We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mould in the room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Hotel Krabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thai Hotel Krabi to your Saves list
Thai Hotel Krabi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Issara Road | Paknum, Muang, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Pak Nam
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mould in the room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked this hotel in advance in anticipation of spending 3 nights in Krabi to do daytrips to nearby islands. The hotel front desk staff were accommodating and friendly, however the room that we stayed in wasn't even close to liveable.

When we entered the room, we noticed an awful musty smell. Having stayed in a wide range of hotels throughout Thailand, we were used to rooms not having particularly great odours. It was only after the first night, when we woke up feeling quite ill, that we did some investigation and found that the wall the air conditioning unit was mounted on was completely covered in mould (it was previously hidden with a table). Having asthma, I couldn't breathe well and we had to switch rooms immediately.

I will say that front desk staff didn't seem the least bit concerned about the mould, so if you're going to stay here please thoroughly check your room before unpacking!

Room Tip: Make sure you check around the air conditioning unit for mould ASAP!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
19
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stay just for one night in Krabi so we cannot compare with other accomodation. Hotel was clear and from 7th floor was great view to the city. Room for 2 person (kingsize bed) was consistent with price 750 BTH/night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staff were really friendly and helped me out - was in a motorbike accident a few days prior to my stay. They organised a car to and from the hospital for no charge.

Rooms are basic, but clean. Would stop in again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angusthescot
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked in here for two nights after landing at Krabi airport.It is great value for a short stay.Rooms are basic but clean.Plenty of people staying here.If your looking for cheap accomodation before hitting the islands then this is the place.We payed 1400 bhat for two nights.A word of warning though.I think there maybe a bit of red light activity going on as everybody you mentioned the Hotel Krabi to gives you a knowing smile!!Oh Hotel Krabi!!A gentlemen asked me if i needed anything arranging!That said though it's not in your face and it's as good as any for a room for a night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's a cheap hotel - everything in it is cheap. It's a bit grubby, smelly drains in bathrooms, understaffed for its size. Needs a refurb. Noisy club downstairs.

Good things: Able to help with ferry tickets. Central location. Hit water and v good water pressure.

Great cafe for breakfast opposite, Zoo Cafe. (Independent of hotel)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Well located near the river and the night market...the rooms are spacious and clean, though their age is showing...but for the money paid, good value! Hot shower, fridge, tv...and the biggest airco unit i have ever seen! We had rooms on the 6th floor, with view of the river and city
Breakfast in the restaurant downstairs is a joke, a 'buffet' with barely more then toast and jam, unless you like rice in the morning, but i guess the clientele is mainly thai or asian anyways...but plenty of nice and cheap restaurants in the neighbourhood as an alternative

Room Tip: The standard rooms on the 6th floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Thai Hotel for a really good price (1200THB for two nights!!).
Therefore, we didn't expect much. However, the rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean. It smelled a little musty but with a little room deodorant spray it was fine. The mattrasses were a little worn and the sheets stained but we got instantely new ones when we asked for them.
We spotted some nicer rooms in the hotel, too - but as I said we had a pretty cheap offer - no wonder we didn't get the top-notch ;)
What's pretty great about the hotel is the gym! It's only 50 THB per day and it's got everything you can wish for!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thai Hotel Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Hotel Krabi

Address: 7 Issara Road | Paknum, Muang, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Pak Nam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Pak Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thai Hotel Krabi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the warmest hotel in the heart of Krabi! Just a short walk to the main areas in the town and very easy to get to tourist attractions. With the affordable and warm service, you could be ensured that staying with us would be great and valuable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thai Hotel Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Hotel Krabi Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Hotel Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.