We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden...Found!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Taco

Bull Taco
Cardiff State Beach Campground, 2050 S Coast Hwy 101, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007
760-635-3595
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Carlsbad, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden...Found!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

WOW! Fresh mexican food served outside above a bluff over the ocean with views to La Jolla. Get there early in the evening so they don't run out of the fish. Had surf and turf burrito (shrimp & carne asada). Have lived nearby for almost 2 decades...didn't know a restaurant was inside a state beach campground!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Always well prepared, every time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You can never go wrong choosing a menu item at Bull Taco. Our volunteer group makes the regular stop for lunch at Bull Taco a necessary requirement. The outdoor restaurant is located inside the campground of Cardiff State Beach, high up on the bluffs overlooking the sea. Talk about dining at a place with a fabulous view ! And that is merely an extra incentive when you are munching on something delicious. My personal favorite is one of their magnificent breakfast burritos.

Service is always delivered with a smile and I have yet to experience a frown from anyone on the staff.

Excellent quality control and the insistence on the freshest ingredients available are hallmarks of this fine establishment. Bon appétit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bull Taco is amazing. Great seating right on the bluff. The food is all time!! They even have some specialty items. I recommend trying the John Wayne. Great spot to eat and enjoy beautiful southern california beach

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tacos with ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Bull taco is located in the beachside camping park. High on a bluff with outside seating. I had the best shrimp taco. Price was just under $4.00. Service was quick and friendly. Order at window and listen for your name. Dogs are welcome. Beautiful ocean view. The menu also offers burritos and many other items. The burritos are very large and tasty. My husband informed me.
I would recommend this restaurant. We will be back later this year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This stand is in the San Elijo State Campground. If you are not camping there you have to park on street and walk in. It has seating overlooking the ocean with a great view. I had a carne asada burrito and it was OK, but not as good as other places in the area. Also the soda machine didn't work and they gave me a can of Coke for my $2 for soda. Overall, a nice place to hang and relax.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull Taco also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Bull Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.