We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heritage turned into modern day treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gangtey Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Paro, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Paro
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A heritage turned into modern day treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Bhutan and a highlight of our trip to the magical country last spring. It may not have a luxury feel about it, but its charm lies in its coziness and traditional setup with an exceptional staff and service quality. The hotel is synonymous to what Bhutan for us - a living example of a culture that is timeless. We are enormously happy with our agent - Bhutan Travel Club - who recommended the best hotels and gave us such a delightful trip, which will be etched in my heart forever...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    53
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
64
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for just one night and would have liked longer. Our room was in the tower so we had to scramble up the near vertical stairs, but the room itself was huge and very interestingly furnished. The view across the valley was beautiful. We didn't eat there except breakfast. If you don't mind a few oddities this is a lovely place to stay at the beginning or end of your trip.

Room Tip: The tower room is well worthwhile, especially the one that faces the Dzong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After the spectacular and breathtaking landing into Paro's airport, we headed to the Gangtey Palace Hotel. Feeling giddy from the beauty of the landscape, the exotic architecture of the Palace and, possibly the higher altitude, walking into Gangtey Palace was like taking a magical step back in time. It is, indeed, lovely in every sense and a unique experience. But some of these magnificent, historical hotels can be a mixed bag. The bathrooms can be a bit of a problem. Gangtey's was fine, but very, very basic. Still, a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms near the altar room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in September 2012. This old, traditionally decorated aristocratic residence is charming in a musty, funky way. The grounds are lovely and provide a stunning view of the Dzong and Paro Valley, especially at night. The ground floor rooms were not as much to our liking as those in the "tower." We spent 2 nights in a corner room on the ground floor. It was damp, lacked privacy and had a small, dank bathroom. But then we moved to a room on the second floor of the "tower" and felt like royalty. The tower rooms are spacious and grand. The bathroom was was huge as well - but had very smelly drains. The food in the restaurant was the usual overcooked and bland fare but the staff was friendly and helpful and brought us fried red rice, chillis, and emadatse when we found the buffet offering unappetizing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The palace was built as the residenc of the first king of Bhutan. It was built 100 years ago. The structure reflects the Bhutanese architecture. The staff is very friendly. Our room is facing the entrance and has an excellent view. The bathroom is big and modern but the water from the tub spills out even if you just use the shower. Dining is buffet style and good. What I enjoyed most was the body massage and the hot stone bath after the Taktsang trek, it was fantastic. Caution, before signing up for the stone bath, I suggest you visit the place because the structure is in a wooden and yin shed next to the woodfire pit. If you finicky about privacy, this will not appeal to you. However, having said that, I was delighted to have done it after the massage. It was a unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

With historic associations and an interesting altar room, this is the most interesting of three places where i stayed in Bhutan. Food is good. Friendly staff. Television addicts take note: no TV in the room, just one in the bar. Not a problem for me but it was for another person in our group. Wifi reception may be flaky away from the restaurant and the internet room. I had a wonderful view of the floodlit fortress through my window. Even if you don't have a room with that view there are good views of the fortress and the rest of Paro from the garden in front.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have good views of Paro's fortress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a hotel that should not be missed. It is an old king's palace converted to a hotel. Incredible experience. Antiques everywhere. Room is decorated in Victorian Indian Style. Very Ornate. A little out of town. Easy taxi ride. I ate at the hotel. Reasonable and good.
Great bar.
Fantastic views

Room Tip: Room 210 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gangtey Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangtey Palace Hotel

Address: Paro, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangtey Palace is the only palace in Bhutan converted into a hotel. Natural spring water flowing through all pipes of the hotel. Traditional hot stone bath and massage. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gangtey Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gangtey Palace Hotel to your Saves list