We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for family overflow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Villa Cardiff Drive, Cardiff by the Sea, CA 92007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for family overflow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over thanksgiving because there wasn't enough room at family's house for all of the out of town guests. It was clean, offered a decent breakfast and has a very small gym ( 2 treadmills and a reclining bike). The staff was very accommodating, rooms were clean, and is close to where we needed to be. Average hotel, nothing spectacular. Felt safe and very close to the 5. Definitely not a "getaway", but a decent place to sleep.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about our hotel. We are happy you had a nice stay at our hotel, but are sorry your stay was only "average." I am very pleased our staff was able to take good care of you during your Thanksgiving Holiday. We will make sure that the next time you stay with us, we make it a spectacular stay! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
61
29
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I needed a place to stay during my trip to visit friends in Cardiff this Thanksgiving week. I found this hotel and I am very happy that I did! When I checked in I was greeted by a warm welcome from Edilie. When I thought I had left my wallet at my last stop in LA, I was panicked. Much to my surprise both Edilie, and her Manager, Andrew were terrific and very understanding. I was checked in without any problems (I had made the reservation earlier) and luckily found my wallet in my car. Both Edilie and Andy were so helpful and welcoming. The hotel is very near so many things including the beach and has a nice lobby and breakfast area. The room itself is large, clean and lovely. Holly, who works the front desk in the evening, continued to extend my positive review and experience at this hotel. I would come back again when I am down this way and have recommended the hotel to my friends in who live nearby for their other visitors from out of town.

EMK

Room Tip: Away from the highway is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so happy you had an amazing experience with us this Thanksgiving week. Thank you for the individual praise as well. Our staff takes great care in making sure that we can provide outstanding service, especially in a time of urgency. We are so pleased you enjoyed the room and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent value for money and hotel well located for beach and shopping. Greeted well on arrival and found the decor really good as I reckon the hotel was recently refurbished? Comfy bed and spacious room. The excellent breakfast and free wifi were an added bonus to our 3 night stak.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so pleased you had an outstanding stay with us this November. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take great pride in maintaining the cleanliness and quality of our hotel, and we are very happy you noticed this during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week during a vacation, and don't have many complaints at all. You get what you pay for, and for the about $55/night I paid, I am satisfied. Its not the Ritz, but it is clean, and the staff is friendly. Breakfast isn't too bad either, although I wish some of the food was not so leathery from sitting under lamps while people peruse. Its about a mile to the shore, a very quick drive down Birmingham road and you are literally there in a wink. The proximity to Encinitas and downtown is perfect and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our hotel. It is great that you choose to stay at our hotel during your time in Encinitas. As you mentioned, we may not be the Ritz, but we take great pride in providing excellent service and accommodations for our valued guests. We are sorry our breakfast did not meet your expectations, but we hope to make sure you have a better experience the next time you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place had been highly recommended by a friend. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the staff were very courteous and professional. They were so nice, always greeting us with a smile. We were impressed by their breakfast menu and service. We enjoyed the room. It was clean, quiet and spacioust. We felt very comfortable. For sure, we will pass on the good word about this hotel and come back whenever we think about coming down to San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in making sure we can create an enjoyable, unique experience for our guests, and I am very pleased this occurred during your stay. I am also pleased you picked our hotel based on the wonderful review from your friend. We hope you can spread the word as well! We look forward to taking care of you again in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The staff is prompt, professional, patient, kind and accommodating. It is clear that they all get along well and work together as a team. The room was spotless and quiet. The service and cleanliness was better than at many 5-star hotels at which I have stayed. The hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 5, as well as less than a 5-minute drive to the beach, fabulous shops, and a great variety of restaurants. I am looking forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Pet-friendly rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful praise. I am very happy you had an outstanding stay at our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in their work, and they will be very happy to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I chose to stay here while on a road trip because it was so convenient and close to interstate 5. There are 3 gas stations surrounding the hotel just walking distance away. This is a perfect spot for travelers passing through, or for anyone visiting the area.
As I walked into the hotel, I could tell immediately that it was newly renovated. Everything looked new and the lobby had that "new building smell." The girl and the front desk was friendly and very helpful as well.
The first thing I noticed when I entered my room was how spacious it was. The King size bed was extremely comfortable and everything was new and spotless. There was a living area with a large couch that had a pullout bed. It was a little odd to see such a big room with such a small bathroom though. I was happy to see that despite the lack in size of the bathroom, the water pressure was solid.
Next door to the hotel is an awesome taco shop that is a must! Just walk out the lobby doors and and experience the best tacos the area! no joke.
Holiday Inn Express also offers free breakfast which was average but I can't complain about free food.
Overall, I think this is a very good hotel and would recommend it. If I were to visit Encinitas or the Carlsbad area, this would be my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am very happy you had a comfortable experience during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable for us. I am very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and the water pressure in the shower, as these things are very important when it comes to comfort. The taco shop next to the hotel is outstanding and we are glad you had a chance to enjoy their menu. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Encinitas. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Drive, Cardiff by the Sea, CA 92007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Cardiff by the Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.