We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEGATIVE.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maritime Park & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maritime Park & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Maritime Park & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tungfah Road, Amphur Muang, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pak Nam
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“NEGATIVE.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Big problem at the check in and we had to call 2-3 days around and solve why they couldn't see our reservation - yes using our own mobiles and yes calling to Europe.

Reception was rude and they didn't speak proper english. And we travel a lot in Asia so we know what is a "proper" english for them.

Rooms were ugly and outdated - its like going back to the past 10 years ago. Everything just needs renovating.

The gym and rest of the facility also need a big paint/makeover cause it just very old.

The "lake" does not look like in pictures - this also goes for the rooms and everything, so DO NOT believe them pictures.

Breakfast was fine and pool area was also not bad. There's no proper bar and it also looks like it died a while ago.

Location is very bad for people who don't use motorbikes like we do.

Room Tip: make sure you get what you paid for - we didn't but we knew to complain about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    37
    31
    37
See reviews for
21
62
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived unannounced at night and we were amazed by the scale of this place. The lobby is open air with 40 foot ceilings done in dark woods and the setting is in a park like scene...hence the name. The staff is very gracious though not very conversant in English. We arrived at low season and so we got a 6th floor corner room with king bed and breakfast for $80. The restaurant is good though they only offer red and white wine by the glass or by the carafe. For you birders...we saw Indian Rollers, Common Flamebacks, Coppersmiths Barbets, and Puple Shouldered Sunbirds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and my friends bought the hotel package at Travel fair at Sirikit center few months ago. And the salesperson told us that the hotel is within walking distance to the beach. We were fooled also by the brochure that has pics of the beach.The hotel is more than 10 minutes taxi ride to the beach. The hotel has only 1 free shuttle bus ride to the beach per day, and we end up always have to pay for taxi to the beach and other places. The facility is average. Most guests we've seen are from mainland-China. The service is quite good and friendly. The restaurant on the lobby serves good authentic southern Thai food. But surely, we'll never stay in this area again. Best advice is to stay at Ao-nang area right along the beach.

Room Tip: Choose room with good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed four nights in this hotel to participate a business conference which held by the local institution, and unfortunately, the venue was far away from my expectations, as this was my first time visiting Thailand.

After more than one-hour flight from Bangkok, I arrived at Krabi airport, then directly heading to this hotel by an airport taxi.
This is a big six-level resort hotel, but the maintenance of the building and its facilities are bad. My room was located at the far end of the level 4, but the view along the way to the room is not nice at all.
The hotel room is quite big, with a high ceiling, but the furniture and materials are very old and not in a good maintenance. It's a LCD TV inside the room, but the channels provided are mostly local.

Meeting/ conference rooms are OK, also the snacks provided during the meeting sessions are not bad.
Gym facilities are very bad. Aside of standard barbels, the gym has only one threadmill machine (with a long wait to have turn), and one static bicycle with broken electronic device (!).

During the conference, the snacks and foods provided were no problem, but the dining room and its facilities are need much improvements.
Overall, this hotel needs a lot of things to improve, both the facilities and also services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Maritime proves the old adage that larger is not always better. In how many ways does it miss the mark, let me count the ways:

1. My room looked like it was built in the 1980s and left at that. Furniture, bed, and lighting, it all screamed 1980s! The bathroom was bad as well. The face of the handheld shower was less than clean. There was assorted gunk on the edges of the bathroom tiles (tile mind you, not even marble or granite). Towels were large but hardly soft. Toiletries were of the no brand type. The TV (an LCD, about the only thing clearly built in the 21st century in the room) had something like 14 channels and very poor reception (via satellite), of the 14, about 3 were in English. (RT [Russia Today] does offer provocative reporting and a different point of view though). I got a WiFi signal in the room but it wasn't very strong, only my laptop could pick up the signal, neither of my I-devices could. The single room phone couldn't dial out and it was, you guessed it, a corded model from the 1990s (okay not the 1980s). Thin wall, very thin walls.

2. The 1980s theme (or maybe just cheap) extends to the restaurant and eating areas as well. The restaurant was enclosed but had weak airconditioning which makes for a muggy dinner, lunch or breakfast date with assorted small flying insects for company. Maybe that's why guests seemed to prefer to order room service rather than go down and eat. Food quality in the restaurant was uneven. The burger was bad, big time (may fault for ordering a western menu item in Southern Thailand), the spring rolls were passable, while the Iced Tea and Pineapple fried rice were actually pretty good.

3. The breakfast buffet is in an open area which leads to various insects partaking of the food as well; this was especially true of the fruits. Plus items did not change from day to day. The breads on offer were dismal, limited to white and wheat toast and a crappy muffin. As expected, the Thai / Asian breakfast items on offer were better and tastier than the Western items.

4. Overall maintenance of the public areas is less than stellar. I dislike how the "service areas" (i.e. corridors, workshops,etc.) are clearly visible to guests.

5. Far away from everything. (If you're far away from everything, you better make sure you offer lots of things to keep your guests entertained. Maritime does not do this very well.)

6. Check-in was disorganized.

7. Lobby is open air which makes it uncomfortable during summer months (unfortunately, that was about the only place in the entire complex with a consistent WiFi signal).

The hotel/resort also has a pool, a small spa, a gym and walking, jogging and biking trails. Never did try the pool but it looked inviting enough. The spa looked empty, unmanned.

Any positives? Well,

a. my room airconditioner worked well;
b. hand-held "bidet" in the bathroom;
c. free bottled water, restocked daily;
d. good views of the surrounding national park and its monolith(s); and
e. the trails were walkable (but, no surprise, upkeep and maintenance is on the dismal side) and led to some interesting sights (e.g. the riverbank).

That's about it really.

Why did I stay here? Because it was where the meeting/conference was held.

If you have a choice, run, don't walk, as fast and far away as your feet can take you. There is definitely better (much better) in Krabi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We moved to this hotel from Koh Lanta on our last night in Thailand to be closer to the airport for our 8am flight. We arrived around 720pm and it appeared they had lost/could not find out reservation as they looked very confused and asked for our confirmation print out. We had booked and paid in full through Expedia, which is maybe why they didn't have our reservation. As a result we ended up in a huge suite, with a kitchenette, breakfast area and huge bedroom with a whirlpool tub, we weren't complaining.

For a stay of less than 12 hours it wasn't bad. The bed was very comfortable. The room could have used some updating the decor was straight out of the 80's. The girl arranging the taxi for the morning was very rude and annoyed that I didnt have a smaller bill, when the ATM right around the corner from her office only dispensed 1000 Baht bills. It was dark by the time we got there so we did not have a chance to check out the grounds. However we did eat at the restaurant for dinner, it was empty when we arrived which should have been our first clue. The staff was attentive but the food just wasn't very good. My daughters grilled ham and cheese sandwich was not grilled or even really warm, my husbands club had cabbage on it and my burger was so salty I couldn't finish it. Nobody finished there meal.

Over all getting the "fancy" room for the price we paid and the short stay we had we weren't disappointed. Just make sure you have your confirmation page with you when you check in so you get a room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Even if this hotel is big you can find your own corner to relax in. Our kids love the poolarea, and the soft music is so nice. We booked a longtail boat and they picked us up by the hotel, good service. Love taking a walk in the lovely garden.The restaurant was good. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritime Park & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Park & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Tungfah Road, Amphur Muang, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Pak Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pak Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maritime Park & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maritime Park & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Park Hotel Pak Nam
Maritime Park And Spa Resort
Maritime Park Krabi
Maritime Park & Spa Resort Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritime Park & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.