We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campbell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campbell Inn to your Saves list
Campbell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   675 E Campbell Ave, Campbell, CA 95008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Hawthorne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed one night and can only speak to the room since we didn't experience the breakfast or other facilities.

The room was adequate and seemed dated both in style, furnishings and overall quality including linens, bathroom, toiletries, etc.

My next visit to the area will involve more research on my part to see if there is a nice place though this hotel was just fine and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    20
    14
    23
See reviews for
24
26
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a budget location to stay in Silicon Valley. I liked the rooms, I found them comfortable and I liked the furniture, but many would say it was quite dated. They do offer an excellent hot breakfast, which was the highlight of the trip. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in bad need of updating, but is well kept and clean. I liked the location and all the local dining options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel has to compete with two more upscale properties across the street and next door. So, it promotes itself for having amenities it doesn't really have and service it can't really deliver. Their pricepoint attempts to keep up with their neighbors but in doing so, all it really does bring attention to how badly its run.

My room was worn down with stained carpet, a broken TV, and discolored furniture. The housekeeping staff failed to clean my room completely on several days, even after I brought it to the attention of the management more than once. The wifi does not work in every room. If you are staying for a few days and need access to laundry services, they have none- self-service or send out.

They promote their business center on their website. It does not actually do anything business related. The computers are so restricted that all you can do is surf the Internet. They do not police guests who sit there for hours. The computer locks them out and they just sign right back in.

Their award winning breakfast (their words) makes me wonder who gave out the award. The breakfast is downright lazy. It's all carbs with cheap bread and sugar cereals. The fresh fruit is fruit cocktail that's been dumped out of a can and is covered in high fructose corn syrup. The proteins, of which their are few, are cheap cuts of pork and powered, reconstituted eggs that taste like cardboard. Their coffee was haircurlingly bad.

The staff is a mix of some nice and professional but mostly rude and surly employees. One man in particular likes to respond to requests for information and assistance with sarcasm and his co-worker seems generally baffled about her job, as if every day is her first day. You have to push for resolutions to general problems. They cannot put together resolutions on their own.

Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Actually I did not stay at this hotel, but booked a room through Hotels.and then due to a change in plans called the hotel to cancel it. Then I realized 2 months later that I hadn't been refunded, I called the hotel and spoke with Matt. He was very helpful and professional and put my mind at ease. He helped me work through dealing with Hotels.com to get my refund.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Sitting at airport waiting for my flight home. Have plenty of time to do nothing so I thought I'd write a review.

Spent 4 nights at Campbell Inn.

The location was excellent. Very close to where I needed to be for business this week. Close to Pruneyard area. Lots of shopping and many places to eat very close to hotel.

I found the staff for the most part to be very helpful. Had a couple issues with room that were handled promptly and courteously.

As for the room itself, it's a room. What I mean is: it has a bed, television and a bathroom. Sometimes when traveling that's all I require.

The furnishings are dated as some other reviewers have mentioned. Since I was working all day and just returning to room to sleep, this wasn't an issue.

That said, the rooms are functional. If you prefer something more modern or upscale, you should look elsewhere.

Wifi was very spotty. Had a hard time getting a good signal.

Did not have an opportunity to sample the breakfast. Heard good things about it.

Not being familiar with San Jose, I booked this place on recommendation from a friend who lives in area. I felt the price paid was a little high for what I got as far as room quality.

Pool area looked nice for an older hotel. I'm not a big pool guy so this didn't matter to me.

All in all, no complaints. Would probably stay again if I couldn't get a better deal at another area hotel.

Would love to give the place more stars but frankly, nothing really stood out. It's average in about every way imaginable.

It's a room. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We mostly prefer the Pruneyard Inn (just a block away) when we come to San Jose, but on our most recent trip they only had very expensive rooms available. This was a good, cheap option. Room was clean and quiet. No special amenities. The breakfast buffet was extensive but there's more perks at Pruneyard. But if you are looking for a decent place to lay down your head and don't want to pay too much, it's a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were looking for an airport hotel in San Jose for a one-nighter, but all the classic airport hotels were expensive and had terrible TripAdvisor reviews. On a lark, I reserved at the Campbell Inn. I called the hotel on landing and they sent a proper van to pick us up at the airport, free of charge. The wait was shorter than for most airport hotel shuttle buses. The room was comfortable and everything worked. The staff is wonderful; you feel like it's a family owned and run hotel. And yes, the free breakfast is quite filling. Although the hotel is near a freeway, I found the room to be quiet. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campbell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell Inn

Address: 675 E Campbell Ave, Campbell, CA 95008
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campbell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campbell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell Hotel Campbell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campbell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.