We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Vegetarian; Huge portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dharma's Restaurant

Dharma's Restaurant
4250 Capitola Rd, Capitola, CA 95010-3538
831-462-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Capitola
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegetarian; Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stopped here on the start of a birthday weekend trip. We were extremely impressed by the huge size of the menu and the vast variety of options. Our dishes were excellent. Portion sizes were huge and we wished we had split. All of the vegetables were fresh and well seasoned. Will definitely come back if we are in the area again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Made our annual trip to Dharma's and this time enjoyed the pesto scramble for breakfast. If you didn't better, you'd swear that the tofu was really scrambled eggs. The dish is WAY too rich for one person; be prepared to share!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've been here a few times and have always liked the food. We keep forgetting that the portion sizes are rather large - the small portion is plenty for one.

My wife is gluten-free and having so many options (and a separate gluten-free menu) is a godsend.

The food feels fresh and healthy, but I wouldn't say its the best tasting food around. I would definitely recommend the place (especially for gluten-free folks or vegetarians).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Bland at Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I didn't find much to like about Dharma's at lunch today. The menu is quite long, but the food is uninspired and pretty expensive for what you get. I had the grilled cheese on wheat which comes with salad and a few tortilla chips. The cheese was tasteless, the salad veggies were fresh and tasty, but I am not accustomed to the kitchen choosing a dressing for me and plopping it on the salad.

The décor is circa 1970, there is no table service so you order at a counter, gather up your tools and napkin like McDonalds, and wait for them to call you to pick up your food. We were a group of six and everybody got their food at different times, as much as 15 minutes apart! Then you must clear your own table by carrying your glass serving dishes to another counter where there were dish pans overflowing with used dishes and leftover food. I saw no staff clean any table during the hour we were there so, not surprisingly, our table was not clean. It's vegetarian fast food without the strict cleanliness policies of big fast food chains.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii, USA
1 review
“Best Buy. Delicious Vegan Food, pleasant surroundings, and enormous portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Casual. All I can say is Wow! This restaurant was a find! Vegans and vegetarians rarely have this wonderful source. The delicious healthy food was right up our alley. We ended up eating there a lot. One portion is two portions! We had lots of soups, salads and tofu dishes, and also always other bean dishes,usually hard to find, all made in interesting ways. We liked the casual ambiance and noticed there were many good sized dinasours all around for children to play with while there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dharma's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dharma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dharma's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.