We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uma by Como, Paro in Bhutan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma by COMO, Paro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Uma by COMO, Paro to your Saves list
Uma by COMO, Paro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro, Bhutan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 FULLBOARD
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Uma by Como, Paro in Bhutan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have visited Paro twice, in 2007 and 2011, first time by myself and the second time with my husband. I have enjoyed the first visit so much that we decided to stay at Como Paro the second time in 2011. During both stays, we both had wonder experiences with the staff, arrangement, food, ambience and the environment of Como Paro. I almost felt like that was my home away from home in Bhutan.

Como Paro has an amazing and spacious yoga studio with a large ceiling to floor window opens up to the Himalaya mountain ranges. I particularly enjoy the early morning practice with the fresh air blowing from the Himalaya, taking it all in my lung with a refreshing start of the day.

We hired the driver and the car from Como Paro during both visits. When I travelled alone, the guide and the driver made sure I was comfortable the full journey, prepared soft pillow and warm blanket on the longer journey to make sure I could rest comfortably during the ride. When we travelled together (with my husband), the hotel also prepared healthy food basket so we were nicely fed and hydrated during our trips.

I would highly recommend to try Como Hotel's Himalayan hot stone massage. Soaking in the fresh water stream from Himalaya in a chilly evening, followed by the herbal tea and surround by the sound of the mountain - nothing could beat the experience.

When my husband went for a overnight camping with the guide, I decided to stay in the hotel on my own, and little do I know there were so many activities to keep me busy and occupied the full day. Early yoga practice, laps of nice swimming in the indoor heated pool, cardio in the gym, healthy ranges of meals, and little hikes arround the hotel property ... and we were in Bhutan!

Como Paro also prepares picnic for hiking if you wish to stay in Paro a bit longer.

Remember when you stay in Como Paro, go check out the world's largest printed book displayed at its library, "A Visual Odyssey Across the Last Himalayan Kingdom".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear MaryAnn T,

Thank for sharing your impressions of your two stays at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us so much that you have become a repeat visitor and we are pleased that you took full advantage of all we have to offer at our luxury hideaway in the mountains of Bhutan. We do hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    71
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
57
213
42
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

For the first time we went to Bhutan and stayed in the Uma resorts.
It was a great experience to be in this small Kingdom in the Himalaya. The hotel is a very peacefull resort with extremely kind people. They organised our whole trip with a driver and a guide. They were both professionals and very kind.
We stayed in Paro and Punaka in the two resorts they have in Bhutan. The food is great and also the Spa after a day of hiking is very nice. The Tigernest walk in the snow was a special event. You have to be in good condition.
After a week we went back to the Netherlands with a warm feeling. We will be back for sure during the festifal season next year.
Jan van Duyn

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are wonderfull room 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear JanlJsbrand,

Thank you for telling the TripAdvisor community about your recent trip to Bhutan and you stay at Uma Paro and Uma Punakha. We truly appreciate the very nice compliments about our hotels and the professional service of our staff and we are thrilled to know that you are planning to return next year during Festival Season. That is a wonderful time to be in Bhutan and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Land of the Thunder Dragon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek,

Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Dorji Rabten (Asst. Reservation Manager at Uma Paro) arranged an excellent 4- Night package deal for us.
We received a very warm welcome when we arrived at Uma Paro.
The property is beautifully surrounded by pine trees and situated on top of a hill overlooking Paro.
The main building had the traditional Bhutanese touch along with some modern additions.
Our room was comfortable and exquisite and the large windows provided serene views of Paro valley.
The restaurant atmosphere was warm and inviting and the service was always of a high standard. The food was exceptional and the a la carte menu options changed frequently.
The spa offered luxury beauty treatments and was a great place to get pampered and de-stressed.
Yanai, the wonderful tour manager organised a 3-day itinerary for us including the Tiger’s Nest Monastery, Rinpung Dzong and Kyichu Lhakhang. Our tour guide Karma was a very friendly and helpful person. He spoke excellent English and had extensive knowledge about the history of the country and the attraction's we were visiting.
We had a wonderful time in Bhutan. Though it was a short trip, we really enjoyed the unspoiled nature and the gracious hospitality of the warm friendly people.
Uma paro is truly the perfect place to get spellbound by the magic of Bhutan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear TheWorldAwai,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor Community. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your room,, the food the spa so much and especially the friendly and attentive service of our staff. We are glad that we were able to make your trip to Bhutan extra special and we hope you will to come visit us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek,

Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvi, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed four nights in February. The hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes away by car from Paro. The hotel itself is nice, in particular the dining-room in which you really feel comfortable.
We were greeted upon arrival by the General Manager, who seemed more interested in talking to his dog than to us. He showed us around and he never talked to us again, not even upon check-out. He has been there for 7 months but appartently his lack of dedication to service appears to taint his staff as well.
We stayed in one of the villas, which are quite pricy. The villa itself was beautiful but in our case it had probably not used for several days and it was freezing as we arrived. We had to insist to have additional heaters brought to the room. Whoever designed the villa was not smart not to put a heater in the restrooms and the shower! After three days the room started to feel warmer but the restroom and shower-floors were freezing. The view is not great either as too much vegetation has grown in front of the windows. The butler was nice and trying hard but kept saying yes instead of fixing things. The in-door swimming pool was under repair.
The fitness room is very nice and well-equipped.
Well if you travel across Buthan and your budget allows it chose Amankora, it is a world of difference!

Room Tip: There are two suites in the main building which are really nice with a great view. Probably a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear zelal25,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, by are sorry to learn that you felt the bathroom of your luxury one bedroom villa was not warm enough during your visit.

According to our records your private butler promptly put a portable heater in your room and that this solved that problem.

I am a bit surprised to read your comments about me personally, for as you mention I greeted you upon your arrival to welcome you to Uma Paro, to give you a tour of the hotel and to say that if you needed assistance of any kind during your stay to please ask for me. I also recall speaking to you and your wife several times while you were our guests to check on how you were enjoying your stay and I remember your telling me that everything was fine.

It is correct, that our indoor heated pool, which is the nicest in Bhutan, was not in service for a few days earlier this month, but unfortunately it needed a repair, which sometimes happens. It is now working fine and we are sorry that this was not available for the few days you were here.

We hope that you and your wife will come stay with us again and if you do we will try our best to make sure everything goes perfectly.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I were on a whirlwind trip to India, Nepal, Thailand, and Bhutan. Our stay at the Uma was a special retreat. We were advised to stay in a villa, but when we arrived, we decided to move to a deluxe suite which was located inside the main hotel building. It was winter, and the weather was cool, and we didn't want to have to bundle up in our coats and be driven to dinner every night in a golf cart. In the spring or summer, the villa would be fine. The villa and the deluxe suite were both outstanding in their design and in the amenities offered. The water was always hot when needed, the warming towel racks were a nice luxury, having fresh fruit in the room was always pleasant. Having free wi-fi available at all times in the room was a real plus for me as I needed to call the USA frequently and I could use my computer - for calls and to check e-mails. In other countries on our trip, the wi-fi was not always as easily accessible. All the staff were wonderful and attentive; we especially liked having a butler assigned to us, to help us with any and all arrangements we needed to make. The dining room was gorgeous; we loved the architecture and design; having a wood burning stove in the center really warmed the room, and gave the whole room an extra special ambience. Soft music was played while we dined--and it was very romantic. There were not many guests in the hotel during the time we were there--we were off season, so we really had the full attention of the staff. The store was open for many hours, making it convenient to shop there--and the quality of the merchandise was great. The food was outstanding in the restaurant. We are from San Francisco, where we pride ourselves on our fine restaurants, and this kitchen could rival the best of the ones in San Francisco! The view from the windows-of the valleys and mountains -was spectacular, day and night.The hotel was the perfect blend of feeling as though you were in nature, "camping," with the spectacular views of the trees, mountains, and outdoor scenery from the bedroom and public rooms, yet with all the warmth, good food, and other luxuries of a fine hotel. The wood burning stoves,, everywhere, were a delight in the cold weather.! We didn't have time to experience the yoga classes, spa, or archery lessons, or even use the kitchenette that was in our room. That will have to wait for another time. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite was larger than most of the rooms, so if you can afford it, it was very roomy. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Barbara1077,

Greetings from your friends at Uma Paro in magical Bhutan.

Thank you for telling the TripAdvisor Community about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all the high praise. We are humbled by so many compliments about the hotel, the quality of our cuisine and the service of our staff. We are particularly proud to know that you consider our restaurant to be as good as the best of those in your home city of San Francisco. Our chefs are very glad to know were so pleased with the food. We hope that you will come back to visit us again soon and have the time to enjoy our COMO Shambala Spa, yoga classes and of course the archery lessons given by our professional Bhutanese guides on our own private archery field.

Thank you again for the many kind words and accolades about our adventurous and romantic resort here in wondrous Bhutan. Please come back again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days after a 10 day trip including farm stays, to relax & recover & have a special start to 2013!!

The initial look & feel of the hotel on arrival & especially the smell is great, & the staff were very accommodating in all area's, and they made a real effort to ensure all people were engaged with.

The room was of a standard to be expected of an hotel of this type, & although lovely (toiletries especially) there were no real surprise & delights, ie those little unexpected things that just make great hotels memorable.

I liked the spa facilities, the swimming pool was blissful & the yoga was very welcome, with a great instructor ( thanks Kara). I also had some spa treatments, can recommend the massage but the manicure/ pedicures were not of an international standard but that the feedback was taken positively & addressed.

The one area that needs attention is the food & beverage, which is very ordinary for what is delivered & certainly does not represent value. Paid almost $66 for small pasta, with an equally small salad & 1 glass of wine, which is expensive even for any "luxury hotel" & was ok but not amazing.
Breakfast however was of a better standard & was made even more enjoyable with the view.

So overall I appreciated & liked my stay & would recommend with the proviso that if you are a bit of a foodie you maybe disappointed ( however if you have lived off chilli for a number of days prior, it will seem like a blessing !!),

Do think the hotel has some work to do to make people rave about it, other than being in Bhutan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear MazzAustralia,

Hello from the Himalayas and your friends at Uma Paro.

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community.

We greatly appreciate all the compliments about the hotel, and our spa, and especially the attentiveness of the staff. We are sorry you felt the manicure and pedicure you received was not up to international standard and as a result, in compensation, we did not charge for this service. We are now reviewing the quality of these treatments to be sure they are up to the correct standard.

We are surprised to learn that you felt one or two dinners were not to your liking, as most guests, including those who review our hotel on TripAdvisor, praise our restaurant and the food served as being the best in Bhutan. As you know our restaurant serves a full range of cuisine including Western style dishes, Indian and Bhutanese specialties. Having said that, we will review the particular dishes you mention to ensure those items are up to the high standard our clients expect.

Thank you for this constructive feedback and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Gangtey Hotel in Paro at the end of a 14 day holiday traveling thru out Bhutan. I spent many nights in local farmhouses and 'homestays' which were great for getting an authentic Bhutan experience. I trekked loads and obviously went a couple nights without a hot shower or western amenities- which I fully expected- and embraced. With that, the end of my trip came and I was looking forward to certain luxuries, none of which I got at Gangtey (albeit a great heritage building, clean etc, just 3 star). I ended up spending an entire day at Uma Paro and wished I had stayed there. I used their spa and had a great foot reflexology treatment, one of the best I've had (I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur if you count sheer number of massages as a measure), a steam, and a bath followed by a hot shower! Pickled! Then, I spent a couple hours at the bar reading followed by the best meal in Bhutan (let's be honest, it's not difficult to beat Ema Datshi, dried yak meat and red rice). Uma Paro's restaurant served a wide variety of cuisine including Indian, European and I think there was a Bhutanese option as well but forgive me for avoiding it after 2 weeks of the 'same same'. I had an Australian cut of beef that was amazing and cooked perfectly. I started with a seafood dish served over a pasta that was divine. Wine list is good, but like most Asian countries, expensive because of the import duties. The service was exceptional. I also got a visit from the manager, whom, I believe is new-ish to Uma Paro, and he took the time to visit with me, get my opinion etc. All in all, no brainier in Paro after a long trip 'round Bhutan. Yes, it's expensive relative to other "luxury" hotels, but you're also in the Himalayas, off the beaten track. Consider this when you compare your time in Bhutan to your time in similar standard hotels in more developed places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Uma by COMO, Paro, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Audley17,

Hello from your friends at Uma by COMO in Paro, Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your visit to Uma with the TripAdvisor Community. We see that you wrote this review even though you were staying at another hotel and just were visiting us for a day to enjoy our hotel and all it offers. It sounds like you tried to take full advantage of our services and that you were very pleased with our small luxury property, from the great treatments in our COMO Shambala Spa to the fine contemporary international cuisine served in our renowned Bukhari Restaurant. We are glad to know you had such an enjoyable experience. We welcome all who are in Bhutan to come and enjoy our restaurant and spa even if not staying with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed our day long visit to our little piece of paradise here in wondrous Bhutan.

We do hope you will be able to come back to this magical Land of the Thunder Dragon again soon and that you will be able to stay with us for a bit longer so you can fully enjoy our special brand of Bhutanese hospitality in all its aspects.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uma by COMO, Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma by COMO, Paro

Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uma by COMO, Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 38-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan’s main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Splendia so you can book your Uma by COMO, Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma by COMO, Paro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.