We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Southwest Railway Museum

Pacific Southwest Railway Museum
31123 Highway 94, Campo, CA 91906
+1 619-478-9937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Campo
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This museum runs a vintage train from Campo to the Mexican border. The experience offers open vistas, secluded valleys and spectacular views.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Pacific Southwest Rail Museum area is comprised of a train depot with a few restored train jewels, and many a wrecked trains just outside of the building. It also has a charming little shop where you purchase (or pickup) your museum tickets.

I bought tickets for the cabin and rode next to the conductor and the engineer -- had a great time because I also got a fun History lesson. The train does not go all the way to Tecate because part of the rail has collapsed (and I was told repairs are now in the hands of the Baja California governor). I hope the tracks get repaired soon.

I highly recommend visiting the Museum, and while you are there enjoy a train ride.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Distraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The all-volunteer staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and informative. They answered all my questions as if they'd never heard them before. I learned a lot about trains of various eras while waiting to board. The trip itself was slow and relaxing, winding through the mountains past a few farms and homesteads. The sounds of the train squealing and chugging made me feel like I was in an old-time western movie. The restored static displays were really worth taking some time. There are several rail cars waiting to be restored. I just can't imagine how they get the time and money for any of these projects. Looks like they have very few volunteers to do a whole lot of work. Overall, well worth the minimal cost and the drive from San Diego.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice ride, 1.5 hours long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is located about 1 hour east of San Diego. We did it when the weather was moderate, but I wouldn't want to do it in the heat of the summer. It was a nice museum all run be volunteers who are really dedicated to it. My husband loves trains and has always wanted to ride in the cab of an engine; he got this experience on this trip at a very moderate cost compared to other rare opportunities that he has seen elsewhere. We would recommend this. (To ride the train, you do have to use the steps on the train. I didn't see any handicap access.)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun train ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Really enjoyed my visit, but I would only go if the train is running. There are a few trains on display in a building that is nice, and a bunch of trains outside that seem to be waiting renovation. All nice to see but I wouldn't make the trip just to see them. The train ride is pretty short and slow but still took 1.5 hours. The car was not heated and did not have a restroom. The nice part was that the trip was through some nice desert landscape and took you all the way up to a tunnel that is the border with Mexico. The locomotive was in the back so you got an unobstructed view out of the front to the tracks ahead, There was also a gate at the front of the car that was low enough that it didn't obstruct views but high enough that it was safe to let my 5 year old son stand there without worry for his safety. All of the people working there were very friendly. Note that this place is also known as the San Diego Railroad Museum even though it is about an hour east of San Diego. I'd allow for 3 hours here including the train ride.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Southwest Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Southwest Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Southwest Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.