We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award winning hotel & staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E. Campbell Avenue, Campbell, CA 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Silicon Valley
1 review
“Award winning hotel & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed at the TownePlace Suites in Campbell while I had work done to my house. I had such a great time there. The staff was soooo friendly and made me feel right at home. They make the best chocolate chip cookies in the whole entire world! I was chatting with the lady at the desk at night and I noticed a whole row of awards on the counter. The General Manager has won two awards for General Manager of the year for Marriott and the hotel itself is one of the top ranked hotels for customer service. They also have a front desk person that is employee of the year out of all the hotels in the country. Wow! I wasn't surprised by this based on the experiences I had while I was here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
7
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
huntington beach
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Horrible Customer Service! They're rude. When trying to call into Guest Services to discuss situation, they're even worse! Don't recommend anyone staying here. If I could give them negative points, I would. Bad name for Marriott Brand Hotels because usually they're great places to stay. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahCamarda, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Hello,

I would love to learn more about this situation for training purposes. Can you please tell me the situation?

Thank you,

Sarah Camarda
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Last night of a week long trip, visiting a friend who I didn't want to impose upon. I simply wanted a basic need "lower brand" Marriott at a price I could afford.
This place fit the bill perfectly. Weekend rate, nice modern facility, located walking close to Pruneyard Shopping center. Could have walked to light rail, restaurants if I had wanted. (I had a car)
One of the few places I could see staying at for a week or 10 days. It is also right next to a major path area for jogging etc that extends all the way to Los Gatos.
Staff was very friendly, and one free internet station with printer and free parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Campbell visiting family prior to heading off to Disneyland. What a great Hotel. Very clean, nice size room with large two way closet to bathroom, kitchenette, microwave, small stove, fairly large fridge. We have stayed in many hotels on the way to Cruising and never quite as nice as this one. Very close to great sopping, eating and movies. Staff were very pleasant and attentive.

Breakfast was nice and just enough, Starbuck's coffee 24hrs, free internet in the lobby and a jacuzzi. A little hard to drive in and out of off Campbell Street, but not a big deal (if you time it right you can turn left over a bit of a curve)

We would definately stay here again in the future when on a visit. This is a great central area to Santa Cruz, San Fran, and the Montery Coast, all with in 2 hour drive (we had a rental)

Not luxury but worth the stay.

  • Liked — It was clean and non somking (and smelled good)
  • Disliked — Entry to the property via campbell
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

after a one night stay I checked my Amex online to find out they over charged me $250. When I questioned them they claimed it was for smoking in the room. I told them I didn't smoke so I have no idea what they are talking about. The manager then claimed they have hidden cameras in the room. I travel all over the country and this is the most outrageous scam I've ever heard of. Not only do they scam you they spy on you. Steer clear of this tourist trap. Marriott should be ashamed!!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahCamarda, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Tripadvisor community, as you know, we do not have hidden cameras in the rooms. This guest smoked in the room and I took pictures of the smoking proof after he checked out of the room. He contested this charge and lost. He was upset about the charge and posted this entry.

Marriott hotels domestically have a no smoking policy. We have signage throughout the hotel about the no smoking policy and the fee. Marriott hotels do charge for smoking damage if there is proof in the room that a guest smoked. These are the pictures that I sent him: smoked cigarette in the unflushed toilet, smoked ashes in the garbage can and ashes on the bedside table.

Again, we do not have cameras in the rooms.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

I stayed here for five nights. The room seemed brand new and the bathroom was huge. The back of the hotel faces a stream with a beautiful walking path along it, the front faces the highway, but there was double-paned windows so I couldn't hear it. It's a short walk to many restaurants and a big shopping mall with coffee places, breakfast cafes, movie theater, etc. There's a Trader Joe's store in the mall, so you can get great things to heat up in the room's full kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Great value, convenient, and clean. If you are looking for a simple place to stay in the San Jose area, look no further. Bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom are spotlessly clean. The kitchen and bathroom were recently renovated. I especially liked the new wooden floors and the marble counters. A big plus is the free parking and free internet access. Complimentry Starbucks coffee & breakfast was a great start each day (cereals, yogurt, oatmeal, etc.); Starbucks coffee & tea is also available free throughout the day; and also freshly baked cookies in the evening. Staff is pleasant. They also have coin laundry onsite which is convenient for extended stay visitors. I also noticed a small spa and fitness center onsite.

Location
Campbell is a suburb right next to San Jose. The hotel is also next to Pruneyard shopping center (Trader Joes is there). Also two blocks away from downtown Campbell - small boutiques and restaurants. On Sundays they have a farmers market. Easy access to all the major freeways.

Perks for dog owners
The main reason I opted for this establishment is because I needed to bring my dog. The hotel is right next to Campbell Park which has a hiking trail and green grass for my pooch to romp around. Given I had my dog, this was a great decision vs. staying in a high rise. The staff and hotel is pet friendly. They even have a dog-level water fountain right outside.

Would I of considered staying here if it wasn't for my dog & the desire to be next to a park? Probably not. However, after having an enjoyable stay here, I would definitely come back and recommend it to others. This is a perfect establishment if you are looking for convenience at great value. From a value perspective - this establishment is getting 5 stars!

Tip: Request park view when making your booking. Otherwise, you're stuck facing the parking lot.

  • Liked — Huge value for the price paid, complimentry breakfast & internet, pet friendly
  • Disliked — I have no compliants (which is rare for me)
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell

Address: 700 E. Campbell Avenue, Campbell, CA 38103
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limited service, extended stay hotel located in the heart of Campbell, California (island city surrounded by San Jose). Next to the Campbell Park, Los Gatos Creek Trail, Downtown Campbell and the Pruneyard Shopping Center. Ideal for pets ($75 fee) and long term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Jose Campbell Hotel Campbell
Towneplace Suites Campbell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.