We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it! Would go back in a second” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitola Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capitola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capitola Hotel
210 Esplanade, Capitola, CA 95010   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Capitola
sacramento
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“loved it! Would go back in a second”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Perfect location. Across the street from all of the restaurants, bars and beach. Walking distance to everything in town. Very cute and clean rooms. Local people were very friendly and loved being in such a quaint town. Checked in after hours and it was very easy. Location very easy to find and premium parking! Zeldas has great local nightlife, and good breakfast. Bay bar was fun on Fri night . Margaritaville has good happy hour and good location. Wharf house has an excellent breakfast on the weekends. Nice walk and great location! Would highly recommend staying at the Capitola Hotel !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

The hotel is in the heart of Capitola. It was very clean, new and cute. The good AND bad thing about this hotel is that it's across the street from restaurants. It was very noisy at night because of the music and kareoke that lasted until 11:15. It's not a good sign when they provide earplugs on the nightstand!! Earplugs do not block the pounding beat.

I told my husband that I bet the trashman comes by at 6:00 a.m.
I was wrong...it was 6:30, followed by the street cleaner.

It was great tho, in the morning to just walk out your door and go get coffee and sit on the benches looking out at the ocean.

If you sleep like a rock, this is a great little place. We stayed in the biggest room and it was a nice size. The other rooms looked very small.

  • Liked — The location was across the street from the beach. The room was very clean and comfy.
  • Disliked — The pounding music and the windows looked out onto a wall.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

This hotel is so charming. Yes, the rooms are small (better to cuddle up in). When we were there, some major construction was going on in the street in front. But with this much charm, who cares? We didn't. This place is a Capitola icon. I cannot say it enough -- CHARMING. We stayed in the Aruba Room. CHARMING. My husband and I live in the Midwest and travel to CA every 18 months or so. This is where we stay. CHARMING. You won't be sorry. Unless you prefer the Marriott/same kind of room/boring lodging. We were also very happy with our bill. Can't wait to get back. And Zelda's is right across the street.

  • Liked — oozes charm
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Capitola is one of my favorite places to visit. Wanting to stay at a place in the village and close to the Shadowbrook restaurant, our choices were limited. I was hesitant about staying at the Capitola Hotel because of reading reviews on this website about the noise. I had confirmed reservations for the Paradise Island room and was concerned when I saw that the room was right off of the lobby. Other than being disappointed that they had moved us to the Antigua room (also off of the lobby) when I specifically requested the Paradise Island room, the disappointment ended there. The room was small but very comfortable and obviously recently renovated with very stylish decor. A previous review had mentioned single paned window and thin walls. We didn't experience that at all. The double paned windows and insulated walls kept out most noise. We did hear people talking the next morning in the lobby but only because you can't insulate the doors. The people were very friendly and helpful. Based on the location, the nice rooms and the people that obviously love their job, I would recommend the Captiola Hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, nice rooms
  • Disliked — Did not get the room that was reserved
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My wife, her best friend, and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We did not have a reservation, but Susan was very accommodating. We felt very pampered and yet felt very much at home. A unique experience. We had 2 separate rooms, and I can honestly say noise was not an issue.

When we checked out we told Susan we were going to Monterey. She recommended a place for lunch on the way that was incredible, and even made the reservation for us at a hotel in Monterey.

I can't say enough about how well were treated and how welcome we felt. We will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — the homey feeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at the Capitola Hotel in mid-May of this year. We booked the Paradise Island room, which is on the ground floor and towards the back of the hotel. If you don't like a small room, I would suggest that you book Paradise Island as it is a medium size with a generously proportioned bathroom.

We found the Hotel Capitola delightful - with a unique character of its own - a nice change from the standard motel room that can be found anywhere from Woolloomooloo to Timbuktu. Our room was spotlessly clean; the bed very comfortable and the bathroom had some nice little extra touches to make our stay enjoyable.

We stayed on a Wed/Thur and Fri night. Our room was very quiet on the Wed. and Thur. nights. On the Fri. night we could hear the Karaoke from down the street, however is was not very loud and stopped at a decent hour - about 10.00-10.30pm.

Full credit to the staff members. They were polite and extremely helpful - always ready to answer our questions and telling us the highlights of the village and beyond. Shadowbrook was booked by them at our request and we thoroughly enjoyed dining at this charming restaurant.

The Hotel's reception area is particularly attractive and adjoins an equally pleasant patio where guests are encouraged to relax. Quality teas, coffees and bottled water are available free of additional charge in the reception area throughout the day/night. You can enjoy a fresh Danish pastry with your morning tea of coffee for no extra charge - or breakfast at one of the many nearby eateries.

Finally, the hotel could not be more conveniently located - A stone's throw from the beach and across the road from the village's numerous restaurants and cafes. Everything is within walking distance.

Thank you to all at the Capitola Hotel - we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

I was surfing in Capitola and wanted to stay for a few days longer to enjoy the great waves. Wanted to be next to the surf without having to drive to eat and sleep. The Capitola Hotel was right there. I could wake up in the morning, have coffee downstairs and walk across the street to the beach, surf and restaurants. The location of the hotel is right there in the center of it all. No reason to drive anywhere. The staff is great and very helpful with my stay and knowledge of the area. Hotel is new and very clean. Would recommend.

  • Liked — Location and brand new.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capitola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Hotel

Address: 210 Esplanade, Capitola, CA 95010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Capitola
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel in the heart of Capitola Village. Steps to the beach, restaurants, wine tasting and shopping. Clean comfortable rooms with private bathrooms, high quality linens, upscale decor, continental breakfast, complimentary gourmet coffee, tea and biscotti. Free high speed internet, refrigerators, plasma televisions, microwave. Free village parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Capitola Hotel to your Saves list