We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to our expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31820 Railroad Canyon Road, Canyon Lake, CA 92587   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Rocklin, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did not live up to our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We got into the room and it was one of their refreshed rooms. Well there was garbage in the fridge and no light over the batroom vanity. Bathroom was new and very clean and quite large.
Lock on door did not work and even though it was just redone could have used a little more TLC before renting out. They did put a light finally over the vanity the day we were gone and came back to a surprise.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    2
    6
    17
See reviews for
14
12
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middle Village, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were visiting relatives in Canyon Lake so this Inn is in a perfect location. Unfortunately, mid way on our stay we checked out and made other arrangements. The people here are very nice, but they cannot make up for the lack of upkeep at this Inn. On check in, our room was not cleaned (food in the fridge, bottles in the sink, bed unmade) and the place smelled of curry. We had to come back hours later with our luggage. After day one, the quilt never made it back on the bed (remained on the floor for days). Too bad because we visit Canyon Lake frequently.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Best in price comfort . Would recommend this place to others and will vist again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice stay. Good room, good pricing and an all around satisfying stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so filthy and nasty!! The room smelled like mildew and rotting cheese. There was mold and stains all over the bathtub. The sheets were stained and poor quality. They overprice their rooms. $79.99 a night was way too much! Do yourself a favor and go to Temecula where the hotels are nicer. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on location and price. You get what you pay for. Overall, the room size was nice (we had a first floor king room) and the bed was very comfortable but that is about it. The units are very dated and not very clean which creeped me out. I did enjoy having a fridge and microwave in the room. We did not use the continental breakfast so I cannot comment on that. Our room got missed for cleaning one of the days, the owner brought us clean towels but seemed annoyed that I asked for extra coffee packets. The bathroom door was damaged. It appeared to have been kicked in at some point and repaired when it should have been replaced. Carpet was dirty and fabric chairs were very stained. There were not enough available electrical outlets. One didn't work, others were being used. To charge our cell phones I used the vanity outlet - little did I know that outlet was for the refrigerator! Fridge needs a dedicated outlet. The area seemed fine, but I was worried about the Mexican Cantina next door - I thought it might be noisy but it wasn't. The young girl working front desk was very nice, the owner or manager - not so much.

Room Tip: Ground level is best choice. I didn't not go upstairs, but there is no elevator. Ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVergne, Tenn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Rodeway Inn in Canyon Lake, Ca on one of our trips. The service was very welcoming, the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were nice sized and we enjoyed the free WIFI. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood.
I will definitely be staying there again.
I hope we have the same girl working there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 31820 Railroad Canyon Road, Canyon Lake, CA 92587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Canyon Lake
Canyon Lake Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.