We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn of Happiness

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dawn of Happiness to your Saves list
Dawn of Happiness
23 Moo 5, Ao Nam Mao Beach | 81000 Krabi (Close to Fossil Beach), Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sai Thai
Devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peaceful hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We had a lovely three night stay, the bungalows which were right on the beach were clean with fan and shower. There was a great little restaurant and the food was really good. looking forward to our next visit. The Hudsons

Stayed January 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We spent 4D3N in Dawn of Happiness, taking the sea front room with air-cond (1300 bht per night) Though facing the sea, the windows of our room were never opened as there are chair and table and swings just in front of the room and people are hanging around there most of the time. Luckily for the air cond which had saved us from mosquitoes bites at night as I heard the ladies next door made a complaint with red dots all over their limbs and they checked out soon after that.

Food is great but you have to give it a few try to adjust the flavor to your liking. For me, I love extremely spicy Thai food but what they served the first time felt like it was a toned-down version of Thai food for Westerners. But after I asked for the local taste, they immediately fulfilled my wish! I got the most spicy food I was looking for! And I love the bread!!! A must-try.

I especially enjoyed the horse riding session in the evening watching the sunset. 700bht per hour is all worth the money!

First down side for staying at Ao Nammao was the transportation, which I find "not expensive but not cheap either". One taxi trip to Ao Nang (7km away) cost 300 bht when booked through the staff and One trip to airport is 600 bht. Well, I guess I have to make other arrangement with the transport next time if I were to go there again.

Secondly, we only found out on our last day there that breakfast was not included. We did ask about it during our first meal, but it seems like there was a miscommunication with the staff who is, maybe, not so affluent in English.

Thirdly, the room and toilet were not cleaned everyday during our stay. They only made up the bed and provided fresh towels. They also did not remove the used towels. So by the third day, it was getting dirty with sand and mud.

Lastly, the call-in massage service is not worth trying although it was cheap. You pay what you get, but I never expect to pay for a swollen toe and sprained back.

All in all, it was a fair price for a decent place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Best resort where we stayed. Especially the food, great Thai dishes. Also the service, we felt like family, when we checked out, all came, also the kitchen staff.
Very quite at night, but this was exactly what we were looking for.
Beach is ok, but there are better for swimming. Railey is quite close, just 10min walk & 10 in boat, 60 Baht,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Dawn of Happiness for 3 nights. We loved our bungalow (#1), which was right on the beach, where we could wake up every morning to a view of the lapping water, the surrounding mountains and fishing boats. There are also little swings and hammocks outside to relax in. During our stay, we literally had the resort to ourselves for the first few days. And even on our last day, there were maybe two other couples there.

The staff at the Dawn were great! They helped us arrange most of our activities - we booked the 4 island long tail boat tour to Hong Islands and booked us a couples oil massage, which we enjoyed in the relaxation hut outside our room. You really can't beat an hour long massage that costs only 350 bht/person.

The food was delicious and we were often stuffed at the end of each meal. We felt so relaxed there. It's about a 5 min drive from the Ao Nang, which is not bad at all considering you won't have to deal with running into tourists all the time if you stayed in a hotel in Ao Nang.

The only gripe we do have, and it's a minor one, is that when we'd return to our room after being out, we noticed that there were termite shavings on our bed spread. We'd wipe them off the bed, but within a few minutes, we'd see more. They were a little bothersome, but not enough to ruin our trip. An additional thing to note: there is no hot water in the bathroom but in the tropical heat, it's really quite refreshing anyway.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

My mother, sister and I were looking for a getaway in Krabi where we could relax without too many people around, and we found a paradise that surpassed our expectations in Dawn of Happiness. We stayed in a beautiful bungalow right on the beach, with a wonderful view across to Phi Phi, Chicken Island, etc. and the most amazing sunsets. Some people have written that the beach is not recommended for swimming, but we found it just fine. Great for long walks as well!
The most impressive thing about Dawn is indeed the staff, as others have written. We felt so welcomed and at home here, that we were sorry we were only able to stay 2 nights. The owner, Saa, cooked the best food we had on our entire SE Asia trip, and we were treated to some unexpected goodies as well. We spent some time getting to know Bow, one of her staff, who went out of his way to accommodate us and we honestly felt like family. I definitely plan on returning to Dawn, but will plan for a longer stay. You won't want to leave either, I'm sure of it!
I had a hard time finding contact info for Dawn, but they now have a website you can visit at (--) (doesn't show up when I Google, so I hope it's ok to post here).

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Loved this place, great food (bake their own bread), clean rooms and premises, stunning views and so relaxing. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to travellers that are after the real Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Dawn of Happiness is an authentic, Thai-run bungalow complex - nothing fancy or luxurious but - depending on what you're looking for - a great find. The beach comes right to your doorstep at high tide (see pictures). At low tide, the view is quite different but provides a good beach to walk along. It's not recommended for swimming as it's pretty rocky. You can take a longtail boat from Ao Nam Mao (10 min walk) to East Railay and from there it's a short walk through resort complexes to West Railay. Be forewarned - in low season, boats don't go without 6 people and wait until there are enough people - but if you need to, you can just pay for the extra places to get on your way (I think the fare was ca 60 THB per person). The restaurant at Dawn of Happiness serves delicious, authentic Thai dishes at very reasonable prices. Keep in mind, you are not in the tourist center here - and there are not many options. For us, that was great but again it depends on what you're looking for. Saa, the owner, is great. As it rained during our stay (after math of cyclone Nargis) we also took up her suggestion of Thai Cooking Classes with Mrs. Ya.

  • Liked — Great food, Location right by the sea
  • Disliked — Sea at low tide
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dawn of Happiness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawn of Happiness

Address: 23 Moo 5, Ao Nam Mao Beach | 81000 Krabi (Close to Fossil Beach), Sai Thai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Sai Thai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sai Thai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fan Room : 500,- Baht/night (May to September) 800,-Baht/night (October to April) Air con Room : 800,- Baht /night (May to September) 1000,- Baht/night (October-November/February-April) 1200,-/night (December-January) A place to rest, not touristy, as you would imagine to be a peaceful holiday on a private beach. There are only a few places in Thailand like this. Highly recommended, for people who want to enjoy the tranquility. The bungalows are simple but cozy. They are directly on the beach ( Ao Nam Mao beach). In your room you will find : A real bed, a fan, a table and a chair to write a postcard, a wardrobe, a toilet with warm water and a small terrace where you can hang your hammock and enjoy the sea breeze. There is a restaurant, beach terrace and a community pavilion. We have own WIFI and it is very good signal. Ao Nam Mao is a quiet area of Krabi with many attractions. In the neighborhood are a shell cemetery (known as a fossil beach) or a traditional fishing village "Ban Lampoo" where you get to know the lifestyle of locals. A riding with trained horses is our neighbor. You can ride along the beach or go swimming with the horses. For children is also something there .. A "fun park" (Adventure Park) where the kids or even adults climb into the trees or behave a time like Tarzan. From us you can walk to Ao Nammao where they can go by boat to Railey beach or Tonsai beach. The public bus from Krabi town or from Ao Nang beach stop directly in front of the resort. From the airport you can get a taxi to join us, just tell them "Dawn of Happiness" Resort, Ao Nam Mao beach (close to Fossil beach) and the taxi will bring you here (about 600 bht). We offer a pick up service as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dawn of Happiness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawn Of Happiness Ao Nammao Hotel Krabi Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawn of Happiness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.