We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Shores Resort

Save Saved
You added Riviera Shores Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301   |  
Hotel amenities
Red Deer
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Riviera Shores May 18 - 20, 2012 while attending the Doheney Blues Festival. There is a pedestrian overpass nearby which takes you over the Pacific Coast highway and the railway to the beach. The Blues Fest provided a complimentary shuttle service to the Festival which was a couple of miles away. We were on the fourth floor so didn't find the passing trains too disruptive. Large balcony with a BBQ. The kitchens are well equipped for those who wish to cook their own meals. The rooms were well appointed and good value @ $141 CDN/night. We made use of the large pool, however one of the hot tubs looked a bit "green". Extra charges for room WiFi. Front end staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: 4th floor on the south end - older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our anniversary was in April, so my husband booked a surprise retreat to this resort. We stayed in the one bedroom. We had been here before about 2 yrs. ago. Since then I noticed they have done a few upgrades. They updated the kitchen cabinets and appliances and they updated the bedroom mattresses and bedspreads to a more comfortable & modern look. Also they upgraded the TV from the bedroom. We saved a lot on eating out since we took food to cook/ grill. They have a kitchen supplied with everything one can need and they have a gas grill in the balcony. They also have salt and pepper and complimentary coffee for the first two nights, more is available in the vending machines. The unit was huge, and it had a huge jacuzzi, which we enjoyed very much. They have onsite bike rentals for $3 for 2hrs. We rode the bikes down the Capistrano Creek Trail which is a pretty nice scenic trail, We rode for about one hr to and back and did not reach the end of it. I loved the view form the suite, the ocean is right across the street and you can hear the waves of the ocean, very calming. Once your ready to sleep you can close your bedroom windows and not hear a sound.
There are two kinds of balconies, one has a short see through fence and the other a wood divider. The wood is more private since it goes all the way up. The glass balcony is not, your neighbor can pretty much walk outside and join you. There are more of the private balconies though than the clear ones 2/3 more.
The staff is not very friendly as you often see in other resorts, that is why I put a 4 not a five.

Room Tip: Ask for the balconies that have the wood dividers if you want more privacy while using the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The people at Riviera Shores always treat my wife and me very well. We always look forward to visiting Riviera Shores.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a free timeshare week with Trading Places Int'l in Laguna Niguel. They found an opening in this resort for us. It was a 1 bedroom, nice large bathroom and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything one might need. The lanai was nice to sit on at night with a cocktail and coffee in the morning. There was a bbq on the lanai also which we didn't use. The only problem we had was that the bed was soooo hard we hurt. So we went to a Walmart and bought a foam topper and that did the trick. The pillows were also hard, so I bought a cheap one to use. All in all we had a nice time during the tall ships festival.

Room Tip: Take comfortable pillows/foam for bed. ear plugs too for the trains/traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The location of the resort it self is very close to the beach and the crossing bridge. The room is spacious and CLEAN, which is very important to us. We stayed there for a week, and we have every tool we need to cook in the kitchen. They also have an electric BBQ on the patio of each unit facing the beach and we enjoy the view while we wait our meals. The service is excellent as well. They provide beach amenity and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The maintenance staff resolve the problem quickly when we need help with the video player operation. We came on Sunday and on Thursday the house keeper clean all the trash and replace all the towels.

Room Tip: Get the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I put in a request for a resort near Anaheim, CA with Interval International and this is the ony resort available for the time I needed to be in CA. After reading some of the reviews on this site, I was weary about what I would find. However, from the time I arrived until the time I left my stay at the resort was very positive. The room I was in was clean and had everything I needed in it to be comfortable. Now I don't think I would stay at this resort if I just wanted to stay there and relax but that is only because of the traffic and the train that passes by it seems like every 10 minutes. It is a little noisy. My only complaint is that they do not have free Wifi other than that, I would return back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Time Share hotel right near Dana Point Harbor. The location is fine, right across PCH from the beach. You can access the beach via a walking bridge & you can ride bikes to Dana Point or San Clemente without too much difficulty. The positives pretty much stop there. The one bedroom has a wall around the bedroom that stops 3 feet from the ceiling as does the door for the bedroom, not private by any means. The Interval site lists a resteraunt on the 4th floor- not so, it closed more than 6 months ago! The doors for the rooms don't seal so every time someone else shuts their door your door rattles and it sounds like someone is coming into your room! The people in the room above can be heard very well as the place seriously lacks insullation! The train on the other hand was not a both- we could barely hear it but we were in a room in the new wing. The older wing has balconies that connect to the room next door and are only seperated by clear glass so you can be sitting outside and be literally joined by the folks next door just inches away! Also- no free wifi in rooms, they charge by the hour or week! Kitchen was fine but no oven or toaster oven. Grill on patio is a nice touch for cooking fresh food while on vacation. Workout room is filled with old equipment but there were enough free weights and machines to get a good workout, you'd be smart to get your cardio done via the beach or trails as the cardio machines were ancient.
The hotel was passable but clearly not what we expected based on the rating in the Interval book or web site. The hotel we traded for this is leaps and bounds above this one so that was dissapointing. I would not stay here again if I had the ability to choose more wisely when I put in for a trade.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riviera Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Shores Resort

Address: 34642 Pacific Coast Highway, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624-1301
Location: United States > California > Capistrano Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Capistrano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Shores Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riviera Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Shores Hotel Capistrano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.