We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Brighton State Beach

New Brighton State Beach
1500 Park Avenue, Capitola, CA
831-464-6330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Capitola
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great camping on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We go every year and love it every time. Its a great place to ride bikes and a short walk down to the beach. You can walk a fairly long ways along the beach which I like to do, and they have a good ranger campfire on the weekends.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never returning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The camp ranger and the camp host are incredibly rude and are prowling at all hours just to write citations. I had one wheel of of the pavement and they cited me for this at 7 a.m. Checkout is at noon EXACTLY, not a minute after or you will be constantly harassed. We were loading last items in our vehicle and it was 12:05 and we were harassed by the arrogant ranger. Needless to say I will not return, the camping area was very overgrown with weeds, picnic tables should have been replaced years ago, poison oak everywhere, the food storage lockers have been torn apart by the racoons, fire pits are full of ashes that are never cleaned out, and bathrooms reek of urine, even after they have been "cleaned." With so many beautiful other campgrounds why would anyone stay here?

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Family Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good for overnight camping trips, with reservations of course. Lots of families come here annually, so make your reservations early.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Under the Bridge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Nice beach...costs too much at OUR Parks these days...but...always fun at the beach.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best bluffs campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is our second visit and we went for site # 73 again - a really spacious site at the top of the bluffs with an amazing view. It's a quiet campground, apart from those pesky generators that RV owners start running on the dot of 10.00am, and pretty well-maintained. The bathrooms could do with a more thorough clean though. A great discovery was AJ's Market at the Chevron station just two minutes away on Park Ave/Soquel Drive. Good fresh food and fabulous grilled meat sandwiches - the gyros is to die for. Hikes in the Forest of Nisene Marks and Henry Cowell State Park were highlights, as well as kayaking off Capitola Pier - saw sea otters and dolphins.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Brighton State Beach also viewed

 

Been to New Brighton State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Brighton State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.