We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind shop - I drove 20 miles to get some donuts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of V.G. Donut & Bakery

V.G. Donut & Bakery
106 Aberdeen Drive, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007 (Formerly V G Donuts & Bakery)
760-753-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Donuts
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“One of a kind shop - I drove 20 miles to get some donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This shop is located very close to the beach and is open daily from 5 to 9 pm. It reminds me on any Surfer movie - when they have surfer hang out place - shop or bar :) This is the place where locals hanging out and tourist are enjoying the freshly baked donuts. very good place with great product.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While visiting Cardiff by the Sea we had the opportunity to have a couple of VG's donuts, I had the raspberry with cream cheese, Yum! so good I could have eaten two. My husband tried the cinnamon roll, he said it was delicious too. I had read that VG's was famous and this is a must try. Not being donut experts we can't say if they are better than most but those we tried were great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Prompt service with a smile. Adequate variety of donuts. The cinnamon rolls were quite tasty, with a crunchy outside and moist, sticky inside. Coconut flake donut also very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best donuts ever! And a lot of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This family run donut shop has been around forever. The blueberry buttermilk donuts are to die for but all of them are good and fresh. They also have an impressive selection of breads, cookies, pastries, cakes and cupcakes. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rare find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delightful glazed donuts! Best ever. We love an authentic bakery and VGs is it! We had a variety of donuts and pastries which were all delicious. The warm glazed donut and guava cream cheese Danish were outstanding. Dine-in area is small and cozy. More seating available outside. Don't miss if you like donuts:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V.G. Donut & Bakery also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to V.G. Donut & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage V.G. Donut & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.