We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and I'm a hero now.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Shores Resort

Save Saved
You added Riviera Shores Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301   |  
Hotel amenities
Sequim,WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprised and I'm a hero now.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I hadn't stayed here before, and I was taking a risk since my girlfriend from Seattle was flying in to be with me. As soon as we entered and she saw the unit and the view of the ocean she blurted out "I love it!" We only spent two nights, but they were wonderful, the place was clean, the staff attentive if needed, and niether of us was bothered in the least by the traffice on PCH or the trains going by across the street. The bed was comfortable, I wasn't bothered by my neighbors and everything worked as it should. The only negative was that the closest elevator was down at our checkout time.
They are in the process of renovating several rooms here and at the sister resort next door, but I took that as a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice two bedroom/two bath unit with kitchen, dining, and living areas. But you can hear everything in the units around you. People talking, moving chairs, running a shower, open/close doors, etc. Stay here if you are a sound sleeper or if you party till 4am (you'll keep everyone else up, but you'll be fine).
The units were very nice, but I prefer a concrete building.
The building is long and narrow and is wedged between the hillside and the coast hwy. The rear units literally face a retaining wall holding up the cliff-side (you could reach out and touch it, you may as well not have windows). The front units overlook the coast hwy and the train tracks just across the street. They have a beach/ocean view. We had a rear unit and it seems that all the conversations in the units around you bounced off the wall and into your unit and you could hear everything.
The water pressure is great, but with this comes a big flaw...every time your neighbor(s) turn on the water you hear it loud and clear.
Bottom line...beautiful rooms, paper thin walls. Not for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Choose the hwy noise and train over the rear facing rooms with no view and reflective noise from uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I needed an affordable place to stay while on business, and this fit the bill. It was definitely an interesting mix of amenities and services. It was clear tha most guests were vacationing, which was fine. The front of the hotel has a lovely view of the ocean, while the back looks at a wall of dirt. The downside to the front of the hotel is noise- a major road and an active train track run just in front of the hotel. I found the trains bothersome the first night, but really didn't hear them after that.

The biggest advantage to this place is the full kitchen in each unit. And I mean full kitchen! Range top, full size fridge, nicest microwave I've ever seen, dishwasher, regular size coffee pot, blender (!), all the dishes, pots, and pans you could want, PLUS, a full size Weber grill on the balcony! If you want to save money by eating in, this is the place.

Downsides include the fact that housekeeping services are not daily- just once a week. This would have been ok, had I been told about it up front, but no one mentioned it when I checked in. In general, the hotel looks like it's been around the block a few times, particularly in public areas. The rooms are nicer than halls, etc. The building I was in had one old, small elevator, which was very slow.

The ugly- parking. Each building has an underground parking garage, which is great. However, the parking spaces are the smallest I have ever seen- and I was driving a compact car. If you are used to city driving and parking, this would likely not phase you, however, I found the lot to be a challenge. Overnight street parking is not an option. There is a large parking lot across the street, however, it's part of a local park and costs $15 per day to use. If you drive a large vehicle, beware.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Would have been perfect if Amtrak and Metrolink trains didn't roar thru every few hours especially at 6am. Beach was very rocky and need to cross over highway via a walkway about 2 blocks away. Staff was pleasant but not overly so. Lots of road noise from traffic. Easy ride to Dana Point which was scenic quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Wished we had read some reviews before exchanging our points. Very nice location. 1 bedroom w/ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Riviera Shores May 18 - 20, 2012 while attending the Doheney Blues Festival. There is a pedestrian overpass nearby which takes you over the Pacific Coast highway and the railway to the beach. The Blues Fest provided a complimentary shuttle service to the Festival which was a couple of miles away. We were on the fourth floor so didn't find the passing trains too disruptive. Large balcony with a BBQ. The kitchens are well equipped for those who wish to cook their own meals. The rooms were well appointed and good value @ $141 CDN/night. We made use of the large pool, however one of the hot tubs looked a bit "green". Extra charges for room WiFi. Front end staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: 4th floor on the south end - older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our anniversary was in April, so my husband booked a surprise retreat to this resort. We stayed in the one bedroom. We had been here before about 2 yrs. ago. Since then I noticed they have done a few upgrades. They updated the kitchen cabinets and appliances and they updated the bedroom mattresses and bedspreads to a more comfortable & modern look. Also they upgraded the TV from the bedroom. We saved a lot on eating out since we took food to cook/ grill. They have a kitchen supplied with everything one can need and they have a gas grill in the balcony. They also have salt and pepper and complimentary coffee for the first two nights, more is available in the vending machines. The unit was huge, and it had a huge jacuzzi, which we enjoyed very much. They have onsite bike rentals for $3 for 2hrs. We rode the bikes down the Capistrano Creek Trail which is a pretty nice scenic trail, We rode for about one hr to and back and did not reach the end of it. I loved the view form the suite, the ocean is right across the street and you can hear the waves of the ocean, very calming. Once your ready to sleep you can close your bedroom windows and not hear a sound.
There are two kinds of balconies, one has a short see through fence and the other a wood divider. The wood is more private since it goes all the way up. The glass balcony is not, your neighbor can pretty much walk outside and join you. There are more of the private balconies though than the clear ones 2/3 more.
The staff is not very friendly as you often see in other resorts, that is why I put a 4 not a five.

Room Tip: Ask for the balconies that have the wood dividers if you want more privacy while using the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The people at Riviera Shores always treat my wife and me very well. We always look forward to visiting Riviera Shores.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riviera Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Shores Resort

Address: 34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301
Location: United States > California > Capistrano Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Capistrano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Shores Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riviera Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Shores Hotel Capistrano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.