We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3341 South Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-7005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I'm in love with this hotel! Booked it sight-unseen based on so many positive recommendations. It's a small hotel, just two stories in a nondescript area. The hotel lobby is small and funky, with odd old reproductions of art and statues. We're thinking "whaaat?" Room 228 is HUGE. It could easily hold two king beds. The bathroom is all marble and again, huge. Also a nice closet with safe and a small refrigerator. Good sized desk, two phones and a comfortable sofa and chair. You would expect to pay lots more for a room like this. Again, the weird Renaissance artwork. My husband thought it was tacky, I thought it was charming. Excellent breakfast in the morning including eggs and bacon. My only complaint is the towels and sheets need upgrading.

Room Tip: We were in room 228, but the front desk said they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
19
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Pros...
Great front-desk service with smile
Clean, large rooms
Gym has treadmill, bike, elliptical
WiFi is good

Cons...
Breakfast is limited, no fruits...closes at 9 AM (instead of 10 AM)
Gym has no towels, no TV, no water-fountain
Room has no coffeemaker, just instant coffee
Traffic noise from Bascom Ave can be an issue

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive small hotel, but one that was not in a risky neighborhood or one with rooms that are falling apart. The Bristol Hotel was a nice find for me. The value of what I got for the price was outstanding.

Pros
1. Located in a reasonably nice part of town. I felt safe in this area.
2. Parking was a breeze, and my car was always close to the entrance.
3. Staff was super nice.
4. The decor is nice. Maybe a touch on the cheesy side, but still nice.
5. I stayed in an "executive king" room and it was HUGE! I like some space, and this room had it.
6. The included breakfast was good, with both hot and cold food options.
7. The price was right for my budget.

Cons
1. My one big complaint was that I found my bed mattress to be very uncomfortable. No matter what part of the bed I moved to I woke feeling I was sunken into a hole. I don't know if the mattress was old or just way too soft for me, but this factor did reduce my sleep.

2. Though my room was huge in square footage, it didn't have furnishings to match. The desk was way over in one corner and the bed and TV were on the other end. Between them was basically a ton of empty space. I guess this is not really a "con" but more an observation.

3. The TV was an old CRT tube unit, and it did not offer the "sleep" function that I love to use in a hotel to help me fall asleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff was helpful and polite, rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast was good. Everything was delicious and hot. We even had some family that lived in the area come over and share it with us and no one said anything. The hotel was beautiful and I loved the high cealings, light fixtures, statuary and marble bathrooms. The parking lot was secluded and safe, unlike some of the other hotels in the area where I read they had regular break ins. We did not visit the work out room so I can't comment on that. The pillows on the couch were a bit stained, but all in all we had a nice stay while we were in town for the daughters wedding.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that faced the street and it was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

As many have already said - the first impression is rather grand with the ornate decorations, large spaces, marble, statues, etc. I liked the dining room set up - very homey but we must have always arrived when the hot menu items were almost gone. My husband always hopes for a good workout room - poor. As others have said - some deep cleaning, attention to detail is needed by the housekeeping department. It would be nice to have a receptionist look up and greet you with a smile when you walk in. There were some stains in the carpet that detracted and the bed was very spongey. Not sure if I liked a fancy upholstery looking bedspread for hygienic reasons - I always turn those down because I can't trust if they would clean something as large as that after every stay. Overall, a very good value, close to the freeway, quiet and convenient.

Room Tip: Not applicable to the kids activities and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I thought I'd stepped into a time warp when I entered the lobby of this hotel -- chandeliers and copies of Roman statuary made me think I'd been transported back to the 50's. The clean, spacious room had a mini refrigerator, and the huge bathroom was tiled in real marble. Clearly, at the time this hotel was built these were signs of luxury. But the price was right, and the location was as well as I had business in Santa Cruz, Los Gatos and San Jose. For the price of what it would cost to stay in a Motel 6, I had this lovely room that reminded me of a simpler time long ago. Breakfast was good -- a full breakfast, not just the continental type you are given at one of the big chain hotels. One peeve -- they need to provide bigger bath towels. Mine was a little larger than a face cloth. For the location and price, this hotel is a great deal. If the over-the-top decor and smallish bath towels gets to you, better stay at a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor, and away from the carriage entrance -- you'll not be bothered by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Greeted rudly by the desk clerk!
The bedspread was dirt, faded, frayed, worn
Glasses were hot clean and sealed and an anomile in a glass. Should of distroyed by manufacturen never used by the motel
2 inches of water standing in the bathtub
Bed was 2 mattresses, no base box sprig, Top mattress was 4 inches bigger around than the bottom mattress. Very uncomfortable. No pillow case on one pillow and linen was very old and worn.
Extra mirror missing
Hair dryer missing
No light over the fridge
The chain lock on door had been broken off, and the attempt was made to reattach it to the door jam with quarter inch screw, could unscrew it with my fingers.
Mold along the base board in bathroom
Breakfast had the cheapest of cheap napkins
On top of the the television cabinet was found a hyprdermic needle
Television was ancient

Will never stay in this place again or refer any to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel

Address: 3341 South Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-7005
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Campbell
Clarion Collection Campbell
Campbell Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.