We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitschy, funky hotel, but great price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3341 South Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-7005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Kitschy, funky hotel, but great price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I thought I'd stepped into a time warp when I entered the lobby of this hotel -- chandeliers and copies of Roman statuary made me think I'd been transported back to the 50's. The clean, spacious room had a mini refrigerator, and the huge bathroom was tiled in real marble. Clearly, at the time this hotel was built these were signs of luxury. But the price was right, and the location was as well as I had business in Santa Cruz, Los Gatos and San Jose. For the price of what it would cost to stay in a Motel 6, I had this lovely room that reminded me of a simpler time long ago. Breakfast was good -- a full breakfast, not just the continental type you are given at one of the big chain hotels. One peeve -- they need to provide bigger bath towels. Mine was a little larger than a face cloth. For the location and price, this hotel is a great deal. If the over-the-top decor and smallish bath towels gets to you, better stay at a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor, and away from the carriage entrance -- you'll not be bothered by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
18
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fillmore, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Greeted rudly by the desk clerk!
The bedspread was dirt, faded, frayed, worn
Glasses were hot clean and sealed and an anomile in a glass. Should of distroyed by manufacturen never used by the motel
2 inches of water standing in the bathtub
Bed was 2 mattresses, no base box sprig, Top mattress was 4 inches bigger around than the bottom mattress. Very uncomfortable. No pillow case on one pillow and linen was very old and worn.
Extra mirror missing
Hair dryer missing
No light over the fridge
The chain lock on door had been broken off, and the attempt was made to reattach it to the door jam with quarter inch screw, could unscrew it with my fingers.
Mold along the base board in bathroom
Breakfast had the cheapest of cheap napkins
On top of the the television cabinet was found a hyprdermic needle
Television was ancient

Will never stay in this place again or refer any to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This relic of a bygone era gives a false impression upon entering. The lobby, hallways, and beautiful moldings all capture one's attention and fascination. Once settled in, however, the flaws become apparent: A thick tapestry of bedspread covers a mediocre mattress and linens, and is falling apart. The pillows are compacted fiberfill, the chairs' upholsteries are aged, stained or faded - and yet the ceilings are high, the room spacious - so we decided to stay five nights during our visit to the bay area. But during this time, we became more intimate with the lack of attention to customer service and basic amenities. The shower was not draining during the first shower, and was never fixed despite our letting the concierge know. The toilet paper holder came undone immediately and was also not fixed. The light over the bar flickered for a day and then went out. The top drawer in the armoire had no stop. And the final straw: the ice machine was broken. We were told that we would be refunded if we went out and got ice. This is simply not good customer service - rather quality control gone awry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One night stay convenient on the drive between Los Angeles and San Francisco - we needed to drop rental car at Oakland Airport prior to stay in SF>
Nicely presented hotel with spacious room and good self service breakfast. Free coffee on tap in the same room 24 hrs.
Front desk staff helpful, and if we were in the area would definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The finishes and fixtures in the lobby had me impressed initially but overall was a bit disappointing. For example the marble in the bathroom was beautifully done but no one has cleaned the hard water drains on it and the faucets in a long time. The bed was large an comfortable for me, but the pillows were like wadded up socks in a bag. Clean socks, but still lumpy. It was like the hotel was built for a higher price point but corners are being cut to keep the price down. Still an OK deal if all you want is respectable shelter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wow! was all I could say upon walking into to this location. The chandeliers, the flocked wallpaper and the various elaborate portraits and statues were amazing. Overall it had a really "Disney Haunted Manison" vibe.The front desk staff was great upon check in and even when we had to change rooms because our toilet was broken. The rooms are each equiped with a doorbell and the hallways make it feel very dorm like. The rooms are HUGE and very spacious. The beds are way too soft. Once you lay down don't plan on rolling over or even moving from the spot all night because of the squishy bed. Breakfast the next morning was the usual eggs, bacon, potatoes and a nice touch was the Starbucks coffee. Very interesting experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms require a ride on a very small elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I believe this hotel use to be part of the Best Western chain bc the signage on the front door hasn't been completely removed. The outside appearance is very deceptive because upon entering you will feel as if you've stepped back in time or have entered an art museum. Like a gallery with antique furnishings, the decor is a trip. Grandfather clocks, oil paintings on the wall, chandeliers, Roman columns, you name it! The room we had on the first floor was huge and the bathroom even bigger. Two large Queen beds with an armoire, bar & workstation. The all marble bathroom has a pedestal sink with vanity area and nice size tub. Free Internet and a full buffet breakfast (not continental - fried eggs, pancakes, the works) was included in the room rate. They also serve fresh brewed Starbucks throughout the day! The lady at the check in counter was friendly and nice. No problem finding parking in the lot even when we got back late one evening. It's very close to Los Gatos where we were visiting friends and spent a day at Great America which was a short drive but hopping on a couple of different freeways (unless my GPS went haywire & gave me the long route). I always find driving in SJ is more complicating than LA! I would definitely choose to return again if I need to stay in the area because the price was more than reasonable for the location, space & service. Please note that this is an economy/comfort hotel so if you're expecting upscale accommodation, also expect to pay the 5* price tag. I found this place well worth the value & for the price I paid I think it exceeded my expectation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel

Address: 3341 South Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-7005
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Campbell
Clarion Collection Campbell
Campbell Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.