We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Villa Cardiff Drive, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great location if you want to be close to beaches, activities and the freeway. The room was clean and comfortable and overall a good bargain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    59
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
65
30
24
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Thanks so very much to all the folks at this facility. They are so very helpful and always willing to accomodate us when we visit. We own a home in the SD area and this is where we always stay. Less than a mile from the beach, quiet and clean.
The taco stand next door is second to none!!!
I truly appreciate the kind care this hidden hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the back, no view, but extremely quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Visited with family in early June. Hotel is only 1 mile from the beach in Cardiff by the sea and about half the price you would pay for a beach front hotel.. Excellent breakfans included in the price of the hotel. Right next door to a mini mart with the best tacos in the area. This is a great reasonable place to stay and would recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just wanted to provide an acolade to Marcel Mansour, one of the "desk clerks" at this hotel. He was exceptionally helpful, professional, friendly, and added a really positive aspect to our stay. All the staff and the facility were fine, but Marcel stood out as exceptional and I really hope those in management at this facilty will recognize the prize they have in him.

Gary Thrailkill

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The meeting room works great for small, quiet meetings. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. At first I was worried that the ice machine was right outside the door, but with the door closed it's sound proof. I am looking forward to holding many additional meetings there throughout the rest of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The staff here makes you feel right at home. Providing excellant customer service is the key that seperates one hotel from another. We have stayed here many times and the service is always exceptional. The rooms are extremely clean and have very very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My parents have returned back to the bay area, but I wanted to put in another good word of thanks to the entire Holiday Inn Express team who provided my parents such exceptional care while my mother recovered here in San Diego (see review of 3/2/12 “Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Service!!!”).

A special thanks to Andrew, the manager who was so personable and thoughtful in watching over our parents and Javier, the cook and breakfast room-greeter. Each morning Javier so thoughtfully made my father up a plate of food, choosing the food my dad enjoys, and took it to his table so that my dad, who has difficulty walking, did not have to negotiate the crowded breakfast area. He would then make up a second plate and bring it to my mother in her room. Amazing!!

We are so grateful for their time, care and attention to all the details. We would give this establishment a dozen stars if it were possible. A giant thank you to the entire Holiday Inn Express team!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Drive, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.