We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enter another time and culture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Depot Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Depot Hill to your Saves list
Inn at Depot Hill
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   250 Monterey Ave, Capitola, CA 95010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Capitola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monterey
1 review
“Enter another time and culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

The Inn at Depot Hill transports the visitor to Holland, Italy, England, Paris or Japan upon entering its doors. The decor and ambiance of each unique room is perfect in its detail and execution.
The staff are wonderfully accomodating and welcoming. The food is superb. In the evening local wine and the area's famous apple cider, as well as sherry are offered with a light buffet of cheeses, crudites, crackers and crostini and a hot appetizer. Later in the evening, a delicous dessert is offered. The breakfasts are perfection. Today we had cereals, fruit cup, pastry and a yummy Artichoke Frittata, along with coffees, teas , hot chocolate and juice. The food is expertly cooked and plentiful.
The highlight of our stays is a soak in the private outdoor hot tubs in the patios which are featured in several of the rooms.
I would recommend the Inn at Depot Hill for anyone wanting a delightful get-away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    18
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
127
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foster City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Fantastic for total pampering in classic style, elegance and luxury. Our room came with
a private patio jacuzzi that just added to the whole experience. Staff were all gracious
and attentive to our every need. Personal one on one service. Various hors-d'oeuvres prepared from scratch were superb!

Carl & MaryAnn
Foster City, CA

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We were looking for somewhere to stay near UC Santa Cruz to visit my little brother the college student. Luxury accomodations in the area are poor overall, but the reviews about the Inn were amazing and we had high expectations. Our room was on the top floor, the pacifica room. The room was large and bathroom had an over-sized dual-head shower. The bed, sheets, towels, robes, and pillows were good and the room was quiet overall. Loved that fireplace.

The inn is dated and needs caulking and paint. The shower heads were standard with no temperature control, so guess what during those dual shower head showers, the temperature changed. The TV was a joke, 9 inches with VHS, give me a break. We were watching movies on my 17 inch lap top. Now a days, everyone has flat panel LCD. The free WI-FI sucked, they really need to add more stations or boosters. There was no way to control the temperature in the room.

The after dinner desserts, coffee, and wine from 7-10 pm was great, blueberry and apple cobbler or cheesecake Although the living area furniture is not the most comfortable. The dining seating is fine. The breakfasts were OK, preset menus, e.g. eggs benedict on Sunday, premade artichoke and over herbed fritata on Monday. You would expect more for 4 stars.

The staff was professional and hey it is a job.

Also, they let kids come here, so if you are planning for some quiet time at breakfast or dinner, forget it, there was a 3 year old climbing on everything and a baby crying,YECH!

Lastly, we paid $400/night for this room and this inn was not worth that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We've stayed in B&Bs in Paris, London, recently Amsterdam and throughout the United States and this, unquestionably, was the nicest we've visited. From the moment Jordon welcomed us until we said goodby to Claire Whitelaw, the manager, we were pampered as a welcome guest. The hors d'oeurves before dinner, the dererts after and the
special breakfast were all excellant.
Each room was special. Ours, the Delft, was a wonderful room with a comfotable mattress..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed in the Kyoto room, which is a Western style room with a Japanese theme. The room is extremely large and lovely with a huge soaking tub and plenty of scalding hot water. It's private and romantic.

We've stayed at the Inn several times before and this time the staff seemed a bit lost. The Buddhist garden wasn't raked, the internet went down and no one knew how to fix it, and there was some trouble with directions (luckily we had a gps). But on the whole, the Inn at Depot Hill is pretty close to paradise.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This was our 3rd, but not last, trip to the Inn at Depot Hill. It truly is a wonderful experience...from the initial greeting to the abundant breakfast, generous wine and snacks, and delicious desserts, it is the nicest B&B we've ever stayed at. The proximity to beautiful views, outstanding restaurants, and the amazing ocean make it all the more special. Don't miss the cioppino at Phil's Fish Market in Moss Landing, a night of wine flights at Cava Wine Bar in Capitola, and a special night out at the Cafe Sparrow in Aptos. All within an easy drive.....it's a food and wine lovers dream come true!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This B&B is located a short walk away from all the restaurants and shops in Capitola. All the rooms are beautifully appointed and quiet. Claire was a wonderful hostess and breakfast each morning was incredible. They also offer wine tastings and appetizers in the evening, plus a dessert and port selection. Not to be missed if you are planning on staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Depot Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Depot Hill

Address: 250 Monterey Ave, Capitola, CA 95010
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Depot Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the beach in the quaint, Mediterranean-style resort of Capitola-by-the-Sea, this AAA 4-diamond rated inn boasts 12 uniquely designed guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace, and many featuring private patios with hot tubs. Guests enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning served in the main salon or delivered right to your room. Enjoy afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, and our delicious homemade desert in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Depot Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Depot Hill Hotel Capitola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Depot Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.