wifi in the public areas is fine. The swimming pool is lovely and the food is tasty and cheap. The beach is very nice, although as said in other reviews, you can not swim in the sea. Also, you are about 4km outside Ao nang town so a little isolated but the hotel runs two free buses a day and will take you in anytime other than this that you wish, for a reasonable fee. There are also longtail boats just down the beach to take you to Ao Nang or Railay. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Staff helpful, location awful, room run down and not what I'd booked. Also lots of bugs.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a lovely hotel and could be just what you are looking for, but read all the reviews here to check it matches the kind of stay you want.
This hotel is small (17 rooms) with a very pretty terrace with great views and elegant boutique style swimming pool with jacuzzi and fountains. It is family run with loving care and the food is very good indeed. Its small size, unassuming appearance from the road and modest reception make it feel more like a guesthouse than a resort hotel but we liked that.
Most of the other guests were international couples. We are a family with 2 kids aged 7 and 4. We live in Bangkok and came for 9 days as a break because of flood risk. This meant it wasn't exactly a holiday and we had work / homework to do. We had a family apartment which consists of a living room with kitchen area then a big bedroom with 2 Kingsize beds. This actually worked out great for us. The room opens onto the pool and faces the sea, as do most rooms.
This hotel is located on a beach and gives fantastic panoramic views but as other reviewers have said it isn't really the sort of beach you hang out on. I wouldn't say the beach was dirty, just a bit functional with the wrong kind of sand. The hotel is not in the middle of other tourist stuff but it is accessible. You can walk for about 10 minutes to the pier and catch a longtail boat to Railay Bay which we did several times and enjoyed. There didn't seem to be a ticket system for boats there so we would hook up with another couple of expats and pay about 400baht for a boat to East Railay (10 mins). There are buses outside the hotel to Ao Nang (10 mins) or the hotel has a shuttle at 1pm and 5pm. However we hired a car for the time we were there and really enjoyed exploring beaches up the coast and driving round the province a little bit.
The food at this hotel is the best thing about it. For breakfast you have quite a lot of choice and they cook it fresh for you - beautiful omelettes or fried rice etc. You get a lot of different things for breakfast including gorgeous homemade brownies, and great coffee. The menu for lunch and dinner was varied with both Thai and Western. They do Italian food well with homemade pesto, carbonara etc. Naturally the Thai food was excellent and my husband reckons they do the best Phad Thai he has ever had. Even if you just order a tuna sandwich it will be a superior one. The prices are reasonable too. My kids were very happy alternating between burgers, sandwiches, pasta, tomato soup etc. The wine was quite drinkable and the beer was always cold. We did eat out a few times but nothing compared to this.
We found the staff here really lovely and friendly. Most speak good English. It is true that there are some staff members without good English but they are probably the cook or the maintenance man etc. It is a little place with all hands on deck so during the day if you approach someone they may need to go and get one of the strong English speakers who is probably busy cleaning a room. We did have an issue getting our room cleaned at one point (partly our fault as we were in it more than your typical guest) but when I spoke to the management it was all sorted out from that point onwards.
The pool in particular is beautifully maintained. A couple of times I saw someone doing routine testing of the water with a kit which I haven't seen in Thailand before! I don't think this is a typical place for kids but ours were extremely happy there and there is a zip slide and a little playground. A previous reviewer mentioned lots of insects and it is true you need your repellent in the evenings. But you feel you are in a beautiful spot of nature with butterflies, birds etc to see.
If you are looking for a base while you explore the area this hotel is prefect. Likewise if you want a few days to relax, sit on the terrace or by the pool and enjoy great food this is the place. I would love to be there in a big group of friends - it would feel like your own villa. If you are looking for somewhere happening to base yourself for a week on the beach in walking distance of bars and other cafes and to make friends this is probably not the place - Ao Nang Villa or Railay Resort and Spa are both on great beaches and are nice places but you will pay 50% for one room. And the food won't be as good!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krabi Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tropical Beach Resort

Address: 194/13 Moo 5, Fossil Shell Road, Ao Namao Beach, Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Sai Thai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sai Thai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Quiet and secluded -for those who like to stay away from the hustle and bustle , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort offers the perfect time for relaxation. "Opened in 2006 , Krabi Tropical Beach Resort is one of the few resorts with direct BEACH ACCESS and Sea View in the area around Ao Nang and Ao Namao. It offers the perfect location to relax and to spend a memorable time in Krabi. Our resort is located in a private and quiet surrounding, sharing this beach with just a handful of small resort. We only offer fifteen rooms, ensuring privacy for those who like it quiet and far away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang. Hence our small resort suits young families as well as couples and friends of nature. Entertainment and shopping are available at the touristy Ao Nang Beach (4 km by shuttle bus or taxi). Ao Namao Beach is just at our doorstep, providing a breathtaking view over the surrounding islands and famous rock formations.CHICKEN ISLAND, PODA, the SANDBANKS and RAILAY are reachable within minutes by boats. As this is NOT A TYPICAL SWIMMING BEACH, you can relax in our swimming pool and beach front Jacuzzi during low tide and watch your children play in the playground, kids pool or at the beach. Furthermore, enjoy our FREE of CHARGE facilities and services, such as kayaks, mountain bikes, Wifi access and shuttle service to Ao Nang. Local busses depart every fifteen minutes. Easily book tours and trips at reasonable rate at our tour desk. There is a lot to do here, from horseback and elephant riding, rock climbing, island hopping, diving, adventurous ATV rides and rafting to pampering massages and cooking courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Krabi Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Tropical Beach Hotel Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Tropical Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.