We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ngoba Village | Lango Geog, Paro 00975, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It is very very secluded because it is built onto a hillside far away from the main road leading into Paro. However, the view makes up and explains the location because one can see Tiger's Nest from it. The service was impeccable as well. The staff made the effort to cook breakfast for us at 4am in the morning because we had to go to the airport really early. The rooms were really huge and warm. The stone floor in the bathroom is heated underneath it so it is very comfortable to walk around after a shower or a bath even during winter. Rooms were really huge as well and they all offered a great view. Privacy was a bit of a problem for those on the ground floor but not at all an issue for those on the second level. Rooms also had a balcony where one can go stargazing at night.

Room Tip: Get a room in building 4. It is the farthest building away from the main building but there are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greeting from Forest!

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experienced at Naksel Boutique Hotel and Spa. It really means to us that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated the service of our team. Our team really work hard to make each and every guests satisfy with our service and make ourselves available anytime when the guest are in need. We are very happy that you felt comfortable with our room. I sincerely apologize if you were not comfortable with your privacy but we highly respect the guest privacy.

Please anything you might need from us at anytime, do let us know.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    54
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
59
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overview
: Because Bhutan is a unique travel experience, I can only rate this hotel against others in Bhutan. We asked our tour company for specific hotels and they were very obliging.

Positives: 
 This was the nicest hotel we had in Bhutan It is up a side road above the Paro valley. The main building is very comfortable, stylish, and welcoming. There are great views across the valley to Jumolhari, 7300m and the Tiger’s nest. Guest rooms are in separate bungalows and are extremely comfortable and well furnished ( in-floor heating too ). The staff, were warm, caring, and welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate our requests


Negatives: 
 This may not even be a negative, but the road up to the hotel is a bit rough. If you want to go into town, you will need to get a ride. It is great for just wandering through the farmland though. If it wasn’t for the road, then the hotel would not have the great views

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greeting from Forest!

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review on Naksel Boutique Hotel and Spa. We were very happy to host your stay with us and looking forward again in future for second chance.

We are happy to learned that you were comfortable with our beautiful property. I totally agree with you about the view, we sometime feel this is only the property which have excellent view of Mount Jhomolhari and the Tiger Nest. We are happy to know that you have felt the warmth of our staffs and enjoyed their service. I will pass your compliment to all the staffs and i am sure this will encourage them to do more. We apologize for the rough road after the main highway but we are looking for the improvement. Once again thank you very much and looking forward to see you in future.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very friendly people. Good food. Guests are lodging in several separate houses. Good staying.
Road to the Hotel very bad. We stayed two nights there and were very happy. We did not use the Spa and Fitness Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greeting from Forest!

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our Bhutanese Hospitality. We do understand about the dirt road and we sincerely apologize if it caused any discomfort to your stay.
Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to see you again in future.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Such a special experience in this magical country. Owned by Rainbow Tours (through whom we arranged our visit), this stunning property in Paro (where the main airport is located) has it all – location, location, location above the Paro Valley. Stylish Bhutanese with contemporary amenities, there are wonderful views to Mt Jumolhari, 7300m, which forms a natural border between Paro District and Tibet.

The Hotel boasts a Menchu Himalayan Herbal Spa (you must try this!) as well as an excellent breakfast and dinner buffet.

Lovely staff, a warm caring welcome and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

Thank you to Jamyang Khentse, General Manager, who was politely solicitous in his guest attention. Don’t stay anywhere else – we wouldn’t!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greeting from Forest!

Thank you for your review on our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you here with us and happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our continues effort is to make sure that our guest feel at home and enjoy every bit of their time with us. We are also happy to know that you have enjoy our rooms and were happy with our service. We look forward to seeing you again. Once again thank you very much.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Rooms in Nak Sel are spacious, well furnished and warm. Beds are amazingly comfortable and the view is stunning. Staff are friendly and efficient and the common areas are pleasant. Food is fine, not amazing but perfectly ok. We loved our stay there at the beginning of the trip and looked forward to being back at the end. A great place to stay in a wonderful country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been so nice to have you here in Bhutan and that you have enjoyed your stay with Naksel Boutique Hotel and Spa in the beginning and hope you have the same experienced during your last stay.

We will share your very nice comments with all the team, I'm sure they will be happy to read and will encourage them to keep smiling and make our guests feel at home!

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Nak-Sel for 2 night early November and 2 nights after the completion of a 10 day road trip. We found the Breakfast buffet well prepared with a good variety of fruits and hot plates. The dinner buffet was extensive with the spice baked fish being the charm of those feasting our last night.

The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The cleanliness of this retreat did surprise our expectations, given our experiences with a 2 week tour in India prior to travelling on to Bhutan.

Nek-Sel we were told by the staff means forest in Bhutanese. This retreat has trees lining the east and south edge of the property with all rooms facing the distant "Tigers Nest" and the diamond shaped snow capped "Jumal Hari" third highest peak bin Bhutan.

They offer a number of spa services from the traditional Bhurtanese hot stone bath to deep massage therapy.

Wi-Fi is complimentary along with all those cordial acknowledgment of the staff and their terrific smiles of the Bhutanese people!

We had an early morning flight which required a 06:30 check out, The kitchen prepared french press coffee and eggs and toast to order at 05:50.; Such service would be doubtful in many of the 5 star retreats we have stayed. We feel the Nak-Sel offered a relaxing & invigorating environment for our body and souls at a respectable price. It is not often we find a Hotel Spa retreat exceed our expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms I believe were designed to see "Jumal Hari". We observed the sunrise where the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm hello from your home in the Himalayas. We are so happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and your trip to this magical kingdom and happy that Naksel has been the perfect gateway to connect you the culture, the people and the spirit of Bhutan.
We are very grateful and honor with your comments and with your visit, I will share your compliments with all our staff, nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests enjoying their stay and the beautiful experiences this country has to offer.
We will be happy to have the chance to welcome you back, sometime soon, please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Nak-Sel is definitely one of the nicest properties in Bhutan (although I must admit, I did not stay in the "most expensive chain" ;-) ). As other writers have mentioned, this hotel offers splendid views of white-capped mountains, the Taktsang Monastery - Tiger's Nest (use binoculars, though), a beautiful valley, etc. The road to get there (it is located outside of Paro on the side of a mountain) is an experience in itself. But once there, you do not wish to leave. The spa is way overpriced for such services in Asia (although it is agreed that Bhutan is not the least expensive of places!). This hotel property, designed in traditional wood and stone is a great place to spend a few days. The rooms are very large and extremely confortable. The service is friendly and always with a smile. Endulge and enjoy.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a "cottage" with windows facing Tiger's Nest (I believe most have).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naksel1, General Manager at Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to look after each and every guest comfort and make sure that every guest enjoy the Bhutanese hospitality. We are also happy to know that you have felt our hotel as "Home away from Home". Our Staff will be very happy knowing that you have enjoyed their service very much and this encourage them to do more hard work. Regarding the Spa price, i have discuss with my Spa Manager during our regular meeting and we are coming up with the reasonable price. Once again thank you very much.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Ngoba Village | Lango Geog, Paro 00975, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located thirty minutes from Paro International Airport, Nak-Sel Boutique Hotel & Spa is a luxury retreat where the comforts of man and the presence of nature combine for a peaceful escape in the hills of Bhutan. Nestled on the edge of the national forest and the quiet Ngoba Village, Nak-Sel derives its name from the Dzongka translation of ‘Forest,’ which is only fitting for this Himalayan sanctuary. The main lodge and surrounding cottages of Nak-Sel rest on six acres of apple orchard, nearly 2700 meters above sea level. Each room, cottage and suite boasts unparalleled views of Mount Jumolhari, Taktsang Monastery, Sangachoekhor Monastery, and the Paro valley below. Elaborate hand-carved pillars and beautiful stonework exemplify the essence of Bhutan while tapered mud-brick walls provide insulation and restful silence. Leading Bhutan in energy efficiency, Nak-Sel features LED lighting, highly efficient water heaters, and Swedish under floor heating systems preheated by solar panels. Main construction materials for Nak-Sel are indigenous and locally purchased. Traditional windows, mud-bricks, framework and even furniture were locally crafted here in Ngoba Village, connecting Nak-Sel to the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nak-Sel Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nak-Sel Boutique Hotel Paro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naksel Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.