We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to slide a bit.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olamendi's Mexican Restaurant

Olamendi's Mexican Restaurant
34660 Pacific Coast Hwy, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301
949-661-1005
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Starting to slide a bit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We live very close to Olamendi's and used to go quite often, but it seems the quality of the dishes has been slipping. Just doesn't seem the same. The ghastly paint job on the exterior does not seem inviting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    25
    27
    15
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear City, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quirky place you have to go to once!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Food was ok, not great not terrible. The decor is worth the stop. Very friendly servers and staff! You have to go at least one time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Cheap but good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great walk from Doheny State beach campgrounds or the area hotels. A very nostalgic mexican restaurant from the 1970's inclusive of Richard Nixon photos with the owner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Hemisphere
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Special Considerations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What happens when the food is average, but the service is great? That is exactly what happened when we decided to dine at Olamendi's in Capistrano Beach. We did not order elaborate dishes, but mainly what one would assume to be the easiest ones to prepare. Food items:
Albondigas Soup $7.99, mexican meatball soup. It would appear that this dish should be a breeze to make, yet it doesn't seem so, very rarely I have gone to a mexican place and be able to try an outstanding rendering of this dish. Soup arrived hot (like it should be), 3 respectable size meatballs, carrots, zucchini, and a silly small piece of potato. Broth was watery and tomato tasting (please note that albondigas soup by definition should have the taste of beef, not water and tomatoes), and the meatballs had barely any salt and pepper, and that could be a good thing for many, they were tasty, vegetables fresh, potato tiny piece a joke. 3 Stars.
Pork Tamale with beans and rice $8?, tamale a disaster, dry and unsavory, beans and rice, according to lovely lady eating them, a bland, not very good side order. 2 Stars.
Monster Burrito $15, both of us chose this apparently big burrito. We were given the choice of going half and half, with two meats, and we both chose Carnitas (shredded pork) and Carne Asada (beef). This is our grievance: they say is big, and it comes in a nice size, but the actual ratio of meat versus the conventional beans, rice, lettuce, sour cream, etc., is about 10% to 90%, 10% being the actual meat. The Carnitas a little dried but nice, the Carne Asada cut in tiny pieces, a complete disappointment. The rest was the filling, and that is how they make the money. Really unfair practice, really small amount of meats. 2.5 Stars.
Service was above average in every aspect of the word. Our lovely waitress went out of her way repeatedly to shower us with attention. Lovely smile, positive attitude, we almost decided to forget all the shortcomings for it is indeed, a rare thing, to have the level of attention she provided. I complained that in my burrito they had only used the tiny bits of Carne Asada, and none of the Carnitas, like we both ordered, and she immediately came back with a nice small plate with Carnitas. Just a willingness to serve us made her our favorite standout of Olamendi's, yes we love nice service and we reward it properly, 5 Stars.
There are photos and more photos, or president Nixon, and all kinds of famous people adorning the walls of this legendary mexican eatery. Across the street is the awesome sight of the Pacific Ocean and that is always a good thing. Their salsa was a little hot, but very tasty.
Let's suppose one is having a beautiful day out at the beach, and decides to walk to Olamendi's hungry and happy, this place will fill you up to the brim. Total Bill came out to $62 with tip. So special considerations being the great service versus the average at most in quality food, would definitely increase the score to 4 Stars.
PS: must say the food came back to haunt us, if someone know what I mean, a few hours later.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Love the chili relleno. The service is always good and eay to get a table however, the parking lot is tiny so plan on a little pre and post parking stress. A great view of the beach and good food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olamendi's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Capistrano Beach, CA
Capistrano Beach, CA
 

Been to Olamendi's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olamendi's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.