We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty view BUT very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Shores Resort to your Saves list
Riviera Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301   |  
Hotel amenities
Mesa AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty view BUT very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Would have been perfect if Amtrak and Metrolink trains didn't roar thru every few hours especially at 6am. Beach was very rocky and need to cross over highway via a walkway about 2 blocks away. Staff was pleasant but not overly so. Lots of road noise from traffic. Easy ride to Dana Point which was scenic quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Wished we had read some reviews before exchanging our points. Very nice location. 1 bedroom w/ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Riviera Shores May 18 - 20, 2012 while attending the Doheney Blues Festival. There is a pedestrian overpass nearby which takes you over the Pacific Coast highway and the railway to the beach. The Blues Fest provided a complimentary shuttle service to the Festival which was a couple of miles away. We were on the fourth floor so didn't find the passing trains too disruptive. Large balcony with a BBQ. The kitchens are well equipped for those who wish to cook their own meals. The rooms were well appointed and good value @ $141 CDN/night. We made use of the large pool, however one of the hot tubs looked a bit "green". Extra charges for room WiFi. Front end staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: 4th floor on the south end - older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our anniversary was in April, so my husband booked a surprise retreat to this resort. We stayed in the one bedroom. We had been here before about 2 yrs. ago. Since then I noticed they have done a few upgrades. They updated the kitchen cabinets and appliances and they updated the bedroom mattresses and bedspreads to a more comfortable & modern look. Also they upgraded the TV from the bedroom. We saved a lot on eating out since we took food to cook/ grill. They have a kitchen supplied with everything one can need and they have a gas grill in the balcony. They also have salt and pepper and complimentary coffee for the first two nights, more is available in the vending machines. The unit was huge, and it had a huge jacuzzi, which we enjoyed very much. They have onsite bike rentals for $3 for 2hrs. We rode the bikes down the Capistrano Creek Trail which is a pretty nice scenic trail, We rode for about one hr to and back and did not reach the end of it. I loved the view form the suite, the ocean is right across the street and you can hear the waves of the ocean, very calming. Once your ready to sleep you can close your bedroom windows and not hear a sound.
There are two kinds of balconies, one has a short see through fence and the other a wood divider. The wood is more private since it goes all the way up. The glass balcony is not, your neighbor can pretty much walk outside and join you. There are more of the private balconies though than the clear ones 2/3 more.
The staff is not very friendly as you often see in other resorts, that is why I put a 4 not a five.

Room Tip: Ask for the balconies that have the wood dividers if you want more privacy while using the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The people at Riviera Shores always treat my wife and me very well. We always look forward to visiting Riviera Shores.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a free timeshare week with Trading Places Int'l in Laguna Niguel. They found an opening in this resort for us. It was a 1 bedroom, nice large bathroom and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything one might need. The lanai was nice to sit on at night with a cocktail and coffee in the morning. There was a bbq on the lanai also which we didn't use. The only problem we had was that the bed was soooo hard we hurt. So we went to a Walmart and bought a foam topper and that did the trick. The pillows were also hard, so I bought a cheap one to use. All in all we had a nice time during the tall ships festival.

Room Tip: Take comfortable pillows/foam for bed. ear plugs too for the trains/traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The location of the resort it self is very close to the beach and the crossing bridge. The room is spacious and CLEAN, which is very important to us. We stayed there for a week, and we have every tool we need to cook in the kitchen. They also have an electric BBQ on the patio of each unit facing the beach and we enjoy the view while we wait our meals. The service is excellent as well. They provide beach amenity and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The maintenance staff resolve the problem quickly when we need help with the video player operation. We came on Sunday and on Thursday the house keeper clean all the trash and replace all the towels.

Room Tip: Get the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I put in a request for a resort near Anaheim, CA with Interval International and this is the ony resort available for the time I needed to be in CA. After reading some of the reviews on this site, I was weary about what I would find. However, from the time I arrived until the time I left my stay at the resort was very positive. The room I was in was clean and had everything I needed in it to be comfortable. Now I don't think I would stay at this resort if I just wanted to stay there and relax but that is only because of the traffic and the train that passes by it seems like every 10 minutes. It is a little noisy. My only complaint is that they do not have free Wifi other than that, I would return back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capistrano Beach
0.0 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#3 of 4 in Capistrano Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
#2 of 4 in Capistrano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#1 of 4 in Capistrano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.3 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#6 of 9 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Shores Resort

Address: 34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Capistrano Beach
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capistrano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Shores Hotel Capistrano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.