We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Italian Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Mia's Italian Restaurant

Mama Mia's Italian Restaurant
200 E Hamilton Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-0207
408-379-3333
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 160 Restaurants in Campbell
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Average Italian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were visiting from out of town and stopped in at Mama Mia's Italian Restaurant. Nice enough atmosphere but it's really about the food which was average as was the service. Inattentive server. Our food was a little bland and needed more spices. May be a better place for pizza which did look good. Easy parking in a back lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service rude and terrible, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Five couples had dinner here on Saturday night with a reservation. The waiter who took our orders was rather surly and abrupt. We were seated at a long table in about the center of the restaurant. When serving the food as well as clearing the plates, they served all the people on the far side of the table by just handing the plates across pretty much over the heads and shoulders of the guests on the closer side. I was on the far side and it felt like the food was being thrown at us. When they came to clear, they asked us to HAND them the plates across the table!!! They absolutely could have come around. The attitude seemed to be that since the tip was included due to the size of our party, they could provide any kind of slip shod service they wanted. The food was ok, not great. I think none of us will return and we all live in the area and eat out often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best sausage pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I frequent this restaurant because their pizza is consistantly one of the best in the Bay Area.
The sausage that they use reminds me of the best of New York. The pizza is always LOADED with fantastic cheese. They added a beautiful bar area and the drinks are killers. The not to be missed items are the eggplant parisian and the cioppino. They have special times when you can order a bottle of house wine for only $1.00. Good food in a inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Doesn't look much from the outside but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here more by accident than design. The staff are friendly and the food is good. The portion sizes are large and the atmosphere is good

Would definitely come back

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked a large party for a rehearsal dinner and were quite satisfied. The staff made us feel quite at home and handled our last minute requests without issue. We felt like we were at a neighborhood party. The entrees were excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Mia's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mama Mia's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Mia's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.